We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Groom Inn

Save Saved
You added Horse and Groom Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horse and Groom Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Road, Milcombe OX15 4RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Milcombe B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

can't understand the last review. I find all the staff really polite and positive. The food is excellent, the owners flexible and really helpful. It is a real pub with 'locals' and a charming atmosphere - always a point of call when in the area. Last week they had a real moaner in, complained about everything but hadn't bothered to say in advance what her foibles were - things like no dressing on salad - just assumed everyone would know, so had a constant moan,. She was treated politely from beginning to end of the meal by the whole staff, who showed more tolerance than I would have done! Don't hesitate , go there.

Room Tip: a good stopover near Banbury and much better that the 'chains'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
23
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit ...first visit was for my mothers 60th birthday meal the food was lovely but service was disgusting the lady that works there was very rude!!!!
We went again for the 2nd time for a friends birthday meal,thinking that the way she was,was a one off...well how wrong we were, again food was lovely but the service was even worse,tutting and slamming about... She ruined the whole evening and we definitely will not return or recommend to anyone else...
What could have been the perfect place has been ruined by a very rude and bitter lady who needs to get rid of that big chip on her shoulder....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a super Sunday lunch here some time ago and have just had the pleasure of going again, this time for a two night stay.
We were arriving early so they offered to prepare our room early for us. Our room was nice and clean and comfortable with a nice en suite with a nice view over the village green.
We enjoyed a great Sunday lunch again with friends which maintained the standard we had on our last visit. The full English breakfast served was lovely and filling and set us up for the day.
The second evening was spent in the bar tasting the selection of draught beer and chatting with the very friendly locals.
Good value for money, pleasant atmosphere, friendly and efficient staff, and still a proper English pub that hasn't been ruined with trendy modernisation.
We will certainly use it again and recommend anyone else to do the same. Good base for touring the Cotswolds and Oxford.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lived up to its rating.

Good menu, excellently cooked and presented.

Good value for money.
On a personal note - would like to have seen a greater range of beers.

Owners very pleasant and accomodating.
Couldn`t fault; will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This pub has a good reputation and since we had been meaning to give it a whirl for ages a discount voucher of £5 per head in the local paper clinched it. The friends we went with had been before and were full of praise. On arrival the bar area was busy with drinkers and diners whilst the dining room was a tad quiet and characterless with only a couple of tables occupied. Note to self: book table in bar next time! The host, his wife and their staff were all charming and efficient. The tempura prawns as a starter were absolutely superb. A first time experience for me - my partner unable to finish his burger and all the scrummy bits n pieces it was served with! My sole was a tad on the bland side taste wise but the fish was perfectly cooked. As the menu changes frequently I look forward to our next visit and sampling other dishes from this obviously talented chef's repertoire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay after attending a wedding nearby. Fortunately for us we found this little gem. With only 4 guest rooms it has an intimate atmosphere with a full restaurant to the rear of the front bar. We were welcomed by Jim and his wife in a personal and helpful manner more associated with being their fiends. The room was basic but clean and a comfortable bed made for a great night sleep, with large ensuite bathroom with big fresh towels. We had a quick meal in the front bar and chose the sirloin steak. If you like your steaks, you should try this. Superb local meat and cooked to perfection. Although off the beaten track, this lovely Inn is well worth a small detour to find

Room Tip: Eat in the bat or restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Don't expect the shower to be the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was at a wedding at Rye Hill Golf club up the road. This was the closest B&B (only half a mile walk door to door). Price was good. Room was very nice. Possibly the best breakfast I've ever had! Amazing! The owner was very welcoming. I'd loved to have been able to have a couple of pints in the bar and a meal but it was purely B&B for me this time.

I will definitely stay here again if I'm ever in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horse and Groom Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom Inn

Address: Main Road, Milcombe OX15 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse & Groom Inn is a 17th century coaching house on the edge of the village of Milcombe near Banbury.The pub underwent a major refurbishment in August 2011 and is now under the management of Jim & Taryn Tyler along with Taryn’s parents’ David & Annette.We have a 4* AA Guest Accommodation Rating along with a Dinner Award and we are Gold-Rated on the Eat Well in Cherwell Award Scheme.The traditional bar has seating for around 25 people – there’s a stone-floor and a wood-burning stove (to keep you nice & toasty on cold winter evenings).At the end of the bar is the Snug with a comfy leather sofa, Bar Billiards Table and a darts throw.We have a contemporary dining room with seating for up to 50 people. This can also be used for private dining, parties & business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Horse and Groom Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Groom Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.