We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel all round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Battlesteads Hotel to your Saves list
Battlesteads Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very good hotel all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked the trip via a KGB deal, and this has to be the best deal we've had so far!

Check in was simple and straight forward, and the chap that booked us in was very friendly, and showed us all we needed to know.

We were in room 15 which was the best room in the hotel, and it was lovely! There was a settee, large bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. The towels were soft and the room was spotless throughout. The bed was comfy, and although the room overlooked the car park, there was no noise or disturbance worth noting.

Shortly after unpacking we went down to the bar for some pre-dinner drinks. The bar is well stocked with 3 local ales, plus the usual lagers and wines etc. If there is one criticism of the hotel, it's that the bar is slightly small, however it has the ambience of a country pub.

The food served at Battlesteads is delicious! Ample portions and a wide ranging menus big enough to suit everyone! Service was spot on, and all the staff very friendly and helpful.

Similarly, the breakfast was of an excellent quality, and set us up for the day ahead.

I suspect we will be back at the Battlesteads very soon!

Room Tip: Room 15 is the best in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    126
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
385
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend on a kgb deal, 2 nights bed & breakfast and the fantastic taster menu on our first night. We are so glad that we found this as we will definately be back. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds really comfortable. Organic toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. Fresh fruit and homemade biscuits in your room on arrival. The restaurant really deserves its reputation, the taster menu is amazing and the selection on the main menu excellent with local produce being the main theme. Good wines and excellent beers available in the restaurant & bar. What a perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon, relaxing by the log fire in a leather sofa with a nice glass of wine. Also must mention the fantastic breakfasts- out of this world and enough to keep you going all day.

The hotel also prides itself on its Green credentials, well done.

Finally all of this would be worthless without the wonderful staff, from check in, in the restaurant and through to check out, they are friendly, attentive without being overly fussy, they are the crowing glory to this establishment.

We will definitely be back

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked on the spur of the moment this trip was everything we could have wished for. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a fantastic room,well suite really and loved it. The staff were super and couldn't do enough to help and look after us. Everything was immaculately clean and beautifully presented and food reasonably priced, great breakfast!
Even the weather was kind and we loved our visit to the Roman Wall and forts.
Can't wait to return in summer to see the garden.

Room Tip: Loved our 'Chipchase Room'. This is the biggest but all rooms have similar furnishings and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife & I (and 2 dogs) took advantage of the last minute offer (3 nights DBB for £285). This was our third stay at this hotel and as previously found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, a lovely warm log burner in the bar and the food in the restaurant was excellent as always.
They even provide special towels for drying the dogs - very thoughtful.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are ideal for dogs - room 13 is a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

From booking to leaving was a complete dream.
I took advantage of a Valentines special package for my girlfriend and myself. To make it that extra bit special, I upgraded the room for the spa bath and extra space. Well worth it for extra luxury.
When you first park up, you hear what this place is about, the sounds of the countryside-no urban noise!
Reception staff very welcoming, first impressions last so the smile given makes you feel very welcome indeed.
We were shown our room and care taken to explain spa bath operation and room facilities.
Later on, we went downstairs and had a drink in the bar before our meal and bar area is everything you'd expect in a country retreat, roaring log fire. Then we went for our Valentines meal, all I can say is a huge wow. Such culinary delights and tastes from the chef, certainly fulfilled the expectations of what we had previously heard. I heard they also have a wonderful gardener who grows the veg onsite for the hotel too-wonderful touch :)
Warmest praise to the chef and also the waiting staff for being attentive and never overbearing.
Breakfast selection was truly amazing too, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, cereal as well as homemade jams(nice touch)

Attention to detail in this place is second to none(I even noticed several bowls of water dotted around outside for the visiting dogs too)
A truly relaxing stay in which we were made to feel individual but very welcomed.
Battlesteads in Wark is a truly amazing place and I can't wait to visit again soon.
Thank you
:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is not a standard travellers overnight stop. The rooms are very good, spotlessly clean and well cared for, odd shapes and dotted around. It is just like an Inn should be. Try the beer and book a meal then open the wine list. The food is better than most and I have paid a lot more for a lot less, the ingredients are the key, local, well-chosen and are cooked by someone who enjoys their work.
They have put a lot love and effort in to this place everything they do is a bit better than you might expect for an overnight stay and a lot more personal than any chain I have stayed in. Breakfast was excellent, it is taken in a bright conservatory looking out into a private garden and you can watch the birds on the feeder.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The great delight of this little hotel is its honesty. It is exactly what it claims to be and the complete opposite of pretentious, and dishonest, “fur coat and no knickers” establishments.

Our room was small, immaculate and comfortable. It was exactly what we expected and precisely what we paid for.

We would recommend eating in the attached restaurant. The food is top end gastro pub with local ingredients cooked with competence and served by staff with genuine smiles. We loved it.

Only the desserts are not in this range: they are fabulous! You could pay a serious amount of money for desserts of this quality anywhere in the world.

However, the most striking part of our stay was the kindness which permeated the whole hotel. We were stuck in traffic on the M6 and thought that we would late. Andrew could not have been kinder and assured us that if we were badly delayed there would be sandwiches and soup ready for us so that we did not go to bed hungry.

This is why we felt a lot more like guests than customers and why we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are quieter - but no-where is intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 17 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlesteads Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.