We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre

Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre
Save
You added Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Road, Whitwell LE15 8BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Whitwell B&B and Inns
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We got married at Whitwell in August 2009. We had our ceremony as well as our wedding breakfast and evening reception there. The setting was absolutely beautiful and our guests all commented on this. We felt Whitwell was the perfect setting for a wedding, near to Rutland Water. We had a wonderful wedding day. The staff at Whitwell, especially the wedding co-ordinator could not have been more helpful. She was always there to help with queries when planning the wedding. We felt very reassured and confident with our wedding being in their hands and we were not disappointed. The lawns provided a fantastic setting for photographs. Our wedding breakfast was delicious. Whitwell allowed us the flexibility to give our guests a choice of dishes. This proved to be very popular and some of our guests commented on how the waiters and waitresses knew who to take which dish to. It was obvious that they had studied carefully the plan we had provided. Whitwell also accommodated our wish of having cocktails as our toasts drinks which was a nice alternative to the more traditional toast drinks. Our evening reception was also great, we had a barbeque. This was handled very well and the choice of salads etc with the barbeque was excellent. Many of our guests stayed over. Whitwell was ideal for this as they have quite a lot of rooms which allowed us to all meet again the following morning for breakfast. Overall, we found Whitwell the ideal venue for our wedding and were very pleased that we chose it. The staff were incredibly helpful and always accommodated our ideas and wants for the wedding. Staff were friendly, efficient and unobtrusive on the day. Food was delicious (we had sampled all the dishes and met the chef prior to our wedding). Setting also a very safe, peaceful, countryside location. Perfect as we had little bridesmaids who enjoyed running around and playing with the Giant Jenga and Connect 4 games which were provided by Whitwell. We would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel failed in a key area for us. The room allocated in the Glebe House had a temperamental shower which was tepid early in the morning and boiling hot in the afternoon. We were a bit put off also to find a Quavers bag and some sweets in the drawer and a needle in the carpet. Because of the shower we were moved to the Seaton Room, where we worked out that the water is cold until 8 O’clock in the morning. As early breakfasters this made no sense to us, but the breakfast itself was excellent and the receptionist charmingly apologetic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitwell hotels

King's Lynn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Our family chose this hotel for one night to spend the weekend in Rutland. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the area and the hotel building and grounds were beautiful. We booked the family room which is pictured on the hotels website and the room was really lovely, we were very pleased with the cleanliness and the character of the room and pleased that the childrens room was slightly seperate from ours accessible through a doorway. We had emailed the hotel requesting a cot for our small daughter and they confirmed that there would be one. On arrival at the hotel at 11am I reminded the receptionist that we requried a cot and she said that when we got our room at 3pm a cot would be in the room, it wasn't so we telephoned Reception to ask for the cot. They told us that they hadn't been able to find their cot in the attic and had to borrow one from a neighbouring hotel! A lady turned up with a travel cot at about 6pm which we had to pad out with the mattress from the z bed supplied in the room as it wasn't appropriate for a nights sleep. On the hotel website it states that there is a games room with pool table so when we got to the hotel our 8 and 10 year olds were excited about going there to play for a while but were told by the receptionist that they had got rid of it. The gym was under our room which was fine as no-one visited it, we hardly saw a sole the whole time were there until breakfast, but it was stacked with tables so anyone wishing to use it seriously would have been disappointed. We were looking forward to breakfast in the morning but were slightly disappointed. The main building itself is lovely, the reception modern but as you walk through the building to the dining room it's clear that the lounge and tiny bar are in need of some attention, they are dreary and life-less and not somewhere you could relax or spend time in. No-one showed us to a at breakfast so we were just left standing around with another couple of guests not knowing what to do or whether we should wait to be seated. A foreign lady who didn't appear to be able to speak much English was busying about around us while we stood in the doorway so we sat at the nearest available table. Everything was self serve which is fine when it's a buffet fried breakfast but you also have to get your own juice, tea and coffee and cook your own toast on a toaster that burns one side and doesn't cook the other. The room is quite small so you have to almost rub the rest of the guests. On this particular weekend we had to be out of the room by 10am which was a bit of a rush. Location is great and our room lovely but the rest was a let down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We got married in July 2007 and had our reception at Whitwell Hotel. Among the usual cleanliness, "country" feel, and personal service we found all staff to be were excellent, the rooms (especially the honeymoon suite) were nicely decorated, confortable and spacious, the food (a delicious BBQ for our Wedding breakfast), drinks at the bar to our own specifications. I can't believe other people who have commented here didn't like it?

We used the entire hotel, and all rooms across the road at the Noel. My uncle in law was on kidney dialysis at the time and the staff there gave him a suitable room to set up all his equipment. Those rooms were perhaps a bit dated but may have improved by now, nearly two years on. We had a gorgeous meal at the Noel the night before and I strongly recommend Whitwell Hotel as a wedding venue and the Noel is great too.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuicestershire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

After reading a few of the other comments I had to write one myself. My husband and I decided to have our wedding reception for 150-200 guests there last August bank holiday. We booked all of their bedrooms aswell as the pub and cottage over the road for 4 nights.
I used to be a wedding planner myself and have worked in the leisure industry for a number of years so I was to say the least worried about the level of service.
I needed not to worry as from the very first show round until the day after the wedding my expections were met and at times furthered!
The staff are beyond helpful and we can not say enough about them. From sourcing things I wanted and couldnt find myself to even driving a number of guests home (20 mile round trip) due to lack of taxis and not wanting a penny in return.
We virtually took over the hotel and grounds for the long bank holiday (we had a very large marquee on the back lawns aswell as a bouncy castle for the children) and they didnt make us feel at any point that they didnt want us there.

As for a couple of comments about the "decor" - what do you expect in the middle of the country? The Ritz Carlton, The Savoy maybe? This hotel is as you would expect in a country village, warm, cosy and incredabally inviting.
Should you like to see pictures or hear a more indepth description email me on [---]

Please do not take to heart the small minded and at times petty comments in the previous reviews.

Mr & Mrs Evans

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We have stayed here many times while exploring Rutland and surrounding areas
We have seen it go downhill slowly but surely.
The rooms now need an update. Especially Glebe Farmhouse.
The carpet has an enormous coffee like stain in the middle of the carpet. We couldn't believe they had let that room to us.
The last time we stayed there Feb2009 we had rotting bed linen with holes all over which should have been thrown away at the laundry.
The breakfast in now self serve and the food is usually cold, beans were like a puree and the toaster burns the bread.
This Hotel should be down graded as sadly its not as it once was.
Still a really nice setting and lovely buildings so would still recomend BUTneeds some care and maintenance redecoration.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Upon driving into the grounds the hotel looked great, beautiful stonework, lovely gardens, modern reception area and then disappointment started to set in when we headed towards our room.

The place is in need of a great deal of decoration and style. The bar area was in the corridor opposite the lounge area which looked as if it belonged to an old people's home. A large square room with a tv in one corner and then seating all round the outside.

I shared a twin room with a friend and it was very tired looking but spotlessly clean. The same again for the bathroom. I think the walls were quite thin as we could hear our neighbours music - very annoying especially when on complaining we were told it was a conference delegate in a tone that sounded as if they were more important than us.

Breakfast was served in another unspectacular room and a scruffy foreign waiter (t-shirt not particulary clean and untucked) with very poor english tried to serve everyone. The food to be fair was ok but everything else just had that fawlty towers feel about it.

If all you need from a hotel is a bed to sleep in then this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Main Road, Whitwell LE15 8BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Whitwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Whitwell Hotel And Conference Centre
Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitwell Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.