We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a wine waiter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Noel at Whitwell

The Noel at Whitwell
Main Road, Whitwell LE15 8BW, England
01780 460347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whitwell
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Need a wine waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was positioned in the far back corner - all the staff forgot us, or it was a long way to walk to us.

Kept having to get up to request simple thing like water!!!
Ordered white wine, this came in a silver bucket full to the rim of water!!!

Staff couldn't even be bothered to unscrew the cap let alone pour it.

Everytime I tried to pour the wine water cascaded onto the table - asked for assistance and was given a pretty grubby towel which I declined and used knapkins

Food OK - no tip left

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, lovely and lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The title refers to 1, the food 2, the service and 3, the overall experience
Had a really great time at the Noel. We ate from a set menu which was a really great price at £14.95 for 2 delicious home cooked courses. Firstly we were given a free mini soup with local bread and lovely oils. I had a really delicious chicken liver parfait with some deliciously sweet red onions and my hubby had creamy garlic mushroom starter that was served on the local granary bread....I just had to pinch a taste!!!
We then both went for the " pie" which was presented in a really quirky way!! The smoky bacon in the sauce gave the pie a wonderful taste, and the chips with it were crispy and perfectly seasoned.
We had no room for puddings, so had coffee in the snug area on the "hug me" chairs down there!!
The staff were very attentive but not too much in your face.
Really wish the Noel was on my door step as we would be in there all the time!! Lucky people in whitwell I say!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Reasturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were going on a fishing trip on Rutland water and wanted a Hotel to stop over. This place filled both bills the food was excellent and very well presented Breakfast and Dinner were perfect. The Staff were very good and the whole ambience contributed to as very pleasant trip.I would recommend this Hotel and Reasturant for any occasion . Would go again any time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a superb lunch at this pub/restuarant today, we were offered a set lunch menu with a good choice or a dish from a full lunch menu, we have eaten here twice in the evening as a couple and really liked it,but today took my elderly mother & step father who are hard to please. I can be happy in saying 'IT PASSED THE TEST" excellent service, wonderful food,lovely staff ,well worth a visit :-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“really fab!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

thanks to all the staff here at this "pub" / Restaurant for making our evening last Saturday a really great experience!!
We were visiting the area for the weekend and decided to dine out of our hotel for one of the nights and really glad our hotel recommended this place.
The food was sooo good, and the staff were great. we were looked after the moment we stepped in the front door.
We had a relaxed g&t in the comfy snug area whilst our order was taken. we were then shown through to the candle-lit restaurant, were the atmosphere was one of laughter and smiley happy people. we had taster soups and bread whilst we ordered a bottle of really great wine!!
we then had fab starters and excellent steaks, and although we were bursting, we just had to share what can only be described as the best sticky toffee pudding I have ever had....WOW
the bill was really reasonable, and was much cheaper that the hotel we were staying in...
I cant stress how good the place is....it was busy so other people must also agree with us
well done to all the staff and who ever the chef is, very well done to him and his kitchen team!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noel at Whitwell also viewed

 
Clipsham, Rutland
 

Been to The Noel at Whitwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Noel at Whitwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.