We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Festive Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dovecote Restaurant

Dovecote Restaurant
Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
+44 (0) 1332 780480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Another Festive Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited the Dovecote Restaurant just before Christmas for Sunday Lunch, this is our fifth Christmas visit as a party of four. Again we found the whole experience a pleasure from the moment we arrived to the time we left.

The menu, althought not too extensive, was more than adequate with a good and varied selection throughout the menu. Food was well cooked and presented and served by the young but very well trained staff.

Hope to be back again next Christmas

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    29
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“80th Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Three generations gathered to celebrate Dads (Freds) 80th Birthday......only the guest of honor had visited before and he chose well! The service was great from the pre dinner drinks to the end..Dad felt special and the added touch of a balloon and card from management was nice. The food was just wonderful, cooked to perfection and the staff on the night very good (Natalie was a star) well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Happy Birthday Fred! Brilliant to here you all had a lovely time. I have passed on your thanks to Natalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First visit to Dovecote excellent night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to the Dovecote Restaurant to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary, my husband alway has fillet steak but there was none on the menu so he chose sirloin, he said it was the best steak he had ever tasted and if he didnt know that it was sirloin he would have taken it for fillet, I also enjoyed my meal; Food excellent - Staff excellent - Service excellent, although it was slightly exspensive it was worth every penny, we would recommend it to anyone, we also spent a night in the hotel which was also excellent along with the staff and the breakfast, SUPERB.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Morley Hayes. Fillet steak is now back on the menu and is excellent. We source all our beef from our own farms or from farms within Derbyshire. Our prices are very competitive as we do not charge a service charge and a selection of fresh vegetables and seasonal potaoes are included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PAR EXCELLENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Three of us had lunch yesterday at Dovecote Restaurant. Have been in the past and it is a wonderful place to eat - friendly staff, good menu, excellent food and presentation.

Toilets were in exceptionally clean. Everywhere - the same standard of cleanliness.

Excellent value for money.
Absolutely faultless.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you for the wonderful review of The Dovecote Restaurant here at Morley Hayes. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

first class service from the second we got in.well worth the money and the food was delicious.if i could afford it ID eat their once a week.the food is unbelievable

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dovecote Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.