We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In good nick and well run but overcrowded!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Morley Hayes Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morley Hayes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Morley
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In good nick and well run but overcrowded!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The course was in good nick given the time of year and rain we've had but jeez is this place packed to the rafters (on a Wednesday morning). Every hole was a case of tee off and wait, tee off and wait. I can honestly say I've never experienced slow play like this. Got so fed up that we decided to walk off after the 12th. Sorry but despite the friendly service I won't be coming again and cannot really recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Manor Golf Course here at Morley Hayes. We have a course marshall on duty at peak times to ensure no hold ups occur. The day of your visit was out of season and mid week. As you stated it had been wet and many of the local courses were closed - thus resulting in a busy morning. I can assure you that this was a very issolated occurance and i do hope you will give us the benefit of the doubt and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    29
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
100
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The service in the hotel upon arrival was great and our evening meal was beautiful, with great service and wonderful food. The Dovecote Restaurant is a lovely venue for a private dinner. There were 37 of us and a great time was had by all. Thank you Morley Hayes!

Room Tip: There are only 30 rooms I believe and all are beautiful, although I was given a complimentary upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Natalie thank you so much for the wonderful review following your event here at Morley Hayes.
We have 32 bedrooms in total - which include 5 suites. The Dovecote Restaurant is great for entertaining as it has a lovely atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Morley Hayes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it was better than expected. Staff really polite and helpful, good choice at breakfast and nice size bedroom with terrace. Loved it, would definately stay again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
The terraces are even better in the summer - they face south! If it does get too hot all rooms are air-conditioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A delay in this review is a reflection on my husband and I and not Morley Hayes! Our marriage and wedding reception took place on 06/05/12 and was simply perfect from beginning to end. Every member of staff were professional and appeared to enjoy their job. The wedding breakfast and service was exemplary and many of our guests have subsequently commented that it was simply the best they had experienced. In addition we and many of our guests stayed at the hotel on the night of our wedding. The standard of the rooms, service and breakfast were fabulous. The whole Morley Hayes experience was spot on and comes highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We really appreciate your time in posting the review following your wedding day here at Morley Hayes. It is great to hear your high recommendation of Morley Hayes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliffe on Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The whole day went from start to finish without a hitch. Everything was wonderful. The meal was lovely and the staff were just brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We could not fault it. The perfect place to have your wedding reception and we would recommend it to anyone. My daughter and son-in-law were just thrilled with the whole day. Well done Morley Hayes.

Room Tip: Our family used quite a few rooms and they were all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you Stuart for the great review of daughters wedding. It was a lovely day for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a brilliant meal and were surprised by the quality of the home made food it,s good to see a place making there own food !! To many restaurants these day buy all their food in .Good service lovely night Keep it up !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Christian

Thank you for the review of Roosters Bar here at Morley Hayes. Delighted you enjoyed your visit. This summer we have invested in new kitchens at Roosters. They include a new production kitchen which enables us to produce much of our own products - we even make our own fish fingers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Apologies for the delay in posting our review. A simply stunning wedding with no detail left out by the team at morley. Not easy with most of the hotel booked for our party, all of the suites for dinner and entertainment and two challenging clients. The food was simply stunning with service spot on coordinated by jayne. Great wines, champagne and the evening buffet and cheese board were to die for. They even sent us on our way to london at midnight with bacon butties and a bottle of pink champagne ! Thanks to andrew and robert and all the team.

We could not have asked for more. Beautiful venue, service and happy staff. Highly recommend the fireworks but dont disturb the neighbours

Thank you

Pete and sarah

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Peter & Sarah

What an amazing wedding day you had! It was a beautiful wedding and and your choice of menu, wines and champagne were superb. The Re Take That band brilliant. Our very best wishes to you both and thanks for posting the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morley Hayes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.