We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Morley Hayes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Morley Hayes Hotel to your Saves list
The Morley Hayes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had our wedding reception at Morley Hayes on the 28th July in the Pavilion Suite. From first enquiries to checking out the morning after, the service we received throughout was of the highest standard. Sarah, Sam and Hazel turned our dreams into reality helping us make our wedding day the best day of our lives.
Andrew did a wonderful job taking on the role of master of ceremonies, everything ran so smoothly thanks to his help.
Annabel was fantastic throughout from setting up the room to looking after one of our youngest guests late in the evening who had taken a tumble, we really appreciate all she did.

The food was absolutely delicious and left our guests stuffed and extremely satisfied. Pimms & lemonade served on arrival in the wedding garden went down a treat as did the beautiful canapés- which our guests are still raving about!
The main attraction the hog roast exceeded expectations, a few guests were unsure about our main meal which my husband insisted upon having, it was beautiful, perfectly cooked and the food that accompanied it was just as delicious. We stumbled upon a popular Hog Roast sandwich cafe on our mini moon in York but it was no way near as delicious as what we had on our wedding day!!!

Our stay in the Sitwell Suite in the Morley Hayes was luxurious, the four poster bed was beautiful and so comfortable, and it had the most amazing bath! Breakfast the morning after in the hotel dining area was beautifully cooked and finished off our stay perfectly.

All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the day, commenting on what a fantastic venue Morley Hayes is, how delicious the food was and how nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We couldn't have asked for a better day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Lauren

Thank you so much for the lovely review following your wedding at Morley Hayes. We were so lucky with the weather that sipping Pimms in the garden followed by a hog roast on the balcony. Sheer bliss!
Our congratulations to you both

Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    41
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
139
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding here in June the day Was enhanced so much by all the staff we truly felt they couldn't do enough for us. They realy went above and beyond. Andrew takes the time and effort to make sure you have the perfect experience. The hotel itself is great the rooms are so well decorated and full everything you could want. well well well worth the money the breakfast is great to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Gemma, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your sisters wedding day.They did have a great day and the time in submitting your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My sister got married here last week and we stayed in one of the superior suites. Before arriving we were upgraded free of charge due to confusion over us having children. On arrival the whole place looked impressive. Reception staff were quick and helpful. We were allowed to check in early as we had traveled up for the wedding that morning which was very helpful.
When entering our room the staff had very kindly set the sofa bed up for our son and put a travel cot up ready for our daughter. This made our lives a lot easier. Rooms were clean, tea and coffee plentiful, more than enough bedding and towels. The bed was one of the comfiest we had slept in. Breakfast was nice, quick service again.
The best thing about our stay server was the wedding. The team made sure my sister and her husband had everything they needed and more. The wedding was very well organised and they were both made to feel very special. the ceremony was lovely, nothing was unthought of or too much trouble. My sister was over the moon and had the best day imaginable.
We would definitely recommend morely Hayes for a stay or even better a wedding!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Gemma
We are delighted your sister had a wonderful day. As the rooms are all spacious, cots and roll away beds fit in easily. Thank you for the time in submitting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and several colleagues periodically work in the area and we keep coming back. The service, rooms, quality are first rate. I have tried most hotels in the area and it is by far the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for the time in submitting your report. It is always a pleasure welcoming our regular guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I started a new job in January and wanted to take the team away to get to know them, for them to get to know me and for us to develop a strategy for the next 3-5 years. I viewed several different locations but chose Morley Hayes due to their facilties, quick responses by email and phone, willingness to accommodate requests and attention to detail. The location, the staff, the rooms and food were wonderful throughout. The day was very successful, very enjoyable and was a hit with myself, the team, my boss and my boss's boss. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for the report of your away day here at Morley Hayes. We do pride ourselves on providing a relaxing time away from the office. Hope your stategy plan is a success
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have just returned from Morley Hayes Hotel where my daughter and son in law were married. We had the most wonderful experience from start the finish. A number of the wedding party stayed the night before and a larger number stayed on the actual wedding night. Everyone felt their rooms were spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Our daughter stayed in the romantic Penthouse Suite.

On the day, the rain could not dampen our spirits and Morley Hayes staff ensured that all arrangements ran in a timely and efficient fashion. There were no anxieties for us. All we had to do was relax and leave everything in their capable hands.

The food was fantastic - proper restaurant quality with no indication that this was large scale catering. We had many compliments regarding the quality of the ingredients and the very attractive presentation of the meals. All the food was served piping hot and warm plates. Throughout the day, the staff were all polite and helpful and assisted in any way they could to facilitate our enjoyment.When the rain stopped we were able to enjoy the gardens and take some beautiful outdoor photos.

Several members of our party used the complimentary transport to and from the station which was really helpful. Finally, on the morning of departure my son's car had a flat battery (light left on - oops!) and Andrew went out of his way (drove to his home) to find jump leads to get the car started and my boy on his way. Service above and beyond, I am sure you would agree.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
It was a pleasure looking after you all. Your daughter and son in law were a delight and i am so pleased it stopped raining later on. The jump leads, it was my brother Robert who nipped up to the farm for them. All in a days work! Thank you for the time in submitting the report
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verbier
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

DONT MISS IT IF YOU ARE IN THE AREA.

A big  disappointment is when a highly recommended hotel- restaurant fails miserably to keep to its reputation and the opposite,  is taking a chance and   exceeding all your expectations.
Within the space of 1 week we experienced both, with Morely Hayes being a supremely pleasant surprise.

It is 15 minutes out of Derby in beautiful country side within the grounds of a golf course and golf practice range. If you are in the area and want to have excellent accommodation and food (either in elegant dining or bistro like enviroment or indeed both) dont miss Morely Hayes.

great intelligence has gone into the planning. The hotel , the multiple restaurant building and the Golf club are all separated from each other. You do not have to listen to a boisterous wedding if you are in the hotel.  Likewise,  if you want to eat in the elegant restaurant which is upstairs in the stand alone  restaurant building, you do not have to listen to the boisterous  noise in the bistro like restaurant downstairs.
.......what a pleasure.

If you wish to visit a gym-spa complex the hotel will offer to take you to a near by Virgin gym complex.


The prices are extremely modest for the quality of the hotel. The  rooms are a good to large size, the furniture very pleasing, the rooms are never too far from the lift. No chance of getting lost.
 The service by ALL the staff is enticing and shows attentive training by the management.
The price includes a full English breakfast, cooked to your request, not standing and stewing and getting cold on the counter. I asked for a slice of cheese and got a plate full, some cut pieces, some cheese shavings , with salad....vastly more than I needed or expected.
In short the hotel is faultless, add to that the beautiful view, the modest prices and you could not ask for more....except if you are  hungry and thats where the restaurant complex comes in.

I think the original brick building is late 18th C. We ate upstairs in the elegant restaurant one evening and downstairs together with our  grand children on a second evening.The prices for both are very modest considering the high quality and 'American' ' size portions ( the child's portion was enough for a grown up) I can only assume that they grow their own vegetables and use meat  from their farm ( one of the partners, I am told is a farmer) 
If you  want to eat Good  English food, here is your chance.

Full compliments to the management and staff

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your time in posting a review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. We are delighted you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morley Hayes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.