We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singer Sporthotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Singer Sporthotel & SPA to your Saves list
Singer Sporthotel & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr. 52, Berwang 6622, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Berwang
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have stayed at hotel SINGER in AUG for a week - in the THANELLER deluxe junior suite.
The room was huge and nicely furnished with a big window. Very quiet room with a nice view. The bathroom looked a bit tired and no minibar or other special features in the room.
The restaurants are OK - however the quality of the food and its presentation disappointed us a bit and staying in a Relais & Chateaux we would have expected much more (poor salad buffet, unimaginative desserts, small portions ... ).
The SPA is great ... seems to be brand new (... try the lomi-lomi massage - its heaven !!!)
All staff at reception, SPA and restaurants have been great - very professional, friendly ... a real treat.
.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms seem to be going to the main road which was rather noisy at times ... our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Collonges-sous-Saleve, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stay in this famous hotel every year for 8 years. Family Singer try to offer the best for her guests. On the feet of the ski tracks. Exceptional SPA with out and indoor pool. Excellent service and food. A place to come back and back!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We are just come back from our vacation at the Singer. I have no a lot to say...a word can be enough,perfect.
Great location,fantastic food,exceptional hospitality,a dream Spa.
We wanna thank the Singer family for their truly passion,Daniel(just 29 years old)probably the best maitre' i meet in 20 years of travel all around the world.
A really beautiful holyday.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Singer is an excellent hotel. Location is perfect for ski (just near the cable car and going back with skis on feet).

Nice room (Abendspitze) with a lot of style and a wonderful view. The staff is friendly and welcomes you with a personal touch.

The food is very good, with a special mention for the cheese buffet on evening. The garage is maybe a bit expensive (14 EUR / night).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I think the ethos of this place is "old money" or "classic luxury". From the outset I must say I really liked it, although I had some 'comments' which you can read at the end.

Firstly the location and view are beautiful - a secluded alpine valley (1340 m) surrounded by 2000+ m peaks. Tranquility and serene scenery is what it is all about. The village is really small and there is not much to do in the evening other than spend it enjoying the luxury of a 6-course meal, that comes with chosing the half-board option at the hotel.

The rooms are nice and cosy, and I would highly recommend the studio, which provides understated luxury, with soft colours and wood covered walls and ceiling. The beds and linnens are really comfy, bathrooms are large and well appointed, and the studios all have a balcony with breathtaking views. My only complaint is the lack of any English channels on the TV, except CNN (and a flat screen would have been nice, given that nowadays it costs only about the room rate for 2 days).

You get free Wi-Fi on request (ask for a password at the reception).

There is ample parking space nearby and you can have your car parked in an underground garage for an additional fee, which is a great asset when it snows.

I liked the SPA and mostly the aromatic steam room and the water beds rest area next to the saunas. There is also an indoor/outdoor swimming pool which is also nice, although the outdoor part of the swimming pool is not warm enough to allow you to stay comfortably outside during winter.

The staff were very kind and helpful in an unobtrusive sort of way, always personal and welcoming. It was quite curious for me to see the rules of the place, as they reminded me of staying in a sanitorium with my parents when I was a small kid. From the beginning you get a table, which you must stick to throughout your stay (breakfasts, dinners, etc.). Thus you get to know your neighbours on the nearby tables. Dinner starts really early - you are expected about 7.00 pm and it ends at about 10.00 pm when you can either move to the bar or enjoy an early bedtime (like I did). Thus everyone gathers together for meals, which brings a great comunal feel to the eating experience. I think this probably have been the rules and habits 70 years ago, when this hotel was established, and I must say I did like them, as they somehow brought a cosy nostalgia feeling to me.

You must choose the half-board if you are staying at this hotel, firstly because there is no really good place to eat outside, and secondly because the food is sublime. The difference in price is about EUR 12 per person per day between the bed-and-breakfast and the half-board, and for this money you get an amazing 6-course served dinner, with several options to choose from for most of the courses.

Now the gripes - it is one actually, but is really the reason why I give the place 4 and not 5 stars: there is a real ventilation problem in the common areas, which is quite unpleasant. Upon entry you get hit by a stale cooking smell of something I would identify as sauerkraut (I may be wrong). Also the air in the corridor on the 4th floor, where we stayed, was really stale and there seemed to be no fresh air being let in from anywhere. I think this is a problem that can be fixed, and would really allow the place to feel like the true luxury hotel it is supposed to be.

In summary - this is a great place, maligned by an unpleasant problem, which can be easily fixed. I hope the management read this and take measures. As for potential guests - don't be put off by my gripes, give it a try and I am sure you will have a wonderful, cosy, unforgettable experience staying at the Singer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

absolutely fantastic escape. Just have returned. We stayed there for 3 nights. I would suggest 4 nights and 3 full days.
First of all we were very lucky with the weather - snow, sun, blue sky. Nothing to compare with.
Berwang is very small village with prox.700 residents. Singer is really biggest and most advanced place to stay there.
What left me with very special feelings - service. Fantastic!!! Everybody so friendly. You really feel like at home. Staff is 100% right people with right approach to their responcibilities.
Rooms are nice, clean. Very quiet place. You have all facilities in your room. Thr only weakness - limited number of TV channels in english, frenc, russian etc.
Food - this is separate story. We booked B&B before. But after first evening I switched to HB. Dinner is outstanding! Do not expect "wild original local food". You will find sofisticated signature dishes. 4-5 course menu followed with grate cheese selection. Grate!The only issue is that wines and champagnes selections is specific and high priced. Nice red wine starts at around 100 EUR. All the rest of alcoholg are ok in general...

Ambiance - lots of wood everywhere, fireplace, live music. You feel coutryside, you feel alpine!

SPA - grate facilities - sauna, steam, indoor and outdoor(no chance to miss in the evening time especially!!!!) pools. Nice relax rooms. All is well. Massages are ok, but not the best I have had - can not beat asians ))

We are not a ski-people, but from what I saw I can say that those who were doign skiing really were enjoying skiing facilities and environment

Overall I say YES - go there if you are looking for short, peaceful, romantic or family, tasty escape on reaonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days at the Singer Hotel in the summer of 2011. It is a family owned hotel in the most beautiful location. We had to adjust to the personal attention which is off the charts. The staff all speak several languages and knew that we were American and spoke to us in English. We did pay a small extra fee for breakfast and dinner and were blown away. The dinner was fantastic; many courses, great quality and preparation and fabulous service. The breakfast was over the top.
The hotel has activities every day and a beautiful pool and spa. We were treated to a cocktail reception by the pool one evening and enjoyed the lovely and gracious host Florian Singer.
We are both cyclists and the location is fantastic for some challenging rides. We took a beautiful hike our last morning and were surprised by cow bells and scenery beyond belief.
The hotel is a short drive to Mad Ludwigs's castles in Germany, but go early to avoid the huge crowds.
I hope our travels take us back to the Hotel Singer. A Tirolian experience over the top.

Room Tip: There a several different types of rooms and the hotel receptionist was kind enought to show us the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singer Sporthotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singer Sporthotel & SPA

Address: Nr. 52, Berwang 6622, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Berwang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Berwang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Singer Sporthotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singer Sporthotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singer Sporthotel & Spa Hotel Berwang
Singer Sporthotel And Spa
Sporthotel Singer Berwang
Sporthotel Singer Hotel Berwang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singer Sporthotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.