We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with great personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel do Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel do Mar to your Saves list
Hotel do Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Goncalo Velho, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9650-423, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Povoacao
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel with great personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice place with beautiful view, helpful staff (no problem with serving breakfast at 6 am, printing maps or any other help), parking places directly in front of the hotel, clean rooms, simple but really tasty breakfast (including local cheese, fruits, cakes).

The position directly at the ocean was cool, in the end of our vacation (beginning of September) we were one day the only two people at the whole beach until 4 pm.

Having car is helpful. One can also plan trips not for weekend, while the bus connection is poor during the weekend :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenka393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable (except for small lumpy pillows). No safe or minibar but we didn't have a problem with losing valuable or getting drinks. Great view from balcony although construction on the harbour wall made sleeping in difficult!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffin_Whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel Do Mar was perfect for us in May. Quiet,friendly staff,excellent breakfast,free parking in front and lovely views from our balcony. The price was right too! Povoacao is acute little town with spectacular views from the road to Furnas and the Nordeste. If you are looking for nightlife you stay in Ponta Delgada!

Room Tip: In May apparently the quiet season no problem getting a seaside balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice situated with ocean view. Rooms are clean and simple. We missed a refridgerator in the room. The hotel is an hour drive from the airport. Friendly personnel. In the neighbourhood of the hotel are 3 restaurants, Toronto a noite, Jardim and a restaurant near the harbour.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter1_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days - and didn't regret a second! We had a room which went to the sea front (better: to the little harbour). It was not too small, clean - but nothing special. All in all - ok. A big plus: the terrace to the sea!
You might expect that you can go to sleep with the calming sound of the sea. But! No way! The very "special" sound of numerous cory's shearwater birdies will kepp you awake. Not very romantic, but they will put a smile on your face. At least, during the first one or two nights...
The only minor drawback was the quality of the breakfast: Terrible "juice", horrible coffee; and - although there's phantastic local jam and/or marmelade - all you get is that "artificial plastic stuff"! So - better switch to tea - or get some real coffee and some local "pasteles" from a pasteleria somewhere in Povoacao ;-)
The service - on the other hand - is extremely friendly and helpful! In our case, they were more than willing to help us to make a reservation for a "real" cozido in a restaurant in Furnas (i.e. not the stuff which most tourist groups get there especially for lunch)! Very nice guys!
The "Hotel do mar" will definitely be our choice for the next time we come to Povoacao!

Room Tip: Ask for one of their sea view rooms! They might be a little bit more expensive, but worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but very pretty and with a nice setting on the waterfront. We didn't book a seaview room, but got one anyway. The view was wonderful. Rooms are nothing special, but clean and spacious and with a good size balcony.
There's not much to do or see in Povacao, but if you have a car anything is within easy reach and it's nice coming back to this quiet hotel after a busy day. There's a nice little swimming pool and a delightful jaccuzzi. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choice.
Very good price/quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Povoacao
4.2 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
14.8 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#3 of 38 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Arcanjo
Hotel Arcanjo
#1 of 1 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#1 of 21 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
23.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#2 of 21 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Mar

Address: Rua Goncalo Velho, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9650-423, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Povoacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Mar is a pleasant hotel, with a Sea inspired decor, ideal for some time away from home and for some piece and quiet. Bring your children with you and let them have fun. Enjoy our exterior pool and jacuzzi, our giant chess table and pool table. Have a drink in our bar between the pool and the ocean and go all the way up to the watch tower for an excellent view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Mar Sao Miguel/Povoacao, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing