We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Well Equipped, Very clean and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Noust

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orphir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Noust
Save
You added The Noust to your Saves list
Gyre, Orphir KW17 2RB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Orphir B&B and Inns
scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Well Equipped, Very clean and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked for a week for our 1st visit to Orkney, we were not dissapointed. The Noust far exceeded our expectations and there were ice touches like local oatcakes and local fudge and milk in the fridge for our arrival.

The self catering apartment was spotlessly clean and was well laid out with open plan living/Dining/Kitchen area nd a view over the fields and you could make out the sea in the distance. We were treated to many birds in the fields and a Hen Harrier hunting too. There was a wee area outside where we had a bbq one night and watched the evening light fade away.

Part of the bildig is the pub and we ate there 2 nights it is nothing fancy, standard pub grub with a couple of specials which did change nightly but the food was fresh, cooked when ordered and was tasty with good portions.

The self catering flat was the absolute gem though and really we would stay again (although sadly the whole complex is up for sale - oh for a lottery win)

I really hope the new owners take as much care and pride as the current ones as it, as it is, comes highly recommended. It is a good location for the sites and is a short drive to both Stromness and Kirkwall. And we were also allowed our dog to stay too.

If the current owners read this Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We rented the self catering flat for two nights. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. Our stay was extremely comfortable thanks to our hosts thoughtfulness. The shower was amazing, kitchen clean & well equipped. Like home, but better :) Lovely neighbours (sheep) and easy access to Kirkwall.

Room Tip: There are also B&B rooms available but we'd definately recommend the flat. Amazingly good va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very clean and comfortable room. Nice hospitality tray topped up daily. A real joy to return to the room to dry off and warm up after a very wet day sightseeing! Good food in the bar too...would recommend both to Orkney visitors. Only one down side was that we did spot a much better double room with gorgeous views out to the sea which was empty for the time we were there - would have been nice to have been given that room for our stay instead seeing as it was available.

Room Tip: Ask for the double with the fab long distance open views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a little gem.I wanted somewhere near enough to explore West Mainland but not too much trouble to get back to East Mainland for my ferry late the next day.Very easy to find.Just as you come in to Orphir well signposted off main road to Kirkwall.Views from house fantastic. Ann and her husband made me and my dog most welcome in their home and the room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable.I ate in the Bar at night and had the best fish and chips I have had in my life.It tasted as it it was just out of the sea! Breakfast was delightful.As a vegetarian who is not often catered for while travelling The Noust excelled itself with its "full veggie breakfast".I did not have to eat again until 2pm!Ann works tirelessly cooking breakfast, then bar suppers then popping up in the Post Office that is beside the Bar.I cannot fault The Noust nor recommend it highly enough.I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our first evening meal in Orkney was on recommendation and The Noust took a little finding.
The exterior looks a bit like a shop or garage or Post Office and the bar/ restaurant is hidden through a couple of fire doors at the rear.
The fish and chips were good, fish turk? never heard of it. But just peas left a bit disappointed. Drinks OK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were looking for a B&B but in the end stayed in the self catering flat (The Noust has both to offer). The flat was spacious comfortably furnished and well equipped. We also used an on site Bar for our evening meals which were local sourced food.
The location was pleasant with views of Scapa Flow and an ever changing vista of weather and birds including Short Eared Owls and Hen Harriers. With so much to see on the islands we had a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I've stayed a couple of times on business trips and If you're on a trip to Orkney, forget the rest and book the best, because I doubt there's a better one out there. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. I got a great sleep every night I was there. The shower was really powerful, and I'm sure could exfoliate if turned up to full! The breakfast was oustanding, with Orkney black pudding a must have for lovers of the stuff.

Room Tip: The self catering flat is great option if you're wanting to have a choice from eating out every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Noust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Noust

Address: Gyre, Orphir KW17 2RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Noust Orkney Islands/Orphir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Noust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.