We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buxa Farm Croft House - Great location, Great views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering) to your Saves list
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering)
Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SF area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Buxa Farm Croft House - Great location, Great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

So glad we decided to stay at the Croft House. The views of Hoy during the day and the Milky Way at nice were amazing. The house was plenty big for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 boys) and it seemed like it was brand new, everything was so nice. Its a very short drive to the Standing Stones of Stenness and the Ring of Brodgar so we were able to hop in the car to go to the stones at sunset. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots/pans and I was very surprised to see a dishwasher and washer for laundry!! That made my day. The only thing I would note is that it is self catering so bring your own shampoo/soap - we travel very light so I hadn't packed any and had to buy some when I bought groceries. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Didn't go in the chalets so I don't know what they were like but it was really nice being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our 4 star Croft House. It is now in it's fourth year of letting and thanks to everyone taking such good care of it, it does indeed still look brand new. It would be our pleasure to welcome you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at Buxa Farm Chalets and loved it. The views are superb and the chalet we stayed in was clean, comfortable, well equipped and warm (almost too warm). Plenty of hot water and the shower was a decent pressure (which is not something you always get). The beds were the zip and link type which I like in self catering as you can always get the correct configuration to suit your group. Each of the chalets had sliding patio doors to the an outside area with picnic table which would be a real bonus in warmer weather (late September was just a bit cold for sitting out in the evening). We did see a couple of fantastic sunsets over Hoy. We also had a wonderful view of a short eared owl which came and sat on a fence post not far from our window - wonderful experience.

The chalet also had plenty of crockery, glasses and cutlery etc which was great because we could load up the dishwasher without running out of anything (like wine glasses). Also, the knives were reasonable sharp which, in my experience, is almost unheard of in self catering accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of Buxa Farm Chalets. It is nice to see that our hard work is appreciated and hope that you will come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in the middle chalet recently. The accommodation is spacious, clean and very well equipped. Kathy, the owner, made us feel very welcomed from the beginning (she was even kind enough to come find us after getting lost on a trying to find the place!). The location itself is excellent with superb views across to Hoy. The main shops of Kirkwall are less than 30 minutes away by car. We left feeling totally relaxed and can't wait to go back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad I was able to find you and help you get to your chalet! Happy to hear you had a relaxing stay once you got to Buxa and took time out once you got home to write a review. It sounds like you enjoyed everything on offer and we hope that you do come back hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Twelve of us stayed for two weeks in late July 2013 in the three Buxa Cottages near Orphir, Mainland, Orkney. This accommodation is superb and cannot be recommended highly enough. All three cottages are furnished and equipped to the highest standard. They are spacious, exceptionally clean and all have superb views over the water to Hoy. There is even a short-eared owl resident in the vicinity. The cottages have their own garden and barbeque area and a few minutes walk takes one to a small beach.
The cottages are very central on the Mainland which means that one can reach any part by car within 45 minutes. Also, Stromness is only 15 minutes drive away and Kirkwall 30 minutes.
The owner, Kathy, and her husband could not do enough for us. They left us undisturbed to enjoy the accommodation but would quickly arrive if requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Buxa Chalets are ideal for large groups as everyone can gather together and enjoy each other's company in the garden and barbeque area and then retire to their own chalets. Each chalet is identical so no one misses out on any furnishings or equipment. So happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommend to others. We do our best to personally welcome everyone that arrives but respect the fact that you are indeed "getting away from it all" and leave you to it! Please come back and visit us again either individually or as a group you are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Buxa Farm Chalets offer a beautiful self catering retreat near Orphir in Orkney. The accommodation has everything to provide a comfortable stay - bed linen, towels, a fully kitted out kitchen plus everything you need for the small people. In our case a booster seat and cot although a baby bath and high chair were also available. There are also laundry facilities provided - very useful as our little one is potty training. Buxa Farm Chalets has won a Child Friendly Award with a play area provided, a pitch and putt plus a box of toys to borrow from. The accommodation also had dvds and books (both adult and children's). There is a beach a couple of minutes walk from the chalet and also a bird watching hut, which our little one used as a play house!

Enjoy the beautiful views of Hoy with the complimentary wine and Orkney fudge. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay to anyone visiting Orkney but as a bonus it was particularly easy place to stay with children too. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in the end chalet and had views on both the side and front of the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are the first accommodation provider in Orkney to achieve the VisitScotland Children Welcome Award. We truly feel that happy children make happy parents and have done everything we can to make Buxa a child friendly holiday destination. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything we had on offer and we can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous relaxing week at this lodge and we were not disappointed! Excellent facilities combined with stunning views over scapa flow and an abundance of local wildlife on your doorstep. Our 8 year old son loved the outdoor play area and mini golf. My husband was blown away by the bird watching and opportunities for great wildlife photography. I was entranced by the amazing sunsets and ever changing Orkney skies. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Glad to hear that you all enjoyed the many different aspects that Buxa has the offer: the stunning scenery and facilities, the abundance of wildlife and the Child Friendly Facilities. We just put in the putt putt course a couple of weeks ago and it is great to see people enjoying it. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a wow factor when you turn down the drive to this place and it just keeps getting better as you enter and see the fabulous accomodation. Perfect central location for Stromness and Kirkwall as well for exploring the amazing sights and wildlife spots around the island. Lovely and warm and cosy when the wind gets up outside, but when its good weather you can sit out on the patio or play on the ample grass area front and back. Its secluded enough from the chalets as on this occasion we came on our own so didn't know the other familes in the chalets but it was lovely and quiet. Enjoy watching the resident hares, hen harriers and short owls. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Wow, what a great review. Happy to hear you enjoyed all the ammenities of the croft house and the entertaining wildlife. Many people tell us they enjoy just "hanging out" and for this reason we just put in a new 9 hole putt putt course and bought a lawn croquet set. It's great to have the option of exploring all Orkney has to offer but it is just equally as great to stay at Buxa and just relax! We hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering)

Address: Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (Self-Catering) Orkney Islands/Orphir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House (self-catering), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.