We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo cool and beautiful, wish we had more than one night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitepod

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whitepod to your Saves list
Whitepod
Les Cerniers | Les Giettes, Monthey 1871, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Sooo cool and beautiful, wish we had more than one night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent one lovely night here. Had delicious dinner at only restaurant, phenomenal raclette and great wine list. Walk back up to the huts is mild pain, 10-15 mins walk up hill. The huts themselves are beautiful. Great design and welll appointed. Great beds. This is first class glamping. The main communal room is also beautiful, great room to hang out and play games or watch a movie. And nice large sauna and shower area below. Honor system bar. So well done, really great place for larger group or couple families. Not easy to find, very few signs up from Montreaux...but def a unique, serene and wonderful spot. Sunrise was magnificent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    22
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
78
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We kept the destination a secret for our 2 kids: because I like to surprise but also in this case it is hard to describe because it is so much different. And it was a big hit. It is remote, in nature (you have to walk to the pods, brilliant),with a stunning view if you are on the big terrace or inside through the spherical window. If only they had a see through roof, you would gaze at the stars all night. We walked up and around the mountains almost every day. You can take different paths, hike on ledges, be out of your normal world, because that's what the whitepods and its vicinity do.. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed, relaxed every minute. People and service were great, no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: No worries here, all pods have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitepod, Responsable réception at Whitepod, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel!
It is always nice to have such a great feedback from clients. It motivates the whole team who try their best to make every guest have a special stay at Whitepod.
Hope to see you in the winter!
Best regards.

J. Barbotin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This perfect oasis of tranquility and ecofriendly fun has got to be one the coolest places we have ever stayed! The pods are like a mixture between a tent and a luxury chalet. There are lots of lovely little touches and whether you go there in the Summer of Winter, they are very cosy. Waking up to a panoramic view of the mountains as the sun comes up is unforgettable.

The reception is a 15 minute walk away so pack quite lightly. There is a chalet for communal use in the middle of the field where the pods are. There, there is an honesty bar, outdoor games (ping pong, pentanques etc), and indoor games (indoor football, TV with DVD player, board games). For evening meals, there is a lovely restaurant down next to reception where the service and the food is excellent!

There is plenty to do with nearby walks (easy and harder), paragliding, SPA treatments and organised walks on offer.

The staff there are incredibly friendly and it leaves you with a sort of warm fuzzy glow inside. You won't be disappointed- it's just an unforgettable place to spend some time in a beautiful country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March with my new wife.

The Location
You really feel like you are somewhere special. I was expecting a little difficulty in reaching the camp but it was actually very easy to just catch a train to Monthey and take a taxi up (CHF 60 one way). A one way transfer to/from Aigle Station was CHF115 and to/from Geneve Airport was a massive CHF 420.

Pods
Very roomy and not cramped at all, the decor is simple which is fine but not as luxurious as the pictures indicate. Also, you can't actually see the wood burning in the stove like the pictures due to the build up of soot on the glass which was a little disappointing but obviously understandable. As long as the fire is stoked the pod can actually get quite hot, around 23c and when it died it dropped to about 7c which wasn't too bad (there was a thermometer in the bathroom). The only problem is when you open the stove smoke does get sucked into the pod so you really don't want to be feeding it too often or the pod will get smoky. I'd recommend unlatching the door then very slowly open the stove to reduce the back draft and use the largest logs. I think it's worth ensuring it doesn't even get close to going out as the logs are usually wet and take a while to dry out before they catch on fire. To relight an extinguished fire with wet logs I had to keep the door atleast partially open to ensure the tinder had sufficent oxygen (closing the door seemed to smother the fire), which obviously released more smoke into the room. This is not to say that I felt unsafe in the pod, just that you'll be more comfortable ensuring it doesn't go out.

The bed was comfortable however they seem to give two single duvets rather than one double duvet which I thought was odd. The bed linen was very nice though, I'd like to own a set.

The pod can at times be noisy as someone has mentioned, we got woken up during the night when presumably due to the fire going out snow formed on top of the pod which then slid down as the wind picked up. In addition, given the romantic environment and the thin non-sound insulating nature of canvas you may hear the mating rituals of the not so local fauna...

On a less amusing note, our final night was interrupted by what I presume was a corporate group drinking and singing. It was only on one night so didn't spoil our stay but did make me think how disappointed I'd have been if they were there during our whole stay.

Food
Breakfast was great and conveniently located near the pods, I only wish they would serve a basic lunch or dinner in there. The approx 10 minute walk to the restaurant is so bad, it's the 15 minute hike back up on icy paths that becomes daunting after a few nights. The food while expensive was exceptional, but we did find it a bit rich after a couple of days and would have liked the option of simpler fare.

Activities
Neither of us ski so I guess we lost out on what the camp offers most, private ski lift and slopes. However we did try the husky dog sled which was incredibly fun and again while extremely expensive (CHF 390 for 60 mins) it is recommended as a special treat. The guided snow shoe hike was less enjoyable for us as we had pretty much done a similar route ourselves the previous day and you also have to hike at the slowest pace of the group which while understandable diminished the value to ourselves. As such it was expensive (CHF 150 per person, 2.5 hours) and didn't feel it was worth the CHF 300. Snow shoeing is something you can easily do yourself at your own pace.

As someone mentioned, they serve all their water in glass bottles so I'd recommend bringing a couple of plastic bottles to refill.

Service
No complaints at all, everyone was friendly and polite. Checking in and out was simple and the taxi transfers seamless, no hanging around.

Overall
I think we stayed too long, and perhaps we are not their targeted clientele but I would only recommend the Whitepod for short stays and special occasions. On that note, I'd ask before reserving whether any groups are booked during your stay, while I don't begrudge anyone having a good time the resultant noise could conflict with your plans in creating a romantic getaway on a secluded mountain.

For all it's faults I had a great time at Whitepod, and as it was for a special occasion I accepted the expense. The only reason I took away one star was the novelty began to wear off, the reality of stoking a fire every night, thin walls and having to do a mini hike for food was becoming less and less part of an adventure. For the first part of our stay I'd have given 5 stars but only 3 towards the end, as such I have averaged out to 4 stars.

In addition, I think due to the cold weather and dry heat of the stove our skin had never been so dry, so you might want to bring some moisturiser.

Room Tip: A pod on the edge near the forest offers more privacy and less noise disturbance, as there are no po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

amazing place to enjoy the mountain adventure. .
unforgetible if you visit lac Leman region
don't forget the "luge" downhill betwen Pods-rooms and restaurant area.
Easy to find when you arrive to Monthey and the location are great, nice and with amazing views of Lac Leman, on winter and sumer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Incredible place.
My wife and I stayed 2 night at Whitepod and were very lucky with the weather and snow conditions.
We enjoyed everything: back country skiing on the "private mountain" (powder!!), massages, great food, cosy mini bar area and ... quietness!
It didn't even bother my to get up in the middle of the night to add some wood in the furnace while the room temperature was at freezing level !

Room Tip: Ask for a pod on the lower row, this way you wont have another one taking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been at the whitepod for 1 night with our 4 month old baby. Great welcome and very friendly staff. Short walk through the snow to the whitepod, luagage was brought by the staff.
The pod was already heated. Baby bed was ready. Very well equiped (water boiler with tea and coffee, amenities in the bathroom etc...). Attention to details and decoration to make the place authentic and luxury at the same time. Very comfortable and warm beds with a fantastic view on the mountains. To heat the fireplace is very romantic. There are candles everywhere. But there is electric light and enough electric outlets :-) During the night you have to heat regularly (every 2-3h) the fireplace. It gets quite cold about 10°C if you are not heating regularly. The restaurant is cosy and the food is good, menu with large choice. Very good breakfast with nice terrace and astonishing view on the mountains. I absolutely recommend to spend a night in the whitepod with your beloved. It's a very romantic place and a unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitepod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitepod

Address: Les Cerniers | Les Giettes, Monthey 1871, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Monthey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Monthey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un pod c’est …L’accord parfait entre éco-tourisme et grand confort!Au cœur du domaine Whitepod, s’érige un camp de 15 tentes géodésiques. Chacun des pods est décoré différemment d’intérieur cosy et meublé avec soin d’objets uniques et de lits king size.Les salles de bains, raccordées directement à l’eau de source, les fourneaux à bois et l’isolation performante allient confort et écologie.Les hublots et la terrasse privée invitent à la contemplation de la vue saisissante sur le lac Léman et les cimes des Alpes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whitepod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitepod Hotel Vaud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitepod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.