We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redlynch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
Save
You added BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park to your Saves list
The Rocks Rd, Redlynch, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Fantastic park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

It was an amazing place to stay very clean and friendly staff. Would go back and stay again. :) the only thing I could pick would be that the signage to the park from cairns needs to be clearer . The pool area and BBQ were beautiful and clean. My boys loved the horses that were just the other side of the cabin and enjoyed going out every morning to feed them

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Jacki05,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in our little park! We know our signage could be improved and we are currently in the process of designing some new signs so our wonderful guests can find us more easily. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review, they mean so much to us!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    30
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the time you check in, with friendly helpful and very knowledgable staff, to driving around a beautifuly maintained site that has been well thought out and landscaped with plenty of attractive trees and flowering bushes, you realise you are on a 5 star holiday park. The faciities are excellent and are enhanced by those little personal touches like fresh flowers in the bathroom area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi ChrisandChris_11,

We're all so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We always aim to exceed our guests expectations in every way and we think that the personal touches are so important in helping us do that. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review and can't wait to see you again next time you're back in our beautiful country!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay which was handy for doing the trip to Karunda on the Scenic Railway and back on the SkyTrain. This was IT! And the quality of the site was a massive bonus. Only 10 minutes, at most, drive to Freshwater Station to pick up train, or 15 if you want to go up on the Skylift. Out of season when we stayed so very, very quiet. Tidy, good sized pitches with concrete slabs, spotless amenity blocks. Small but very adequate pool also very clean. The owners deserve to do well as they were helpful and friendly. Good camp kitchen. We stayed 2 nights as were moving on but would have been happy staying more. Not one of those developed holiday resort camps just a great place to stay in our campervan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Gandam55,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our park! Our peaceful location is very important to us but we are very lucky to be so close to everything as well. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review, as a family owned and operated business every review means a lot to us! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We started our 4 weeks trip along the east-coast at this campground and it was a very nice experience. The campground is clean and well maintained and not too far away from Cairns. A grocery store is nearby. We stayed in an ensuite villa, which was very nice and clean. The campground is very quiet and peaceful and it has a nice pool area. The BBQ was always spotlessly clean. The WIFI was free, which is rarely to be found in Australia. We could store our car free of charge, while going on an outer reef diving trip. We even were able to store some food in the fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative we have to mention, as we returned from our diving trip we were given a tropical cabin even though we had a confirmation for an ensuite villa. They told us it was the same, but it is not at all the same, as the ensuite villas have a separate bed room.
But overall we enjoyed out stay a lot and at the end of our trip we must say, that this was one of the nicer campgrounds we stayed in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Lumi1709,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your trip around Australia. We try our best to make our park a clean and friendly place to be and it's people like you leaving such great reviews that have given us such a great reputation!

However, we're very sorry about the mix up with your cabin. We only have the two Ensuite Villas and there must have been a double booking on one of them, for which we can only apologise. I do hope that this didnt upset your trip too much and that you had a great time in Far North Queensland!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family enjoyed staying here. Beautiful location. Friendly staff and other prople that stayed there. Would definitely recommend. Would definitely stay again and again :)
Very helpful when asking about different places to visit and look around. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Twin83,
Thanks so much for your positive review! We're so glad our staff were able to help you out with their great knowledge of the local attractions. We trust you had a great time in Far North Queensland and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our park in the near future! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Cairns for school for two weeks each year and have found that Crystal Cascades is a great place to stay as I always feel safe with my three little kids. The staff are great and always willing to help. AND it is so nice and peaceful (no traffic roaring by!!)! I will be back next year...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Nad2410,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We think that our peaceful rainforest location makes all the difference and we do try to make every one of our guests feel as safe and comfortable as possible during their stay. As a family owned and run business, we really appreciate your review and can't wait to see you back with us next year!
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had booked accommodation for 2 Adults and 3 children over the xmas break. Took a trip all the way up there to pay for our stay beforehand, only to be told that it had been cancelled and given to some one else. But no one could tell us WHY? We rang the manager for an explanation and hoped that he may be able to help us. He promised a phone call back that day and a week later we were still waiting. Absolutely ruined our holiday and we had 3 very upset children.. Would have expected more from a Big 4 park.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Owner at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Reet771,
We were both saddened that you were disappointed with our booking procedure. We are a small family run business and Christmas is an extremely busy time of the year for bookings. Most accommodation establishments will have a similar policy to us - that no booking is confirmed unless a deposit has been paid.
The booking was made on the 19th November with us where we attached comments that a deposit would be paid on the afternoon of the 20th November to confirm the booking. We held the booking in the computer much longer than this -until the evening of 26th November after which time we cancelled the booking under the assumption that you had made other arrangements and no longer required the booking. You came to pay a deposit in the early weeks of December; clearly we were wrong in our understanding that you still required the booking, we are sorry for the misunderstanding and your disappointment. We hope that one day you would like to come and experience our warm and friendly hospitality, excellent accommodation and spectacular location.
Yours faithfully,
Russell and Jenine Drayton.
Owners and managers of BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park

Address: The Rocks Rd, Redlynch, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Redlynch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Redlynch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our magnificent location is truly unique with a rain forest mountain backdrop offering guests breathtaking scenery from every accommodation balcony. Nature at its best with wildlife & bird watching. Set amongst landscaped tropical gardens, with no highway noise will ensure a restful sleep. Yet we are still conveniently close to Cairns airports and City Centre. A safe, friendly, relaxed environment will encourage you to feel rejuvenated from the moment you arrive. Take the time to discover something unique - You! All accommodation is fully self-contained and beautifully appointed. Free BBQs, & guest laundry for use also.Free fast WI-Fi right throughout the whole Park. Bushwalking and bike riding opportunities from the park. Swimming in the waterfalls all year round is exhilarating. Beautiful salt water pool and spa in park also. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park Cairns Region, Australia - Redlynch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.