We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, gourmandise and even more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Curzay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Curzay to your Saves list
Chateau de Curzay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Jazeneuil, 86600 Curzay-sur-Vonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relax, gourmandise and even more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Chateau de Curzay for one night. We were looking a nice place to stop on our way from Aquitaine coast to Paris. We didn’t have a big choice of chateaus since we made last-minute booking in August. Michelin Guided restaurant was preferable so we decided to go there. It was really hidden place (even if you have all that navigators) and our trip to the hotel seemed to be a puzzle. But the country road and surroundings were so beautiful so do not lose this opportunity.

The chateau is quite spacious: trendy lobby, cozy billiard and library, and beautiful terrace - were you can relax and enjoy evening cocktail . Overall it is much better than it looks on the web site. We had a warm greeting from the manager. He was very helpful.

We had rooms at the upper floor in the small tower that provided us with a wonderful view. The room was quite big. May be to someone would complain that it’s not brand new, but I believe all that old furniture gives an impression of old castle. The bathroom was big and full of light. We didn’t have separate shower ether but haven’t even noticed it. The bed was comfortable. We had a good sleep, real country house, fresh air, light smell of chimney smoke, grass and horses:) and birds singing.

We liked the dinner a lot. I recommend you to try escargots for entry course – it was delicious, especially the souse. As well as chicken that I orderedJ

But the most exciting experience we’ve got the next morning while discovering the surroundings. The territory is big: swimming pool, horses, ancient chapel and fishing. Portier recommended us to go fishing in the morning. We were happy to follow his advice. If you like fishing you will enjoy a charming small river hidden in a shadow of old trees. They provided us with all we need: tackle, bait and small boat:)

I would recommend it for the week-end stay, so you will have enough time to enjoy all the opportunities for good relax and adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
23
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My rating would be a 5 if the bedrooms and bathrooms had been brought up to the expections of the modern traveller. A bathroom as big as modern British semi ought to have a large separate shower. Indeed if our stay had been for more than one night I would have asked for another room.
Making up for all of this was the location and the evening meal. Eating on the terrace on a balmy evening was one of the highlights of our road trip and that is praise indeed, since wonderful meals had been the order of the day!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

On arrival the maids and footmen stand outside to take one's bags and park one's car setting the tone for an Epicurean delight.

Tasteful rooms with squeaky floorboards with a great view out over the park. Charming swimming pool with lush laurel hedging against any breeze or prying eyes.

Outstanding food and service in a marvellous location, what more could one want?

We shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view to the rear over the park....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It all looked so gracious, elegant and beckoning: gift-wrapped in ancient stone, heavenly proportioned and highly endorsed by the Relais & Chateau Hotel Chain, and by its own Management. Although expensive, that was fine: we do expensive; but we did not expect that the Chateau de Curzay, in its remote location in fields near Potiers, would be the most expensive hotel on our entire expensive chateau-hopping jaunt. Nevertheless, the castle’s front desk had been emailing us with proposals ever since our initial enquiries two years back, and so we decided that persistence needed to be rewarded.

The quote for a room was exorbitant but we accepted it. (We did quietly ask if perhaps, as we are members of the exclusive 5C Club that embraces the Curzay Chateau, the rate might include breakfast. “No”, was the short answer.)

We drove through hedgerows, country roads (many closed for aspiring Tour de France cyclists to gain some practice) and finally, after a few wrong turns, we finally arrived - hot, tired and thirsty. Not only was no welcoming drink offered, but gusts of fierce wind enveloped the front desk as we tried to register; and then our worst nightmare began. Carrying our own heavy overnight cases, which we had brought from far afield, we were led into the depth of the old castle and up and up and up – 76 narrow stairs in ill-lit passages to be exact. No lifts, no offer of help and altogether a totally unacceptable situation. Luxury travellers opting to stay in Relais & Chateaux establishments are liable to expect more for their money.

Dinner was an expensive disappointment. Although we opted for the least expensive of the two restaurants, the meal was still very, very costly and very, very unexciting and ordinary. The wine cost an arm and a leg and can only be described as watery. In fact it was so bad that my husband had to change to beer!! half way through the meal, and I had to leave my tough, old mutton shank.
How sad, we thought, to have come all this way for this inferior food and this dormer accommodation.

After dinner we walked though one of the impersonal lounges and even the old billiard table, which had been thoughtfully placed for the enjoyment of guests, was at such a canter that the balls did not wait to be hit but simply ran down the slope. “That says it all”, we thought.
And the bed! Although described as a 'double' no two normal-sized adults could possibly sleep in it and we tossed and turned till morning.

We declined breakfast (but were charged for it anyway – so do check your bill carefully if you decide to stay here) and drove off declaring that this is one place that will not see us again. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is a castle - with everything that comes along with it; a beautiful main building, some stables, a chapel, a wonderful garden with a river and forests directly next to it. The building needs some refurbishment, then again, it is 300 years old. The rooms are as if taken from a fairy tale and overall the price is adequate.

This however, does not apply to the restaurant. The food is good, but not exceptional (the prices, however, are...). You can virtually not find any bottle of wine below 70 euros - upwards the sky is the limit. The bistro offers somewhat value for money; the restaurant is simply way overpriced. On top of that, the restaurant is overstaffed and the friendly waiters seem to be literally waiting , instead of taking care of the guests.

If you want to experience something special, have breakfast (25 eur per person) on the terrace in the sun and enjoy the gorgeous view.

All in all you will need to spend 300 euro per person per day for the room, dinner and breakfast. To us, it was worth it and we will remember these days as something very special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Marvellous castle with an amazing park where you can luckily see deers. The rooms are so charming and so much embedded in the tradition that it enables you to live as if you still were in the 18th century. The cooking at the restaurant is very good in this magnificient room with an old chemney. The lounge are also very attractive. Nothing to say more

Room Tip: the room have equal charm. the yellow junior suite overlooking the park with his bed with bed ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from the south of France. The place was lovely, we had an apartment overlooking the courtyard which was really spacious. Ourselves and our two children had a lovely meal on the terrace overlooking the gardens, the only complaint being the number of wasps and flies buzzing around while we were eating, it was 39 degrees so this may not have been the norm. The staff were lovely, it is expensive to eat and stay here but is a nice treat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Curzay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Curzay

Address: Route de Jazeneuil, 86600 Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Curzay-sur-Vonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curzay-sur-Vonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Curzay 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So many wonderful experiences await at the Chateau de Curzay, built in 1710. Take a hot air balloon ride from the park and survey Romanesque Vienne from the sky. Drift in a boat down the Vonne, at the heart of the estate, in search of the secret garden, and have a picnic on the banks of the river, in the shade of 200 year-old cedar trees. Go for a walk through the estate's 120 hectares in search of deer that roam wild. Visit the Futuroscope, a fairytale temple of images. Discover the seductive charm of the Poitevin marsh. Stop off in the town of Poitiers to admire the medieval facades. Back at the chateau, days and nights can be spent in magnificent tranquillity, between romantic strolls, dinner on the terrace, beauty treatments, classical music in the chapel and relaxing at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Curzay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Curzay Hotel Curzay-Sur-Vonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Curzay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.