We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery, compact accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets sur le Fjord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalets sur le Fjord to your Saves list
Chalets sur le Fjord
354, Saint-Jean-Baptiste, L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Les Gites du Fjord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, compact accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare week for Unit 41, the same two-bedroom condotel as melindad1953 in her recent review. The rooms were adequate but small, while the kitchen, described as "full" by RCI, could best be described as cramped. There was no room for a dishwasher, and the microscopic countertop could barely hold a dish drainer once the food and pots were removed from it. That said, there were lots of cupboards and a good supply of cookware and dishes, and the friendly housekeeping staff provided a baking dish and a teapot (actually, an empty coffee pot).

For part of the week there were four of us, which highlighted the unit's main drawback -- the lack of a second bathroom, which forced those in the upstairs bedroom to descend the open spiral staircase to use the facilities. The condos are aging, showing wear and tear on cupboards, but they are well-maintained and scrupulously clean. We enjoyed the wood fireplace and the small balcony. The wi-fi worked perfectly. And of course the view of the fjord is stunning, more than making up for minor deficiencies in the unit.

In the office, Christine, Isabelle and Madame Rose were enthusiastic and helpful in both languages. We did not use the onsite restaurant, finding the prices a bit steep, as were those at the other two recommended restaurants, Les Cévennes and La Fjordelaise. We did most of our cooking in the unit, except for the last night, when we splurged on a take-out from the local pizzeria.

The pretty village of L'Anse-Saint-Jean (St. John's Cove) lies at the mouth of a river of the same name, one of many that cut through the mountains to flow into the Saguenay Fjord. Not to be missed are side trips to Rivière-Éternité to the north, and Petit-Saguenay to the south. Just beyond the latter is a sideroad leading to Plage Saint-Étienne, an unexpected sand beach along this coast of sheer cliffs and towering mountains. The brilliant fall foliage complemented the breathtaking sweep of the highway through this wild and awe-inspiring landscape.

Room Tip: There are two rows of semi-detached condos, one above the other, but the lower one has the better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for peace & quiet & immaculate surroundings& the most beautiful view of The Saguenay area, this is the place to stay. Close to all area activities, bilingual staff in most areas of resort , make reservations with ease. Truly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare to visit the area and we were very pleased with unit 41 - 2 bedrooms. There were only 2 of us so we did not use the upstairs bedroom as there was no bath upstairs. The unit was vey comfortable, quiet - the only noise we ever heard was the laundry was under our unit but we never heard it until later in the morning. The view was spectacular. My husband had heart surgery after we booked this trip so the office was very kind working with us to make sure we only had 2 step to get into the unit. it was equipped with everything we needed. The Wi-Fi was iffy but I think that was because we were the last unit from the office and you are on vacation so you shouldn't be spending time computing. Did struggled to post pictures. The office was aware and tried to work on the issue. Speaking of the office, they were wonderful and very knowledge of the area giving suggestions of sites to visit. The only negative was the restaurant on site. In the 2 weeks we visited Quebec this was the most expensive meal we had and the rudest we were treated. While I realize that we were the outsiders and did not speak French this was the only place they did not try to help bridge the language issue - absolutely refused to help with the menu. Just stood there and glared at us. We ordered a carafe of wine - at other tables the servers would stop by and refill glasses - never at our table. My husband had to hold up his water glass for refill and she still ignored him. Finally he waved it and she reluctantly approached the table and we still had to ask for the refill. The food was okay but who could enjoy in that atmosphere. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed the Chalets sur le Fjord for two nights in early July 2013. We had a two bedroom cabin near the pool - I think it was number 10. It was on its own so we didn't have to worry about the kids jumping around and making noise. The cabin was on the road as opposed to many of the others which are perched on the hill. There's no traffic at night so it wasn't loud at all. The outdoor swimming pool was heated and there is also a whirlpool which was kept very hot. Our two kids spent hours in the pool. The cabin and pool area were clean. The kitchen in the cabin had all of the necessities and there is a small but surprisingly well stocked grocery store about 5 minutes away. The cabin was comfortable, if on the small side. The location can't be beat. We went out kayaking with fjord en kayak - highly recommended. You can walk across the road to the "beach", which is more like mud flats really, when the tide it out. Lots of fun for little ones as long as you don't worry about them getting dirty. The black flies were biting ferociously so bring your bug juice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Bon jour / Hello!

I booked our first stay at Chalets sur le Fjord in 2003, after we read about the Saguenay Fjord and L'Anse St. Jean. Our son was 6 years old, and we were looking for a place that we could all enjoy. What a find! (At that time, the name was "Les Gites du Fjord".)

We stayed for a week in August, and had a great time. The condo was in excellent condition, the staff was very helpful, and the restaurant was nice. Saguenay Fjord is spectacular and the hiking and recreation opportunities were great -- so we booked return trips in 2005 and 2007. We are about to book our fourth trip, this time to see the fjord in winter.

This is a magical part of the world, not to be missed. A few tips:

> Cottages: We stayed in one of the cottages by chance during our first visit -- and returned to a cottage on every trip. Located near the pool on the western side, each cottage is half of a small building, overlooking the Fjord, with nice views, room for a family and a full kitchen. They are more private than the 'Condotel' units. (We have not tried the newer 'homes'.) This is one area where Chalets sur le Fjord could improve their website; they provide many photos of the interiors, but it is difficult to get a sense for the exteriors, location and grounds.

> Patissere Louise: This famous and very authentic bakery is just down the road. Be sure to stop and pick up a few treats, plus fresh bread for the morning.

> Épicerie Amyro: My wife likes to cook, and this little market in L'Anse St-Jean was great.

> Fjord-du-Saguenay National Park: Wow! This National Park is a treasure, with great hiking trails. Excellent visitor center, very friendly and knowledgeable staff - and beautiful, with vast forests along the Fjord and trails around Cap Trinité. See: www.sepaq.com/pq/sag/

> Fjord en Kayak: Another Wow! After you are amazed by the beauty of the Fjord, Imagine being out on the water in the middle of it! Even if you have never kayaked before, you will have a great time. No experience or physical prowess required. They also offer extended trips with camping on the other side of the Fjord. Their office is a short and easy walk from the Chalets.

I hope all of this info is helpful -- and have a great time!

Mark Hays
Wayland, MA USA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went there during winter for a day of ski at Mont-Edouard.

We had a reservation for a "condo" unit, we were to but the unit could fit 2 couples (a bed in the couch).

The value for us was very good because we had a Groupon that include the room and the chairlift fees.

The unit was very clean with a complete kitchen, a fireplace and a beautiful view on the small cabin used for snow fishing.

I would definitely recommend this place, but make sure to get the information about the rental fee because has I mentioned before, we had a groupon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I took a day off to visit this area between Charlevoix and Lac Saint Jean and found a place I will
never forget.A nice and quiet bay with a beautiful view on the Saguenay fjord and a nice chalet and condos complex with a super restaurant and a very nice terrace.Nothing to complain nice price for value, grat welcome for the staff and a very nice GM Mrs Harvey ready to help you if you need to do a walk look for a cruise ....very professional.

Room Tip: The studios are located around the restaurant easy to walk and we had a nice terrace with a beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets sur le Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets sur le Fjord

Address: 354, Saint-Jean-Baptiste, L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Les Gites du Fjord)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Chalets sur le Fjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Sur Le Fjord Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets sur le Fjord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.