We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I regretted to have stayed here for such a short spell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I regretted to have stayed here for such a short spell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here are my comments:

Pros:
+ Excellent location, just 2 minutes on foot to Interlaken West Station
+ Affordable price, and I was lucky to be assigned with a tremendous mountain view room
+ Very accommodating staff, the receptionist understands your needs quickly as soon as you ask for help
+ Breakfast, although low in variety, was of high quality. Croissant and steamed sliced potato are my favourite.
+ Hotel keeps two dogs which are cute and lovely
+ Room is spacious even for single occupant.
+ A supermarket (COOP) is just around the corner. (But it closes on Sunday)

Cons:
- WIFI was very poor. Even CHF5 charge is a rip-off.
- Room window is very close to the neighbouring balcany. Privacy is an issue.
- Wooden floor is noisy particularly during peak hours.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a mountain view room. Don't use their WIFI, try other means to get online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    21
    18
    18
See reviews for
24
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Unless you plan to spend an EXTRAORDINARY amount of time IN the hotel room, this is a great place to stay. It's convenient to restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, a riverside walking path, Interlaken WEST train station, and buses serving several area routes.

I've stayed there twice, for 4-5 days several years ago, and again for 4 days this very month: June, 2013. Found it to be a great spot the first time I stayed there; and still a great spot. Rooms have always been clean, neat, and those on the front of the hotel offer guests a portion of the Jungfrau group as the farthest-distant vista. What a sight from an open hotel-front window or a balcony on the front of the building: the peaks go from snowy-white to dusky blue to blue-pink-red as the sun sets on a clear day. The hotel has been there a long time; it feels in tune with an earlier era and yet it has modern conveniences too. It's exactly my cup of tea. The breakfasts were good; several choices of both hot and cold items, and the coffee was GREAT. On my first visit I was traveling with my husband of 40+ years; the most recent time I was with my two youngest granddaughters, ages 22 and 15. The kids also liked the hotel and the location; enjoyed the shopping and restaurants nearby after our daytime mountain-peak excursions AND a very interesting day at Ballenberg outdoor park/museum of Swiss history. That's a great family day, by the way; lots of animals, all kinds of structures to visit and see how people in this part of the world lived over the past few centuries, craftsmen at work, enjoy a great dinner that includes the beloved "rosti" potatoes ... Interlaken and the Hotel Central Continental both remind me of time travel ... would go back to both places in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There was no mention of a pool and I think it would be very UNLIKELY that the hotel has one, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Central Continental Hotel, Interlaken with our 2 children and booked a quadraple room. The location of the hotel was next to the Interlaken West station which was extremely convenient with our baggage. The room was a double bedroom with 2 balconies and excellent views of the mountains and river. Very comfortable and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms with 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We walked out of interlaken west rly station onto the road,turned left, walked a few yards along the rly platform,crossed the rail line, then the stream , and there it was standing right in front. In between two streams, one fast flowing another slow.pl ask for a corner room with two balconies. Check in is at 2pm, check out at 12pm. When I opened the balcony doors, my god, what a breathtaking site of the Alps. Out of the world. Beautiful surroundings, flowers,streams. Breakfast, though not a very good spread, but ok. They serve it quite early. Since rly stn and bus stand are stone's throw away, one can plan accordingly. Pl carry swiss francs as in switzerland euro is not much in use and the exchange rate is not good.food is quite expensive. Just behind the hotel there is COOP where you can buy chocolates(cheap) and provisions for making burgers on your own, good cup noodles(you can get the hot water in the dining room allthe time).there is a store called AVEC on one side of the rly stn where you can get burgers but COOP works out cheaper. Pl remember that most shops close at 6pm. There is achinese restaurant on the ground fllor of the hotel. Staff were nice. Found them shopping for the hotel also at COOP. The view from the balcony will take your breath away. We went in the middle of october 2012.
P

Room Tip: Please choose a corner room which has view of both the streams. We had a master bed and two other be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and saw real potential, however the good aspects were easily forgotten for some negatives. We arrived and were nicely told that we could not check in until two and we could leave our luggage. We were told to leave our luggage in the reception foyer in the corner, which I was not especially comfortable with but as we had four suitcases we had little choice. Had I known the staff completely disappear from 12-2 I would not have left them there, as any one could have taken them.

Our room was lovely, but was made up for four people which was why we had the larger size. We also had a great view of the mountain which was great. The room had a really large balcony with nice outdoor furniture. The bathroom was quite big too.

Breakfast was appalling, with microwaved eggs cut up to look like scrambled eggs and everything else crudely put in large bowls. We ate scarcely there, not trusting much. We also noticed that the same people on reception were serving breakfast, as well as cleaning.

Perhaps the biggest turn off of the hotel was the staff who looked like they were strip club owners (just downstairs- gross!). They were large, burley men who never smiled and walked around in a intimidating manner. Hardly a good front of service for a hotel, and did nothing to make us feel like it was a quality hotel.

Room Tip: View of the mountain and not the other side where the strip club is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel looks so photogenic in the web. This is one reason why we chose this hotel, beside it's above-than-average review. The picture was not a lie. This hotel looked really nice from the outside. We had a triple balcony room. And we had a very nice view of the Alps from the balcony. Checking in was smooth, parking was easy. The room was big and clean, but looked dated. The bathroom looked old and needed more lighting. The hotel corridor was so dim, combined with it's dated carpet, made the feel of old 80's. The breakfast was a good point here. Not lots of choices, but we had one of the tastiest Omelettes ever provided in hotel breakfast.
We could walk to the shopping area nearby. Such a lovely town, very recommended to visit for skiing, sightseeing and relaxation.
Pros: Big room, nice view, and prime location
Negatives: a bit expensive and dated

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Actually, staying in Interlaken is like dreaming of heaven, specially when you look over those Alps mountains from a room in this hotel, the location is more than perfect, just on the river & 5 minutes from the train station (Interlaken West) & these stunning small streets are decorated with those beautiful shops.
The staff were really so friendly & cooperative, but the breakfast was nothing, mainly juices & some bread and butter, in addition there's no body to help for transferring the baggage.
Our room was double with balcony, somehow the furniture was old, they accepted cash payment in US$, it was really the best city i've visited ever, and i will do it again but with extended period not less than a week.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view on the Jangfrauch mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.