We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a favorite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Central Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not a favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to visit Interlaken. The hotel only has internet in the lobby, and even then not always. Breakfast was meager, no frills for sure. The rooms were old but not uncomfortable. The staff was very nice. The hotel is centrally located with a easy walk to all parts of town. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the 'Cabaret' in the lower level. I stopped by to get a glass of wine for the room, clearly as a women I wasn't their intended customer. Quickly given some wine and chased out by the Russian woman bartender. Would I stay here again? Probably not, but if the price is right, maybe I'd give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
22
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was a little hesitating to book this hotel as the reviews on tripadvisor were not very positiv.. But we have not found other ones avaiable with reasoable price.

The only great thing of this hotel is location. Very close to the West station and the you might have good view from room if you are lucy.

The room is quite old, and many things should have been updated but not yet. The room is very small, so you might be hit by furnitures, doors when you turn around without paying attention. Breakfast is ok, but nothing special. The night club there did not really disturb us.

The staff is unattentive und not helpful. As the hotel accomodates a lot of tourist groups, so the staff seems not be really care about individual guests.

Should be noted that the receiption is not occupied during the mid-noon (12:00-2:00pm if I remember correctly), and you might have problems if you want to check-out or get your luggage out at that time.

If you have other choices, avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Small room, no internet in the room - just in the lobby after u pay SFR 5. They even charge for extra towels or ice or anything extra. Parking is SFR 8. We stayed there 3 nights and the breakfast was exactly the same all 3 mornings, and very basic. No fresh fruits or fresh juices. Rooms were cleaned everyday but the quilt covers were left unchanged and fresh towels were kept on toilet seat ......are you serious ? TV was as big as my son's first toy laptop with no ENGLISH CHANNEL. The corridor had sensory lights so once u get our of ur room, till u reach the elevator, it was absolutely dark, no matter what hour of the day it was.
The biggest advantage was the LOCATION of this hotel.....few steps from INTERLAKEN WEST station ( a bus ride to INTERLAKEN OST station which takes you to Jungfraujoch). Steps from the main street. Also the staff at the reception were polite and helpful.
We got a room with no view at all but that was not a problem as we were out all the time.
Oh yes, how can I forget the tour buses loaded with Chinese tourists arriving at the hotel to check in everytime we entered the hotel. The lobby was always flooded with Chinese tourists.
All in all an average hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and you will be asked to pay more. Ask for the hotel pass which provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The location is the only thing great about this Hotel, a stones throw from Interlaken west station. Our experience hasn't been the best at this hotel. The staff is unhelpful, rooms are in a desperate need of renovation, uncomfortable beds, wifi does't work even though you are charged for it, proper toileteries & towels are not provided. the breakfast is the worst i've had, served as though they were doing guests a favor. I would not recommend this hotel to any travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I had booked balcony room at this hotel for three days through Booking.com, when I arrived they said they don't have any balcony room available. When moved upstairs, they have very horrible, smelly corridors with little light. Rooms are also not maintained, even I noticed they were not doing cleaning properly, they were just coming and changing quilt sheets, at one instance I found they had put very old and torn quilt covers. Every day the breakfast was same, very cheap crockery, multiple color, size and design of plates, glasses and cups were there, no symmetry at all. For the first day I had breakfast there but for rest of the two days I had my breakfast outside the hotel. The staff is very hard and rude, at one instance once of the Indian lady asked about the sugar to the old lady working at the hotel, probably she is wife to the old owner of this hotel, she said "sugar is already on your table, go and re-check it (with a pointed finger)." I found receptionist washing dishes in the morning at breakfast time and a tall & healthy guy, replenishing food dishes was also doing sweeping and other cleaning jobs parallel to this. None of the staffs smile at guests or answer friendly. Last day, I saw the old lady, the owner’s wife, picking her nose in centre of the dining hall and also the receptionist was vacuum cleaning. The hotel interior is really horrible and smelly, so I would recommend you guys not to stay there at any cost, only the location of the hotel is prime otherwise it's JUNK.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere in Interlaken but not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

this has to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. the lobby is in a pathetic shape. the owner acts as a part time front office and is amazingly rude. The rooms are very plain and ordinary. very dimly lit with absolutely no amenities. my tv was an old 14 inches which could not be viewed from the bed.
special words for the breakfast: even my dog would not eat it. bread loaf and cereals just thrown across the table. stale bread and nutella. overcooked too salty beacon and sausages. scrambled egg looked a week old. when i gently asked the owner if we could have a little palatable breakfast, he retorted " i think i will have to arrange a cook for you' my god! it should be ranked last amongst all the hotels in the world.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is bang opposite hotel Interlaken West station, hence very convinient. Starting with a small drawback, you will have to climb some stairs to reach the lobby level. So, it might be quite a task for people with lots of luggage. The reception area and the lobby level is very well maintained and has a nice decorum. The waiting and sitting area at the lobby level is also huge and has a big LCD screen, which makes waiting pleasant. The room size is also nice. We got a room from which we could view the lake as well as Interlaken West station. The view from this room was breath taking. The rooftop garden is also very good, offering a great scenic view. The courtsey of the staff at reception was average. THe restaurant and bar are quite good, serving some great specialities. Overall, based on beautiful and accessable location, the hotel is very good

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.