We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beausite to your Saves list
Hotel Beausite
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Murten, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in January for a Saturday night and booked it through Laterooms.com. so got ourselves an absolute bargain.
The room was perfect with a bath and shower. Ask for Room 9.
The hotels holds a buffet brunch on Sunday which is served through until 1pm so not to much of an early start and all you can eat...as breakfast lovers this was fabulous for us and all included in our bargain price.
Wonderful location within walking distance of all the shops of Interlaken briliant views of the mountains which are all within easy striking distance.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Clare,
thank you very much for your comments on our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return many times.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Max and Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    128
    30
    8
    12
See reviews for
99
163
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bearsted, Maidstone, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just spent 10 days in this Hotel - our second visit in 10 months and our 20th visit overall. Rooms have been redecorated and refurnished with new televisions and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. View was fantastic as was the food. Max and Imi are gracious hosts looking after our every need. Sunday Champagne Brunch is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Linda,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
It is always a pleasure having you!
Looking forward to the next time.
Yours,
Max & Imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hotel has a very rustic and old world charm to it, however the rooms could use some work to be made a little more comfortable. The staff is very warm and freidnly and adds to the small city charm. The breakfast bas a good spread and very nice selection, the view of the mountains by the window adds to the meal. As expected the hotel is very well connected with the rail station approx 5 mins walk and the bus stop about 1 mins walk from the front gate. The Staff we very helpful in directing us to various adventure sports companies, we eventually did para sailin a absolute must and they have a pickup from the hotel. There is a good variety of food choices with the city being small and can be covered on foot.

Room Tip: Choose the front view rooms with a view of the mountain and confirm communication.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Kaushikchatt,
thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We are glad you had a good overall experience and appreciate you noticing our efforts.
Your and other reviewers comments are very important to us. that is why in late fall of last year we took action.
It is our pleasure to inform you that from October to December of 2011, all our rooms were completely renovated and we are confident that the next time you visit us your comfort will even be better.
Yours,
Max & imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited this hotel in october and its situated 5 minutes walk from Rly station and has an beautiful view . Weather was very nice , rooms are very good and staff is very helpful and helped us in every thing. Breakfast is also very nice with coffee, tea and cookies in the evening complimentary.

Room Tip: Take a front view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Ashish,
thank you very much for your kind comments about our property.
We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant.
We look forward to having you again.
Yours,
Max & Imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The staff were all very pleasant, the breakfast was good, our room was clean, basic, what you'd expect from an older hotel. This hotel is close to the Interlaken East train station so we were able to walk from the hotel back to the train station when it was time to leave. When we arrived Interlaken, we got off at Interlaken West train station so had to take a taxi to the hotel. We learned you can catch the train at either station. I assume you can also get off at either station. Side note: We found a great restaurant just steps away called Restaurant Baren. We had the weiner schnitzel and it was excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Sunshine,

thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad you you did enjoy your stay and hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant.
It is a pleasure to inform you that we have renovated all our rooms late last year and we are looking forward to impressing you during your next stay.

Yours,

Max & Imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Me and my husband stayed in this chic and friendly hotel. We went with a little trepidation because of some reviews in trip advisor. But we were pleasantly surprised to find this small hotel on a quiet road. It is 5 minutes from the station and the shopping and eating places. We were in room number 29. We had a beautiful from the window.the room was decorated with pleasant cclors. The staff is quite friendly.wi.fi.is.avaiable free in the rooms. The restaurant menu appeared good though we didn't eat there.we would like to stay here if we go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Umanil,

Thank you very much for your comment!
we would love to have you back sometime.

Kindest regards,

Max & Imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

First of all, let me clarify, majority of the staff in this hotel are great and friendly, it was only an issue with one particular reception staff that made me hate this hotel forever. When we first came in, the arrogant lady at the reception made a big fuss and was sarcastic when i simply asked if i can check-in early (we were 1 hour early) since we had a long journey. If a hotel says "no" nicely , as a frequent traveler i understand the policies they might have, instead she firmly refused it (although i asked once) and made sarcastic comments about us coming early, and told us to wait for the check-in time (although later i found out from other staff that the hotel was empty !! ) . We waited, and while doing so i asked her about the sites in Inter-laken, she wasn't helpful at all and just told me "take the map and read it this is not new york city" ! Truly Pathetic & unprofessional response ! The good part is i only dealt with this particular staff member on my first day, on the other days of my stay there was a different lady at the reception who was great.

Now to the room, while spacious, was very old and in desperate need of renovation. The bed was not comfortable, old used up pillows, the carpets were stained, dirty and dusty, the washroom's tap wasn't working (had to be fixed).

Food was below average, Breakfast selection was garbage, there so called "brunch" was pathetic.

Obviously this hotel charges alot, but at the same time tries to maximize their profits but providing terrible services. The only Good part that i can say was the VIEWS, the views are truly breathtaking and you get a perfect view of interlaken and mt JungFrau.

Yes, i am aware there are many positive reviews in Tripadvisor, but this is my experience, and my advise is, if you can avoid this hotel please do so , there are many better hotels around interlaken that is worth your money and who would provide you with a good service.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel to get a good room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear walkingtheearth,

We do appreciate your comments and are very sorry that you had such a bad experience in our hotel.

While we understand some of your comments about the older and outdated rooms (we took action on that and renovated all our rooms in fall of 2011), it is inexplicable to us that you you were treated so unprofessionally and rudely upon your arrival.
We as the owning couple get so many positive comments about our staff, that we cannot understand what happened to you, and it makes us hope you are confusing us with a different hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies.

We do hope that you might reconsider, give us a second chance and that your next review of our property will be the one of another satisfied guest.

Yours,
Max & Imi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Address: Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausite Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beausite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.