We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldey to your Saves list
Hotel Goldey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice as I was so impressed by the excellent service and can do attitude of the staff. The hotel is an easy few minutes from the centre of Interlaken and has private parking right outside. The rooms are functional, comfortable and often have personal touches such as welcome cards/treats.

As both my stays have been one night visits I cannot comment on how it would be for anyone staying longer but I expect it would be up to the same standard as I have come to expect from Hotel Goldey. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, and have just returned.
The hotel is excellently situated and the staff most friendly.
The rooms were spotless and one of us had a panoramic view of the town with the Jungfrau smiling at us each morning!
The breakfast was generous and would cause many a five star hotel to blush.
Wlan was free. The signal strength varied in the room but was good in the public areas.
All questions regarding trips were answered in a friendly and helpful way and bicycles were provided free of charge.
We have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Goldey. A five star hotel is simply not necessary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udfreutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Hotel. It is a good 15 minute walk from the Interlaken West station and could be challenging if you have large suitcases in tow. We had an Aare River view room, which made sitting on the balcony so relaxing and enjoyable. You also get a good view of the Jungfrau and of the many paragliders making their way down from the mountains. The many positives include (1) very good breakfast buffet, (2) afternoon snacks in the lobby, (3) very helpful front desk staff, where mountain rail tickets can also be purchased, (4) 15 minute walk to the Interlaken Ost station, where many excursions to the mountains begin, (5) small fruit basket on day of arrival and cookies given us on checkout, (6) nicely prepared dinner served in the dining room, (7) peaceful and scenic walks on the river promenade where we fed the ducks and swans. The negatives included (1) bathroom had extremely small shower stall and very little counter space, (2) 5 to 7 minute walk to main downtown area which can be challenging when it rains heavily. I don't want to accuse the Hotel of bed bugs, but my wife and I did find some bumps on our arms and legs on our last day, which were later diagnosed by our doctor as bed bug bites. As to whether these occurred at Goldey or at a previous hotel, we do not know. Since we didn't know they were bed bug bites, we never reported it to the Hotel.

Will certainly return to Goldey on a future visit to Interlaken.

Room Tip: A river view room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berniel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we spent three nights in this hotel when we participated Jungfrau marathon. Staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. Never met this friendly staff anywhere. Rooms are ok, rather modest but clean. Location of the hotel is very good: it is close to city center, but yet in a quiet and beautiful location, just next to river. If we ever again travel to Interlaken we will book this hotel. Additionally,the hotel had many parking lots although the tourist office adviced us not to arrive by car since there isn't parking space in Interlaken....

Room Tip: ask for the room facing to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited during a warm spell, so understandably, the room was a bit too hot. I guess not many Swiss hotels would bother investing in aircon! The bathrooms need an overhaul - even the grouting and bath panels look a bit grubby. The wifi in the rooms rarely worked for the entire 3-day stay. Plus, the bar shuts at ~11pm, so you get kicked out of the only place in the hotel with working wifi at that point.
The view from the room was stunning (apart from the dreadful monolithic tower block in the town) and the river Aare is a beautiful blue. However, there are many clean cheap places in Interlaken, and unless you plan on using the balcony function of the room (which we definitely did on this trip) it would be cheaper to stay elsewhere.
Staff were very polite and if you have time, the free use of the pool seems like it would be a good experience.

Room Tip: The view south is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK1cardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hotel Goldey is all about location. The hotel is actually in the quiet town of Unterseen, right next to Interlaken (but only 15 minutes from the Interlaken railway station). Our room had a balcony with a view of the Jungfrau and the river. We spent hours on that balcony during our six day visit. The room itself was simple, but it was always immaculate.
We were never hungry. The breakfast was huge with plenty of options. Afternoon coffee and tea included a choice of sweets, and the hotel greeted us with a fruit basket.
The staff was very helpful when it came to planning excursions, buying extra tickets for the train, and packing lunches (delicious and very inexpensive by Swiss standards).
We want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rooms were not large, but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. All rooms have balconies with amazing views of the river and the Jungfrau. The staff was very friendly and obliging. The location is excellent, if you like walking. It's a quiet neigborhood, since it is in Unterseen, abut it is a short walk to restaurants and the train station (~0.5 mile.)

Only 2 drawbacks: (1) WiFi internet is not not very strong in the rooms, so one usually needs to go to the bar/lounge to use the free WiFi. However, late at night, when no one is using the WiFi, I was able to get good internet access in my room. (2) the bridge on which trains cross the river is about 500 feet down the river from the hotel. You hear all the trains go by. I did not mind this, and slept through the noise even with the balcony door open. However, this may bother some people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#5 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing