We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel - great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldey

Save Saved
You added Hotel Goldey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Goldey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel - great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we spent three nights in this hotel when we participated Jungfrau marathon. Staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. Never met this friendly staff anywhere. Rooms are ok, rather modest but clean. Location of the hotel is very good: it is close to city center, but yet in a quiet and beautiful location, just next to river. If we ever again travel to Interlaken we will book this hotel. Additionally,the hotel had many parking lots although the tourist office adviced us not to arrive by car since there isn't parking space in Interlaken....

Room Tip: ask for the room facing to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    106
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
138
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited during a warm spell, so understandably, the room was a bit too hot. I guess not many Swiss hotels would bother investing in aircon! The bathrooms need an overhaul - even the grouting and bath panels look a bit grubby. The wifi in the rooms rarely worked for the entire 3-day stay. Plus, the bar shuts at ~11pm, so you get kicked out of the only place in the hotel with working wifi at that point.
The view from the room was stunning (apart from the dreadful monolithic tower block in the town) and the river Aare is a beautiful blue. However, there are many clean cheap places in Interlaken, and unless you plan on using the balcony function of the room (which we definitely did on this trip) it would be cheaper to stay elsewhere.
Staff were very polite and if you have time, the free use of the pool seems like it would be a good experience.

Room Tip: The view south is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hotel Goldey is all about location. The hotel is actually in the quiet town of Unterseen, right next to Interlaken (but only 15 minutes from the Interlaken railway station). Our room had a balcony with a view of the Jungfrau and the river. We spent hours on that balcony during our six day visit. The room itself was simple, but it was always immaculate.
We were never hungry. The breakfast was huge with plenty of options. Afternoon coffee and tea included a choice of sweets, and the hotel greeted us with a fruit basket.
The staff was very helpful when it came to planning excursions, buying extra tickets for the train, and packing lunches (delicious and very inexpensive by Swiss standards).
We want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms were not large, but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. All rooms have balconies with amazing views of the river and the Jungfrau. The staff was very friendly and obliging. The location is excellent, if you like walking. It's a quiet neigborhood, since it is in Unterseen, abut it is a short walk to restaurants and the train station (~0.5 mile.)

Only 2 drawbacks: (1) WiFi internet is not not very strong in the rooms, so one usually needs to go to the bar/lounge to use the free WiFi. However, late at night, when no one is using the WiFi, I was able to get good internet access in my room. (2) the bridge on which trains cross the river is about 500 feet down the river from the hotel. You hear all the trains go by. I did not mind this, and slept through the noise even with the balcony door open. However, this may bother some people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday, staying 3 nights as guests at this fantastic hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly and really made our stay great. The rooms were clean and tidy and the food scrumptious. The front of house staff all spoke very good English. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location with views...of mountainous region it is situated in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Straight away I was very impressed by the proffesional manner of the reception staff,very pleasant from the moment we walked throught the door.

Without asking we were upgraded to a better room,which meant we had tremendous views of the whole area.

The welcoming card was a nice touch.

Witihin ten minutes of being in our room,there was a knock at the door and of the receprion staff brought us a bowl of chilled fruit,Just perfect..

The Breakfast food was plentiful and always being topped up.

Without a shadow of a doubt,we will go back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday, staying 6 nights as guests at this fantastic hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly and really made our stay great. The rooms were clean and tidy and the food scrumptious. The front of house staff all spoke very good English. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location with views of the Jungfrau seen from the balconies of rooms with a river facing view, (It's worth asking for that when booking), and is within easy walking distance of Interlaken town centre and both railway stations. When dealing with tricky food allergies in our family the staff dealt with everything without fuss or bother but with kindness and thought. If there was anything we wanted to know about the area or any aspect of our holiday the staff were very willing and able to help, including booking a trip up The Jungfrau using technology in the hotel to help us book the best day and provide the necessary tickets. The quality of food in the restaurant was excellent, although it was a table d'hote menu with a fixed main course, parrticular requests about diet were dealt with brilliantly and there was a good starter buffet and choice of desserts each day.
There was no swimming pool at the hotel but free vouchers were available on request for either the indoor or outdoor pool just a few minutes walk along the side of the river.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the river have exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldey 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.