We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking view from patio garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldey to your Saves list
Hotel Goldey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breath taking view from patio garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Goldey. Staff was nice, speak fluent english, easy to converse. Room was good size, bathroom was clean, had all the amenities and beds were comfortable. The best part was the breakfast room and the outdoor patio. Could see the mountain peaks, the river and enjoy good Swiss breakfast with fresh baked bread, home made jam and honey, meat, coffee and desserts and last but not the least delicious Swiss cheese.
It was a 10min walk from the rail station, not bad at all if u can manage to carry or roll your own bags or rent a taxi cab.
We also walked to the town center of interlaken from Goldey.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    122
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
156
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Goldey for 3 nights at the end of September, 2012. It is located on the banks of the River Aare, affording it very scenic views of Interlaken and the mountain ranges in the distance. Try to specify a room overlooking the river as the view is well worth it.

Although it is not a large town, we still had a bit of difficulty with the signage to the hotel the first time. Once we got there, though, we were happy with our choice. Check-in was efficient. There is a ramp beside the front stairs for those with a lot of luggage or who are mobility-impaired. The elevator goes to every floor. The room was very clean and modern. And, as I said before, the view from the balcony was - Wow!
Water pressure and hot water were very good.

We had breakfast in the restaurant/bar every morning. It had a good variety, including a couple of hot options such as eggs and meat. Everything was fresh and coffee was made to order by the very attentive wait staff. We did not have dinner at the hotel, so can't comment on it.

There are two or three nice restaurants within walking distance on the Unterseen side of the river, including a good Italian one called Citta Vecchia. Walking to the Inkerlaken side, where most of the shops are, takes about 10 minutes. There is a very scenic path along both sides of the river that is perfect for strolling. We walked all the way to the train station along the river one morning, about 25 min. away.

If you are driving to the hotel, there is free parking out front. For excellent views, take the elevator to the top floor meeting room which has a wrap-around balcony from where you can take amazing pictures.

The only thing that raised our eyebrows was the quality of the WiFi. From our 3rd floor room, the WiFi was almost non-existent on any device, even though there were two routers to choose from. We would have to go down to the lobby to get good WiFi reception (which was not a totally bad thing as that was where the bar was!). In truth, though, good WiFi in hotel rooms is expected by most travellers these days so this is one thing that needs to be improved.

The front desk was extremely helpful in getting us train tickets for our trip up the Jungfrau. They were able to save us some money on the tickets.

Check-out was very quick and there were no surprises. All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room on the river side is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon and were so impressed by this little gem! We chise hotel goldey for its positive reviews and we are happy we did. Located on the other side of the river it is about 5 mins walk into the main district (and a picturesque walk day and night!) the hotel was lovely, clean and quiet. The staff were all very helpful and friendly any time we had questions (and all spoke excellent English which helped!), the breakfast was great each morning and we had the pleasure of enjoying free coffee and cake each afternoon which was a little delight as the sitting area overlooks gorgeous mountains. We didn't want to leave it was such a wonderful stay, thank you hotel goldey!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of September 2012.
The location is exactly what we like – not in the middle of the crowd but on the river bank, couple of minutes from the center. The hotel has a very convenient parking for tourist like us arriving with a car.
The room was nice and clean with a balcony and an amazing sunny view of the river, the city and the Jungfrau
The staff was so nice and so friendly in a way we couldn’t forget.
When we arrived they told us about their afternoon complimentary coffee and cake in the lounge. We took some coffee and were sitting outside looking at the magnificent view. Life seemed to be very nice.
Next morning we had a good breakfast looking watching the view outside (cloudy this time).
During our stay we were using also the hotel free of charge Wi-Fi.
When we left the staff told us that the hotel was celebrating its birthday and gave us a box with chocolates candies for the way.
We will be back !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Why indeed! This was my 6th visit in as many years.

The location is ideal----5-10 minutes away from the town, on bank of the River Aare, views towards Jungraujoch...so idyllic.

We always go half-board as the evening meal is such good value. You wouldn't get a three course meal in town which includes additional helpings of the main course.

The standard of customer service is second to none. Nothing ever seems too much effort for the restaurant, reception or housekeeping staff.

If you want; bathrobes, air-conditioning, silver service, fluffy towels and caviar..then go and pay 5 star prices at the 5 star Victoria Hotel.

If you want; good service at a keen price, views that are an envy of certain other establishments, staff that treat you as an individual...then this is the place for you.

Will be making my 2013 booking in January.

Room Tip: South, east or west aspects provide best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I chose this hotel based on other reviews I saw on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. Location was great, beautiful view from our room and very attentive and helpful staff. An easy walk from downtown as well as the Interlaken Ost train station. Room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice 3 star hotel. It is away from the main tourist area but just a five minutes walk. Staff is friendly and helpful. Trains are close and noisy but quiet down after 10 pm. Rooms on the river has the great view but on the back side is quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.