We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, lovely room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldey to your Saves list
Hotel Goldey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fab location, lovely room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Even though we had a special rate for 2 nights with "groupon", everything was just perfect! We got given a lovely large room on the south side of the hotel. Bed very comfy, a lot of TV channels available, tea and coffee facilities and a large wardrobe with a mirror.
Small bathroom but absolutely fine. 3 course dinner was included and tasted very nice. The breakfast was good too with croissants, bacon, mushrooms, different types of bread and cereals. Location by the river and very close to town. Would come here anytime again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    122
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
156
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Hotel Goldey. The location is perfect to explore the area. Interlaken is lively and is just 10 mins away by walk. We stayed in the superior room and it was just adequate to fit in a rollaway bed for our 6 yr old son. Breakfast was very good and so was the service. We loved the home made jams and the freshly baked breads, Evening tea was a convenience although charging 3.5 chf for milk for our son was too petty (We had paid 40 chf per night for his bed and food already)
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't look further, you will enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We found the centre of Interlaken a bit too touristy- many of the shops full of groups- and it is obviously high on the itinerary of bustling Japanese and Chinese tours. But the Goldey, quietly situated by the river, perhaps 5 minutes walk along residential streets to the centre, and about 8, max 10 mins from both West and Ost stations, is in just the right location. Worth paying for a front facing (river side) room as you get a great view of the Jungfrau, weather permitting of course - only a touch marred by the ugly tower block of the Metropole Hotel. The staff were as friendly and as helpful as you would wish- really pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was perfectly adequate, and quite an offering of local and home made produce available. Free WiFi through the hotel, and a nice touch - tea/coffee and cakes served from 3pm to 5pm is you are not out sampling the wonderful scenery and outdoor options in this lovely region. A bowl of fruit in the room too, as well as a surprise leaving present. We were made to feel very valued guests by everyone.

The only reasons for not marking this with a score of 5 were firstly that the bathroom was indeed small. It was prefectly functional, clean but rather cramped, including a very small shower cubicle. Secondly, though experiencing remarkably warm weather for March (18C in the day) the room was indeed warm to hot, so much so we slept with the balcony door open one night. In March! But that meant that the traffic noise across the nearby railway bridge was quite intrusive. Of course A/C is not very common in European hotels, and having fresh mountain air as an option is a bonus indeed.

But these are relatively minor points - our overall experience was very good to excellent, and I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Goldey.

Room Tip: We were allocated- without asking - a 4th floor room. Definitely a bonus for view and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Even if the Goldey is a 3 stars hotel, the service is really nice. It's quit easy to compare to a 5 stars hotel.
The breakfast is just amazing, lots of regional products and the atmosphere is perfect!
Unfortunately we don't remember the name of the blonde lady from the front desk, but she is just a wonderful person. She could help us and our Brazilian friends in a perfect way!
Thank you so much for the nice weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

we have stayed twice in the same hotel, its really beautiful,cozy which have wonderful view, in in the centre of the interlaken OST and WEST stations, 8 minutes walk, but you will enjoy it as its on the river side, if you stay just near to the station you will miss the beauty of this place. hotel has very cozy rooms even have family rooms, hot breakfast..friendly staff, free internet at lobby, its really amazing.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony facing to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent CHF235 for a 2 nights stay which is happening right now. As I sat here, I have already killed 7 flying insects in the 2 nights (and given that we do not stay in alot, we typically only get back to the hotel after 9pm, I think 7 insects are too much!). The previous review is very right about the aircon, due to the lack of aircon, the room is very stuffy, not really hot as it has been rainy over these 2 days. We had to open the window to let some air in, thus that explains the insects. The other minus of the hotel is really the long walk from the Interlaken West station which is challenging when travelling with suitcases (especially in rainy weather) and also if you get back late at night, the street can be too quiet for "comfort".

The room itself is basic with pillows as soft and thin that one probably end up with a stiff neck the next morning. The bathroom is very basic with very narrow shower cubicle which I wonder how can it fit bigger people. My husband and I did not have a problem with it but just thought its too narrow for comfort. Breakfast is basic but sufficient and they have little nice touches of complimentary tea and cakes for teabreaks in the afternoon. The lady who checked us in is very helpful and friendly.

A final conclusion is that I would not stay here again due to a super long walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasKuchen, Manager at Hotel Goldey, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Bearbear911, thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Please note: It is very common in Switzerland to NOT have clima-controlled rooms. We love our fresh-mountain air and thats what tourists from all over the world come here for.
So we do encourage everyone to open the windows and take a deep breath.
As for the bugs, you do have to switch off the light when you open the windows at night.

The walk from the Interlaken West train station is exactly 800m and 8 minutes. Guests who don't want to walk along the river or have a lot of luggage usually take a taxi to the hotel.

We are very proud of our breakfast buffet as we have added to the typically swiss selection. In addition to various types of bread and croissants, home-made jams and honey, cereals, fresh fruit salad, joghurts, we also serve scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, cheese and cold-cut meats, as well as different types of juices.

Kind regards
Your Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

the manager of this hotel is lovely, very generous with her time, advice and attention...but the lack of ventilation made the rooms very warm at times and the dining room manager was rude to us. the bathroom shower was extremely small and the towels were thin, as well.
the views and location is terrific, but the issues really marred the overall experience...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.