We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citta Vecchia

Citta Vecchia
Untere Gasse 5, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
0041 33 822 17 54
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Unterseen
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were in Interlaken/Unterseen for 6 nights, and we ate here on 3 of them. We ordered a variety of different dishes, and everything was delicious. The staff were very charming and kind. There is outdoor seating on a quiet square in Unterseen, but inside the restaurant is also lovely. The restaurant is also kid-friendly, as we noted several families with young children enjoying themselves.
Not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Interlaken is expensive, but Citta Vecchia gives great value and wonderful Italian food. Their pizzas are classic. Their pastas are perfect. The salads are subtle. The fish are fresh, and the restaurant has a fist mixed grill that includes, prawns, squid, sole, etc.
Our family seldom repeats a restaurant on vacation, but we ate at Citta Vecchia twice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian in Unterseen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one, if not the best restaurant in beautiful Unterseen. Great indoor and outdoor seating, very attentive staff, super value wine list and a long list of fantastic pastas, all about $20. We felt like fritto misto as an appetizer, they didn't have it but voila....they made it for us....love that! My husband had the lasagna, I had the seafood linguine, tasted like the sea and perfectly al dente. Excellent value, would strongly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian food, best place we ate in Interlaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was the end of 10 days for us in Switzerland, and we wanted to close on a high note, which we did. The manager is from Sardinia, and he is very proud of it. The food was super--we had an eggplant lasagne and a lovely Barbera d'Asti. Service was not quick but that was fine. Very nice being on the square and out of the main hubbub of Interlaken.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Italian in Interlaken? You bet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sit outside and watch the hang gliders. Nice pasta dishes. Good pizza. Try the grilled vegetables. Good wines and grappa. Fun wait staff and owner. Locals eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citta Vecchia also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 

Been to Citta Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citta Vecchia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.