We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benacus

Benacus
Kirchgasse 15 | Kirchgasse 15, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
+41 33 821 20 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $107
Cuisines: Swiss, Bar, Fusion, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Benacus is a bar restaurant in the historic centre of Unterseen. It is a place where people meet for an aperitif, a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. The place has a stylish feel. The bar is the soul of a restaurant. The vaulted cellar at the Benacus, however, is full of special wines and its cosy atmosphere leaves an impression. The combination of a medieval building and a modern interior attracts a mixed clientele and makes the place feel relaxed, stylish and vibrant. Competent staff serve lunch and evening menus which change every day ? for example, at the 8-person table in the open show kitchen. Here diners can see for themselves the clever and straightforward methods used to prepare fresh seasonal dishes. The restaurant can accommodate 55 diners indoors and another 45 diners outdoors.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the best meals I have had... anywhere. And I never expected to find such a place in the Swiss Alps. Great service and atmosphere. But the food was tops! Strongly recommend you make reservations. I was a walk in at 5PM and it was booked but they accomodated me at the bar for a meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

we were looking up for a place to eat and this came up also the concierge at the Hotel (Victoria Jungfrau) recommended to us. It was either this one or another local one . WE chose this one as I much preferred modern looking place. We were told that normally this placed must be booked so the hotel did it for us. It is situated in the old part of the town rather nicer part than the busy shopping tourist area. We showed up half and hour than planned gave them our name and the girl (waitress/reception) smiled and asked where we would like to sit, the restaurant was not fulled that night so we got to choose the table ( in some restaurant they like to make decision for you) . The atmosphere was lovely...very trendy and the food was delicious...it was flavorful compared to s0 many bland tasting restaurants. We love it and were not at all disappointed in any way. The restaurant did not have english version menu though only in German so you have to reply on the girl to help you through it but it was fine. We enjoyed our dinner .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and surely the best in interlaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We have dined here during our stay in April and it was fantastic..lamp n fish dishes are fabulous ...cheese is fresh ..heard the chef is a celebrity and often appears in tv ..highly recommend this for food lovers ..
Service was excellent and Rita has taken very good care of us . Surely recommend this ..booking is must

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best in Interlaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After plenty of dinners in the terrible to mediocre range in Interlaken, this was a real breath of fresh air. We love Interlaken for its access to the outdoors - but not its restaurant scene. Fortunately, Benacus breaks the mold and gave us the opportunity to have a spectacular day skiing and a fabulous dinner to finish it off.

We decided on the "We Love" menu - a seven course tasting menu for CHF 85. Yes, it's expensive. And so is everything in Switzerland. But it was very much worth it. Everything was excellently done, the variety kept us guessing and service was chill and friendly. Oh, and the atmosphere was great as well - not just the building, but also the eclectic mix of people (felt like primary locals or regional tourists).

Five stars - and not just in Interlaken.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very stylish and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place was recommended to us by Claudia from the Lavendelhaus BnB in Wilderswil. It was a real gourmet-experience. Apperently the number-one place in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benacus also viewed

Unterseen, Interlaken
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benacus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.