We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place if you know whay youre getting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers

The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers to your Saves list
The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Spielmatte 8, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Falken & Backpacker Interlaken)   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent place if you know whay youre getting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for one night and found it alright. Not the nicest hostel ever and the room smelled a bit musty. Pillow wasnt the best but room was alright, bathroom was usuable and staff was helpful for information about interlaken. Definitely not a hotel and more of a backpackers place

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
11
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Spiders Crawling, torn curtains, bathroom ceiling leaking

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were in a room in the outside block of dorms/flats rather than in the rooms in the hostel.
Our room had 2 bunk beds, with a small gap between them. The room was fairly small but clean. You collect your clean sheets at check in.
In the communal part of the flat was a kitchen with settee and TV. I think there were 3 bedrooms in total which could potentially mean there is 12 people per dorm but we only saw a few people upstairs. The shared bathroom was clean and had a shower over the bath. There were no major problems for waiting for the bathroom but this may have been because the hostel wasn't fully booked.
The breakfast was good - toast, cereal, fruit, fruit juice and great coffee (not instant!!).
The bar was friendly, and had a good choice of drinks. The Interlaken lager was nice!
There is a table football machine and we were asked to play against a local man with a puppy that was let loose around the hostel.
Free wifi was available.
The hostel is close to Interlaken train station which is ideal as we were backpacking.
Overall - clean and friendly, only bad point is that you can't choose who you share a dorm with (he snored very loudly!!!!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Value for money compared to the swizz charges. Good room, enough space and really neat. Rest room and Kitchen were too good. No net (very limited though it was accessible from kitchen- adjust to the room itself). No locks for the lockers (u hav to carry your own)

And checkin time is 3:30 (so not possible before that to enter ur rooms). Lockers are provided outside (again no locks)

Overall extremely satisfied

Room Tip: Reach there before 11 or after 3:30PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Good accommodation but was so very disappointed with the customer service from 1 particular male receptionist in the morning.
We arrived around lunch time and find the hotel was closed! We knocked and this rude guy opened the door and said it's too early to check in and said check in opens at 3.30 pm. Didn't offer us to leave our huge backpacks in the hotel until we asked and he just told us to leave it at the front porch of its reception area.
Back late at night and a female receptionist checked us in.
The worst thing happened in the morning as we need to go before 7 am to rush to the train station for another destination.
But then, the door to the reception area was closed!!! We knocked and knocked and a guy inside rudely said that they will open at 7 am because he is preparing breakfast.
We explained that we need to go in a rush to catch our train but he just ignored and keep shouting rudely and told us to go back after 7!
Ridiculous! what kind of hotel (even a backpacker??) to refuse service to someone who would like to check out? Moreover, to catch a train??!!??!! ( We could have gone and just leave the key if only they didnt keep a deposit for the key. Unfortunately, we want our deposit back for the key!)
Finally, at 7 am (despite our attempts to knock and explained our situation for more than 15 minutes!), he opened the door and rudely checked us out. An effort which only took him few seconds!! WILL NOT GO BACK and AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed with Lazy Falken in March 2011 on my maiden trip to Switzerland. The best part is that the hotel is right in the middle of the town and walking distance from the Interlaken West station. I chose to stay in the quad dorm and found the place to be clean and well kept. They have free common internet access for their guests which was great to use to find info on the places around in case you have missed doing your trip research.

The breakfast is basic with juices, eggs, bread, corn flakes, milk, jams etc.
They have a kitchen where you can prepare your own lunch / dinner which is extremely helpful if you want to avoid eating out.

The staff was extremely helpful and had good tips on how I can plan my 2 days there.
As its near the Interlaken West station, you can get buses which goto Wilderswil, Lauterbrunnen, Thun etc. You can make Interlaken the hub if you plan to see Grindelwald, Jungfragoch, Schilthorn, Trummelbach falls etc

The bar at the hotel is well stocked and I spent a evening there with some good music and drinks. They have good DJs playing over the weekend and am sure its fun to be there.

The only disadvantage is that the check in time is late in the afternoon (arnd 3 pm)

I was very hapy with my stay here and hope you have a great stay as well !

Ciao,
Ravi

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The kitchen is outside of the building. Therefore, we couldnt use it in the bad weather while we couldnt eat inside the room. The heater didn't work well on 1st day of stay.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers

Address: Spielmatte 8, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Falken & Backpacker Interlaken)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falken And Backpacker Interlaken
Falken & Backpacker Interlaken Hotel Unterseen
The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers Interlaken, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.