We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisnacurran Country House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lisnacurran Country House B&B to your Saves list
Lisnacurran Country House B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Listullycurran Road, Dromore BT25 1RB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dromore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We used Lisnacurran over the course of a week as a base for our family for the duration of our son's wedding in Armagh and reception at Larchfield. Lynne and Jonathan could not have been more helpful - we were made to feel as if it was our own home with the advantage of someone else cooking our breakfasts, which were delicious! Despite being just off the main road, it felt secluded and very quiet, the children amongst us had the loan of toys and a garden play area and the house itself is beautifully decorated and furnished. We cannot recommend Lisnacurran highly enough - and it is close to Hillsborough for lovely pubs and restaurants. Would certainly make it the first port of call next time we're in Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: All beautiful, we loved the room with a separate bathroom and the barn is great for a self catering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
21
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here, together with other members of his family, as our base for a family wedding. Lisnacurran is a lovely B&B - very homely and clean - and Lynne and Jonathan are very welcoming and friendly. The "Ulster Fry" every morning was delicious! The only minor negative was that it was quite noisy first thing in the morning - we were woken up by doors banging and footsteps in other parts of the house - not a big issue at all though.

We would definitely recommend staying here, and would like to return in the future. It's a great location for getting out and about, and the self-catering barn that is attached to the B&B is fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon the Lisnacurran Country House and Barn on our recent trip, and found it to be a beautiful, relaxing stop on our hectic trip around Ireland. Lynne and Jonathan couldn't have been nicer, and sent us off on the rest of our trip refreshed and full from a great breakfast. We would definitely stay there again (and it is a very convenient place to stay between Dublin and Belfast).

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirchwood11, Owner at Lisnacurran Country House B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and took time to review we would love you to stay again, Lynne & Jonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Lynne and Jonathan are wonderful hosts, and their home is simply stunning. Everything was absolutely beautiful, from the bedroom to the sitting room to the dining room. I cannot even imagine how much time and money they put into restoring and decorating this lovely home. My parents and I only had a chance to stay for one night, but the three of us started talking about how we should have reserved more nights, the second we walked through the door. Lynne was very helpful and hospitable and made sure our stay was perfect. We loved sitting in the sitting room with a nice fire, watching TV and reading. Our rooms were also very comfortable with the best bathrooms we had while in Ireland. I wish I had access to that shower for my entire trip. If I was ever in Co. Down again I would stay at Lisnacurran without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirchwood11, Owner at Lisnacurran Country House B&B, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Antzona thank you for your kind words we do hope you will stay again Lynnex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here on a 4 day business trip, and found it to be in a perfect location for my work. I stayed in one of the self catering studios, with the added bonus of having a wonderful cooked breakfast every day. The house is so warm and welcoming, Lynne and Jonathan make you feel so welcome....and the free wifi was an added bonus! I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lisnacurran Country House B&B, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you Ann we hope to have you to stay again, it was a pleasure to have you, you have such a lovely morning sparkle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We found this accommodation very attracttive. The welcome was very frienddly the service perfect and the breakfast was almost out of this world, surpassing any other muti star hotel we stayed our during our visit to Ireland. We would highly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: We like the new stable units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lisnacurran Country House B&B, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Out of this world... Thank you so much I don't think I could do better than that! We have indeed been ever improving our popular cooked breakfast and the installation of an Aga has improved the flavours and is a healthier way of cooking, little is fried. I do hope you stay with us again, Lynne x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

LisnacurranB&B was our first night stay in Ireland and we can't say enough about the accommodations. The rooms were clean and spacious, however, it was the warm welcome we received that made it so special. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lisnacurran Country House B&B, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you Patricia,the welcome and meeting the lovely people passing through our home is the favourite part of my job I hope you stay with us again, Lynne x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisnacurran Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisnacurran Country House B&B

Address: 6 Listullycurran Road, Dromore BT25 1RB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Dromore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dromore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisnacurran Country House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisnacurran Country House B&B is centrally located in Northern Ireland, 5-10 mins from Lisburn, just a few yards off the Belfast to Dublin main A1 Dual Carriageway. The private guest Lounge has TV, DVD, library of DVDs, books, board games & magazines for guests to enjoy. Why not ask for the fire to be lit!There is also a PC & fax machine in the study for guest use. Modern Facilities include en-suite rooms, wireless internet broadband access & free view on plasma TVs in all bedrooms. Breakfast is a choice of cooked or continental, special requests can be made at time of booking. Just 2 miles from the pretty village of Hillsborough with a good selection of coffee shops, bars, and famous restaurants. Set in mature grounds and with an old style courtyard for guests to relax and enjoy. ****NEW****self Catering 3 bedroom Barn facility! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lisnacurran Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisnacurran Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.