We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable thanksgiving week-end” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bras d'Or Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most memorable thanksgiving week-end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We had the opportunity to spend the last Thanskgiving week-end at Bras D'or lake Inn. and it was the most relaxing get away we ever had in Nova Scotia.We enjoyed everything from our very confortable room , the excellent food /wine (seafood is out of this world..)The owners make you feel at home ,the.staff is friendly and very professional. The Inn is perfectly located whether you want to rest or to go for day trip adventures(Fortress of Louisbourg, Cape Breton,ile Madame) or sailing on Bras D'or Lake.Fall colours were outstanding throughout Cape Breton.Imagine a beautiful dinner during a music festival with local fiddlers to entertain you and you really fall in love with this place. Travellers from Toronto ,Ontario.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    32
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
60
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We - along with a group of our close friends - decided to celebrate our "signficant" birthdays together on Cape Breton Island. We had heard about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn through a friend so made reservations there. Our hosts - Rhoda & Jean-Pierre - made us feel at home right away. The hotel is really cosy; it gave us the feeling of being in a log cabin. Every meal we had was better than the last. The Inn is close to the Cabot Trail as well as the Fortress of Louisburg so we were able to take in both of those sites, returning each night to sit around the fire and enjoy our friends. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Excellent stop at end of Cabot Trail. Well above average unique log construction motel overlooking Bras d'Or Lake on edge of small town. Clean well kept inn with outstanding food and friendly competent staff.Good sleeping accommodations and lively nighttime entertainment in the local traditions. Throw a line in the water, take a canoe or kiyak ride,stroll through the town or relax with a drink on the deck overlooking the lake, you will not be bored or disappointed with your choice of stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

A wonderful hotel. Excellent restaurant. excellent service! The rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Jean pierre and Rhoda are wonderful hosts! Thank you for a great visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

The view was great, the food was even better and the staff were so friendly, I didn't want to leave!!!

Once you visit the Inn and taste their cuisine, I guarantee your friends will salivate from the mere description of your culinary experience... This place is a Cape Breton hidden gem, and it's on the way to Fort Louisburg to boot!!!

Bon Appetite!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, VT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I don't know where the people who wrote the negative reviews stayed, but I can't blieve that it was the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn that we stayed at. The whole place smells like cedar which made it feel fresh and clean. The restaurant, ah the restaurant...the chef is a genius. The "cream puff" dessert-- was EXCELLENT. We had a great experience and would certainly return. We sat out by the water and found the location very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this inn without checking with TripAdvisor, and am pleased to note that it was great! The rooms were tidy and comfortable. The restaurant, however, was spectacular. It is rather unassuming, with its rustic, log cabin furniture. We had dinner and breakfast, and were thoroughly impressed with both. The crowning touch was the dessert, which I forget the name of, but it was the house specialty with French Cream, and it was an eye-opening experience. I definitely sets a high bar for all other desserts to aspire towards!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2014 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s
Bras D'Or Lakes Inn Nova Scotia/Cape Breton Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.