We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Small Business Meeting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Save Saved
You added Bras d'Or Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Bridgewater, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place for a Small Business Meeting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had never been to St. Peters, Nova Scotia (Cape Breton) before. This year our Board decided to hold our annual general meeting in Cape Breton and we made reservations at the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn. The room I stayed in was very comfortable & lovely!!! It reminded me of a "chalet" you might find in Vermont or somewhere in switzerland. The service was excellent!!! The staff at the inn always went that extra mile for me and paid attention to little details!!! The food was exquisite (especially the deserts)! If you like "fine cuuisine" - this is the place for you!!! Because there were about ten of us - we received a special rate on our meals and accomodations. The lake is beautiful and there is a lovely walking trail next to the inn. There is also a beach (Atlantic Ocean) no more than a twenty minute drive away. There are also lots of quaint little shops in the village where the inn is located. There's the Christmas Shop (opened almost all year round -including the summer), a Celtic Shop, a flower/gift store, a couple of pharmacies, a bank, etc. Whether you are taking a vacation or planning a small business meeting - I highly recommend the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn.

Jaden

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda G, Owner at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review. We know that you are very busy so we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review for others to hear about your pleasant experience here at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn. It was a pleasure to work with you and your group to make your time here useful and pleasurable. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
55
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We are a family from Germany (three adult sons,aged 22 to 29 years) and spent a week in this marvelous place. Our hosts Rhoda and Jean Pierre did an fantastic job. We really indulged in French Canadian food and wines. The rooms were perfect and clean. Just awakening we got the chance to watch the sun rising over the Bras d`Or Lake. Incredible!
We appreciated the hospitality of Rhoda and Jean Pierre in many different aspects. We got plenty of advices concerning local activities. Rhoda organized a hike with Lynn from England,who ist married with an native Canadian artist. Lynn gave us very interesting information about the wild life. She guided us to an eagles` nest. A great experience!
Rhoda recommended us to visit a concert with local musicians. Fantastic listening of fiddle, guitar, banjo and singing!
Last not least- the fantastic breakfast ! Fresh fruit in abundance, crepes, pancakes, delicious omeletts.......It was fabulous! Can`t await to go again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda G, Owner at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments. Glad to hear that you are home safe and sound. It was a pleasure to meet you and your wonderful family. You got to experience the real Cape Breton with Lynne. It was so nice to hear how much you appreciated her services. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the lovely Bras D'Or Lakes Inn. Owned (and run) by a husband and wife team - she a former teacher and he a chef (and an excellent one at that). The room was lovely, the beds fit for kings and queens, the service impecable (not to mention friendly and attentive) and the restaurant a culinary delight. All of this while still being relaxing, comfortable, unpretentious and just plain perfect!! What a great place to start our Cape Breton vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda G, Owner at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write comments re our facility and your experience here. You comments are very much appreciated. Our staff works very hard to provide our clients with the best possible experience. We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had an amazing trip to Cape Breton, and the highlight was the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn. The hotel is a gem, with amazing, comfortable rooms, and a staff that is kind, helpful, and goes out of their way to make the stay memorable.
And then, there's the food!
We ate many meals in the restaurant during our 7 day stay, and the quality was superb. Chef JP Gillet is a master at preparing and saucing, and the other chefs are following closely in his footsteps.
In short, I'd not only go back at the drop of a hat, I'd move in!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just spent 2 days at the Bras d"Or Lakes Inn, we chose St. Peters for our organizations provincial meetings. The weather was cold and damp but the hospitality of the owners and staff was warm and inviting. This Inn is cozy and located on the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes. One of the great highlights is the food. You will find the menu is filled wih deliscious choices and no one could find a better cuisine anywhere. Compliments to the chef and do yourself a favour and try the seafood chowder!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Friendly staff, great restaurant (both food and service), very nice room and a very comfy bed. Spotless and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda G, Owner at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to have our guests feeling comfortable and enjoying their holidays. Our staff works very hard to keep the inn clean and attractive. Thank you again for taking the time to let others know about your experience here at the inn. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had the chance to stop in to this hotel while making our way through Cape Breton during the winter. The hotel came highly recommended, and it did not disappoint. It was very peaceful, and the staff were wonderful. We were not in the area at a busy time, so there was not much going on, including at the hotel whose restaurant was not open. I can only comment on the fact that the Inn is very centrally located with a great view of the water, and the rooms were quite comfortable. I would certainly not hesitate to visit the Inn again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda G, Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully the next time you come the dining room will be opened. We are planning on posting photos of the area around St. Peter's on our facebook page. You will be able to share the view with your friends. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d’Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter’s Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s
Bras D'Or Lakes Inn Nova Scotia/Cape Breton Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.