We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...you want us to stay where?!!?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Cove Inn

Marina Cove Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Cove Inn to your Saves list
Marina Cove Inn
9329 Pepperell Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia BOE 3BO, Canada (Formerly Canal House B&B and Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“...you want us to stay where?!!?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived for the stay we'd booked three months prior and the innkeeper was in Sydney - someone tracked her down for us. We were told (1) property flooded; emergency, (2) under renovation, (3) they weren't booking this year, (4) she hadn't been able to reach us to cancel - that would be via email, phone AND postal address and three months lead time?! They asked for proof that we had actually booked - which I had with me.

We were sent down the road to rooms to the MacDonald Country Inn that she stated she also owned, and that they were in the process of rennovating - adequate, but not a B&B, and overlooking cinder parking lots and a main road - hot and noisy; no AC and one window lacked the mechanism for opening. St Peter's is too remote to take a chance, so not knowing the area we stayed. It felt very much like bait-n-switch - they wanted payment that night and then asked a second time in the morning, and they were reluctant to disclose what was in the area - "we serve dinner here".

Room Tip: I wouldn't take a chance on this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife an I stayed here for one night last summer while on our way to Dundee. We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay again on our way back. Every aspect of our two one-night stays exceeded our expectations. The room and rest of the house were kept to an impeccable standard, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the owners were overly friendly. Wifi internet worked fine throughout our stay. We plan to visit Cape Breton again this summer and will certainly stay here again. Highly recommended, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms
Breakfast in other building

Host never showed us around, only seen her 2 times in other building.

No wifi in rooms, only in other building.

Nice breakfast.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night last October. It was difficult to find out what the price was for the room when we showed up. The room all fresh renovated but cold and nobody around to ask for getting it warmed up. Then very early in the morning the heating system finally kicked in. But VERY noisy. At first I thought it was a big truck running it's diesel right outside the window. Before breakfast we where sitting and waiting in the kitchen for about 10 minutes while the woman was having a smoke outside with a neighbor. Breakfast was a big plate full, unordered but served, to give any person with diabetes a serious problem. We never found out what the official price was for the room. And the ashtray at the entrance door was overflowing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The woman who we had been in conversation with after we landed in Halifax did not show up or call for over and hour and a half after our informed arrival time. When she did eventually call ,to her credit, she apologized and advised her cell phone did not have reception. Unprofessional and unreliable service. We never did step inside so I can't comment but the exterior left something to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I really enjoyed my vacation and the week I stayed at Joerg and Stephanies B&B.
The cute and clean room, the handcooked breakfast with a nice talk and all the good informations about what and where to do today - it couldn't be better. After a break in Cheticamp, it was like coming home again - thank you for all your support, the nice sit-ins in the evenings and all the little things, that showed the difference between a hotel and a B&B.
I would always choose the B&B first!
I hope, it will stay as good as it was that when you hand it over in November to your Ex.
Wish you all the best! Hopefully we will meet again, take care,
Sonja from Germany

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed two nights in early August. Joerg was an excellent host, meeting us at the door, carrying up the luggage, offering helpful travel advice, and preparing a great breakfast (twice!). St. Peter's is small town, but has its own attractions and restaurants, including Tim Horton's. Heading up island to the Fortress of Louisburg took a day. This B&B has a nice decor, with each room done in a different theme. The bed wasn't overly comfortable though...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Cove Inn

Address: 9329 Pepperell Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia BOE 3BO, Canada (Formerly Canal House B&B and Cottages)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Cove Inn Nova Scotia/Cape Breton Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.