We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding in Rosapenna in late September and had a fantastic stay.
The location is superb - the hotel divides the spectacular tramore beach from downings bay. When the sun shines, there is no more beautiful place in Ireland.

The hotel itself has so much going for it. It has two fantastic links golf courses, with a really impressive club house. Ahead of us, were a group of four Americans who had heard great things about the golf and couldn't believe the quality of the course.
The food in the restaurant is full of quality, full of really fresh fish. Everything is done with an air of old world charm - silver salvers, wait staff in white shirts and dickie bows, dessert trolleys and after dinner drinks. It has the feel of gracious living from a hundred years ago.

If you can - make sure you book one of the "bayview suites" in the new wing of the hotel. We had a huge room which had a balcony looking out over downings bay. In truth, I don't think I have stayed in a nicer hotel room.

I would highly recommend the Rosapenna Hotel. It has it all and is everything a hotel should be.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the new wing of the hotel. In particular - one of the Bayview Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything about this resort screams excellence. I have not previously stayed in this hotel (the reason being I have a holiday home in the area) I have enjoyed many of its luxury features. My husband and I often play on the golf courses, they are in exceptional condition and the views you encounter along the way are completely majestic.
While hosting guests we enjoy we tend lunch at the hotel where everything is homemade and you can really taste the difference. It is a great place to stop relax.
On occasion we dine there in the Vardon restaurant. This is always a very special occasion. To start with the quality of food and drink is first class. Furthermore the service from the staff is exceptional. Although I usually tend to steer away from dessert after a meal because I have a savory tooth, my favourite part of the meal (although its a tough competition) is the dessert trolley. Everything is presented very well and tastes even nicer.
Another dining experience that my family and I enjoy is the Sunday Lunch. The food is consistently good, the view of Sheephaven Bay from the dining room is astonishing and the service is no less than first class.
The attention to detail provided by this hotel and golf resort couldn't be more thorough. I would highly recommend it and will definitely continue to use their services in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are looking for a little piece of heaven, golfer or not, we have discovered a real jewel in the Rosapenna Hotel in Downings, On arrival staff were friendly, welcoming and the sheer size of the lounge which over looks the bay was breath taking (not to mention the homemade scones).

The room was comfortable and spacious. We ate dinner in the hotel also during our stay, and the selection and quality of the food was outstanding. What was an additional bonus to our dining experience was the panoramic view overlooking the bay that we had from the dining room.

As a couple who enjoy comfort, excellent food, good value and beautiful scenery, we would highly recommend the Rosapenna Hotel, Downings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms, nicely situated but they have that old problem that pervades through all the hotels in the South Of Ireland, namely, hard mattresses. The mattress on the bed was like a springboard and extremely painful if you suffer from back problems. This isn't the first Hotel in the South of Ireland I've stayed in with this problem, all the hotels I've stayed in there have been the same. Everything else was OK, staff were friendly and helpful enough but I won't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went for a wedding and arrived the night before and being a non golf player because I have a life, there is no reason to stay here.

The staff are friendly and accommodating and on arrival it looks impressive but inside with the wilton carpet on every corridor and narrow corridors lead you to your room.

This is what let's the rosapenna down. They look like they have not been renovated for 30 years. With the old shires toilet with the black lid and dodgy sealant hiding the gaps in the bathroom; it looks so tired. There are no quilts and you have three blankets on your bed so it does get cold at night. Our bathroom did have a strong smell of urine round the vanity unit.

The food is great quality but for €120 a night the rooms are a poor quality and the Heineken was not up to the usual standard you find in Ireland.

Disappointed and have found the Downings Bay Hotel a more family friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

my friend and i want for a meal here last week as she had a voucher to use. the dining room is very dated and formal. the food was expensive - €45 for set menu plus 12.5% service charge. i ordered salmon mayonnaise for starter and that is exactly what i got. a lump of salmon with mayonnaise on top, one lettuce leaf and two slices of tomato. no finesse involved. the main courses were average, the sweet trolly not bad.
this hotel restaurant thinks and behaves as though it is better than what it actually is. i found it quite pretentious and would have got better presented and tasting food in many other restaurants in Donegal without the formality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our fifth trip, and I just cannot understand why it has taken me so long to extol the virtues of this superb hotel. The location, being close to the sea, has obvious attractions, but it is the combination of superb food, matched by such excellent friendly service, plus of course the choice of excellent golf courses, which in my view is unbeatable. The very spacious dining room means that conversation is easy and enjoyable.The owner, Frank Casey, and his wife, Hilary, set the tone and must be responsible for high staff morale. There seems little movement in the staff over the years - always a good sign. There is an excellent choice of rooms and tariffs.
The only downside is the cost and time taken to travel there, certainly if, like us you live over on the UK mainland. Clearly this does not stop the many repeat visitors, nor will it stop us from booking for next year, and hopefully for many years in the future.

Room Tip: Simply speak to Hilary or the helpful receptionists. If you are prepared to pay more, as one of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel Downings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.