We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit posh, lovely room and view. But the food was limited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bit posh, lovely room and view. But the food was limited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My time at the rosapenna hotel was quite good. It was a pit posh and not really family orientated. The rooms were fabulous and had beautiful views of the beach! There was limited availability of food especially for younger children

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Once again about 20 Golfers had two days golf and accommodation with Meals at this superb resort.Once again we were fortunate to have dry weather; with strong wind on the first day,making Golf on the Old Tom Morris Course very CHALLENGING.
Great accommodation,Great Food and the Golf was ........interesting.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Travelled here on a golf weekend with a number of friends. We stayed in the hotel and played both golf courses. The package included 2 rounds of golf, a meal and b&b for 125 euro which seemed good value to me. The golf courses are tough especially sandy hills but well maintained and a pleasure to play.
The meal was absolutely fabulous with no extra cost for a steak which was excellently cooked to order. The bar is a little quiet in the hotel but we visited the town where we found an excellent lively bar with a great band.
There is also a pool, sauna/steamroom which were quiet when i visited and very relaxing after a few hours trekking around after a little white ball.
All in all a nice hotel in a quiet location which treats its guests well. Not somewhere I would go for a long stay but definitely worth visiting. One thing to note is how remote it felt - when we got as far as Letterkenny there was still another 45 minutes drive to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: There are some great rooms with beach views - see if you can get one - mine had a view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I'm the bridegroom from the aforementioned wedding at the Rosapenna. I don't think I need add much to my guests review but cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff, owners and service from the hotel were all superb. What a wonderful first impression of Donegal and indeed, Ireland, for all our German friends. I would highly recommend a Bayview Suite if you decide to stay here - the rooms (bathrooms to die for) and views stunning. This is a Golf Hotel but not just for golfers! There's lots to see in the surrounding area and you won't find nicer beaches ...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerhaven, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Got a weekend there for a wedding. Perfect rooms! great staff and phantastic sea view!
Rooms were clean and spacy. Bathroom excellent.

Room Tip: Bayview suite is a lil bit more expensive, but you have a balcony for your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here as part of a short trip to Donegal.The setting of this hotel is wonderful,being right at the edge of the beach at Downings,with easy access to the sands.
The food was wonderful -great to see melba toast making a comeback- and the portions were more than generous.Crab claws from the local Sheephaven Bay were the highlight of my food experience.
The staff were all very warm and friendly although the Spanish or Portuguese wine waiter let the rest of them down.
Enjoyable golf on the Rosapenna course and all in all a very enjoyable couple of days. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our family (2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 5) opted to stay in Ireland this year for our Summer holidays and Donegal was somewhere we have wanted to go back to as a family since we visited it ourselves 12 years ago. After doing quite a bit of research on our options we settled on the Rosapenna Hotel - mainly for the close proximity to a beach and the suitability of the Bay View suites which seemed, from the website and from talking to Hilary, to be very spacious, had good views and were wheelchair accessible (necessary for our son who uses a power chair). Unlike most people I gather who stay at Rosapenna .... we were not going for the golf! Also, it is worth noting that since I booked early and for quite a long stay ... we were offered a very good package from the Hotel.
We stayed for a total of 9 nights arriving the week before 12th July and leaving on 13th July. Because of our timing we got to see the hotel during a very quiet few days at the start of our stay and during one of their busiest times around 12th July.
On arrival everyone we met was very friendly and helpful ... they spotted us unloading quite a lot of luggage from our car and came out to meet us with a trolley. Our room was excellent - a Bay view suite on the same level as the reception. This was a huge room with very large bathroom and balcony with an amazing view over Sheephaven bay, Tra beg and Downings village.
We discovered on going for a walk around the hotel that it was possible to walk directly onto the beach from the hotel grounds and better again, our son's power chair could even drive onto the beach.
The hotel restaurant is large, elegant, spacious and again with lovely views of the bay. We enjoyed many lovely breakfasts there, the only thing missing was some croissants/ pastries or the option of ordering maybe pancakes from the kitchen. But the cooked breakfasts were always good and served very promptly. We also availed of room service on a number of mornings which allowed us to be a bit lazier as breakfast was only served until 10 in the restaurant.
We had also booked a number of dinners as part of our package and while they were all nice, they were probably a bit too heavy on some of the nights. The 4 course menu (you had the option of taking less courses) was quite an old-style menu but always substantial and the service was very good. The seafood chowder was particularly nice. The dessert trolley at the end (rare to see these in hotels anymore!) was always a treat. The highlight of most evenings, for our son in particular, was the live music in the lounge. While most of the other people enjoying the music and dancing were quite a bit older than ourselves ... this didn't stop our son and some of the other kids, who were staying during the busier days, from also joining in. It was very pleasant to sit back on the huge choice of couches, watch, have the after dinner tea/coffee/mints and relax.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which is opened limited hours 7 to 11 and 4.30 to 7.30 but the evening time suited us for a swim and so that didn't bother us. The lifeguard, Sarah, was always very friendly and helpful. There is also a nice jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I also availed of a very good treatment from their beauty therapist who comes into the hotel as required.
The wi-fi didn't appear to work in the room (although apparently it should) but there was access to the internet at a PC located near reception.
As metioned, we are not golfers and so can't comment on the golf courses, however we had some nice sandwiches in the Golf Pavillion bar one afternoon. This is an impressive place, very spacious and with lovely views over the golf course.
There is a tennis court (rackets and balls are free if you stay at the hotel) and Pitch and Putt course (payable) just a short distance from the hotel. We spent another nice afternoon here.
Downings village is a lovely small village with a few shops, some bars, a grocery shop and a number of other hotels. McNutts craft and gift shop near the Pier is worth a visit and they also have a good Cafe. It was lovely to walk from the hotel along the beach, up the steps at the pier (or you could exit the beach via the level access driveway too if necessary) and then back through the village. The beach itself is great for building sandcastles and nice to swim there when the tide is in. Since cars are allowed onto the beach it is less relaxing at weekends and the jet skis added to this noise also.
Within a short distance from the hotel are a number of other lovely beaches, the "Atlantic Drive" around Rossguill peninsula has amazing views and the "Singing Pub" is also worth a visit for an informal pub meal during the day/evening. The village of Carrigart is a short drive from the Rosapenna hotel - this is a bigger village than Downings with ATM, pharmacy and a good chipper. Nearby Doe Castle is interesting for a wander around and further afield are lovely drives to Fanad head via the Harry Blaney bridge, Inishowen and the Finntown narrow gauge railway.
In summary, I would highly recommend Donegal as a great place to holiday and if you are looking for a high standard of accommodation, are happy with good food but maybe not such modern menus, if your children are happy with playing on the beach, having access to an indoor pool (albeit not all day long), the odd game of tennis/pitch and putt and dancing in the lounge at night ... then look no further than the Rosapenna Hotel. Also, this is one of the best wheelchair accessible hotels we have stayed in. We certainly hope to be back!

Room Tip: Book early and go for a Bay View suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel Downings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.