We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort
Downings, Ireland
353 0 74 91 55301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Downings
Type: Sports
Attraction details
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“As always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here now a few times it's one of the great family hotels run well serving beautiful food in wonderful surroundings.
Dinner was amazing i had the scallops & my wife the sea-bass breakfast was also great i had the fresh Plaice which was excellent & our server was fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I was staying in donegal and decided to go for a meal on a Friday evening. Location is excellent, although a fabulous sunset over the bay topped it off.

The decor was a little old fashioned, and had the feeling of a country club rather than a hotel about it. Then again to be fair it is a golf club.

Anyhow we were there for the meal and were not disappointed. In fact the meal was excellent and after struggling to finish all dishes, the desert trolley was wheeled up by two very helpful waitresses. Wow, I was like a kid in a candy shop! Coffee was in the lobby which was good as I needed to relax before squeezing into the car.

I will be back for the desert trolley alone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Play golf here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Absolutely one of the best places. Played the old Tom Morris, and Sandy. If you love to golf, or even like to try, this will be worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were staying at the Beach Hotel but went to the Rosapenna for our Friday meal just to 'break it up'. The seafood starter was delicious although the seafood chowder was rather bland. The main courses were good and substantial and the dessert trolley was just 'pure Donegal' - we hadn't seen the dessert trolley concept in years. The desserts were lovely! I would go back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“no food!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Played the Sandy Hills course at Rosapenna last week as part of a 3 day team competition involving Portsalon and Ballyliffin golf clubs as well. We played the Portsalon course on the first day following which we had a wonderful meal in a welcoming atmosphere in the bar where there were about 30 other people present. On the last day we played Ballyliffin and again we had a very pleasant experience both on and off course. The club bar was almost full to capacity and there was an extensive range of food available.
On the middle day of the three we played at Rosapenna, the Sandy Hills course is clearly set up for the single figure golfers and is one of the most punishing experiences I have ever had to endure. To make matters worse on arrival into the bar afterwards we discovered that the food available consisted of a few sandwiches and a bowl of soup..what a disappointment. The bar had more staff than patrons..there were four people sitting in the corner moaning over there soup. Given that the majority of teams that compete travel long distances to this event it would be nice to have dinner at the end of the event. Surely if this privately owned club signs up to become part of this competition then it would be appropriate to meet the standards provided by the other clubs involved. After all there are several other courses in the wider area that could provide a much warmer welcome. There seems to be an arrogance about the place suggesting if you don't like what we do then play elsewhere..needless to say this is exactly what many will do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort also viewed

Downings, County Donegal

Been to Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.