We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Hotel
Downings, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Belfast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (7 persons) went as a family group to celebrate my xxth birthday. The rooms were a good size and clean and modern. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and on the Saturday night decorated around our table with balloons and banners wishing me a Happy Birthday. A surprise and a lovely touch. The food was good, dinner and breakfast, and the drinks were sensibly priced - €4 which compares to Belfast and is a lot cheaper than Dublin.
There is a lovely beach nearby and all in all it made for a lovely chilled out weekend. I would thoroughly recommend you to head to Downings and the Beach Hotel if you want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
97
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great wee hotel with lovely staff, big bedrooms, free wifi and fantastic food at great prices. Dominics (Tramore) is a great wee pub across the road which had an amazing band on one night.

Not much to do in Downings if the weather is rubbish but relax and enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Can I simply say to anybody thinking of staying in the Downings area, choose the Beach hotel as your base. The staff, accommodation, food and service were excellent. Myraid and her staff can not be bettered. There were eight of us in the party and everyone agreed. The food and wine were of a very high standard as were all the rooms the team stayed in. I have never written on trip advisor, that's how strongly I felt about the experience. It certainly beats ALL the other hotels for value in the area, (even if one has a swimming pool) We played golf at Portsalon and because of the new bridge 'The Beach' Hotel proved to be the perfect venue. Recently renovated, the atmosphere that has been created was light and airy. Book early....we were lucky we got a cancellation,( thanks to whoever they were) I'll not be surprised if its hard to get a room in the future if I keep telling people about it. Thanks again to Myraid and her staff, your smiles and attention made a lasting impression. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending it to families, golf societies, couples etc. Jonathan Brady, Malone Golf Club, Ulster Cup Captain June 2013. PS... we beat Portsalon and again thanks to John Logue,(who recommended the Beach ) and his team for a great days golf.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they were all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as part of lengthy tour of Ireland. Perfect place to chill out, catch a breath and view some of the great scenery the Donegal coast has to offer. The owners Mairead and Charlie are special people who make the experience even better. Pub meals great value, plenty of parking, comfortable rooms all made for a fantastic break. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the beach hotel after our wedding for a 2 night break and ended up staying for 3 nights it was so good. The food is lovely especially the cooked to order breakfast. There is a nice bar attached to the dining room for an after dinner drink. It had a really nice atmosphere and the owners and staff were all so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are a good size with everytihing you could require and the shower is particularly good. It is a perfect base for exploring atlantic drive, glenveagh national park and surrounding area, We were lucky to have fantastic weather but the scenery is stunning all round this part of Ireland and the beach hotel is a relaxing place to return to after a day exploring. We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were passing through the Downings around teatime and called at this hotel for something to eat, what a treat!! They had a special meal deal on at 16 euros per person for two courses and a glass of wine, at first we wondered what the quality would be like at that price but we need not have worried as the food was top quality and service likewise. I can only urge anyone whose passing to call in and experience the friendliness and value for money that his hotel has to offer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hi,

Located in the small picturesque village of ‘The Downings’ the Beach Hotel offers everything you would need for a relaxing stay in Donegal.

It benefits greatly from having been completely rebuilt just recently and no expense was spared to create a very modern, clean and welcoming establishment. Well trained staff know exactly how to treat the guests with nothing being a problem, polite and helpful staff are the mainstay of this hotel, not a bad point!

The rooms are crisp clean, well finished and are equipped with flat screen TV, coffee / tea facilities and ample storage room. set on 2 floors access is available via the lift with half of the rooms offering a spectacular sea view.

The food in the restaurant is of good quality with a steak as an example weighing in at 22euro, again the staff tick all the boxes.

Ample free car parking is available at the rear and a smart outdoor seating / dining area is easily accessed from the bar catching the midday sun.

The Beach Hotel is set right in the middle of the small village with another hotel (see my other reviews) just up the street, these are the only 2 hotels near the beach, the Harbour Bar is located just a 5 min walk up the hill and comes highly recommended, especially if you enjoy a Guinness with a sea view!

I’m told the local village shop has now closed so bear that in mind with the next town approx 2 miles away. The Downings has a wonderful golden sand beach to offer which is shallow and very popular with the residents of the nearby caravan sites (Beach approx 3 mins walk from Hotel).
Watersports equipment is available to rent just across the street and apart from that there is not much, just the views to enjoy. There is a harbour at the far end of the beach. Numerous holiday homes are also available within walking distance of the beach and beyond.

The Downings is located North of Letterkenny

Belfast : 112 miles (2.5 hrs drive)
Donegal Town : 22 miles
Sligo : 68 miles
Londonderry : 30 miles

Currency : Euro, with various cards accepted.

Function Room for up to 120 guests.

A great base point from which to explore the region.

The ‘Atlantic Drive’ is very popular which starts almost in the Downings, this is a ring road for vehicles offering wonderful views and scenery.

In conclusion if the weather is on your side (you need to be lucky on this one, its Donegal after all) this should be your first choice of hotel in that area without a doubt.

Well worth a visit with the ‘family run’ feel only adding to your experience.

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Was this review Helpful' box.

Les

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear offer a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. Approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and only 3.5 hours from Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.