We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem with a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quillan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Chemin Noir | Route de Foix, Quillan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Quillan B&B and Inns
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem with a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

If you are looking for a very comfortable B+B in a lovely location with an excellent cuisine and the most welcoming of hosts, you will not be disappointed if you choose to spend your time with Sylvia and Roy at L`Olivette. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
My wife, Angela, and I, together with my sister, Christine, and her husband, John, spent 3 superb days touring Cathar country and enjoying the local wine and fine food with Roy and Sylvia, whom we would like to thank for their hospitality. We will be back, sans doute!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I were travelling through Languedoc and on the advice of the Trip Advisor reviewers we stayed with Roy and Silvia for 2 nights. It was a great decision. The weather was really warm so after a day of sightseeing it was great to get in the pool.
We had dinner with Silvia and Roy both nights and they were wonderful hosts and generously served delicious food and wine. It was nice to come back after a busy day and just be able to relax and enjoy the evening. Good accommodation, beautiful setting, but the best part was how helpful they both were. This was great since it was our first time in the area and their advice was greatly appreciated. We would certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very well located nice B&B. Great facilities, food etc.But it's very English. This may be what you want....but if not, and are after something French and private then maybe try something else.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviaroydalby, Owner at L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
We are very suprisedd about this comment.We were away on holiday during March and had very few quests,certainly none from London and no person with the name Sarah cm. My wife speaks fluent French and as done so for over 40 years,About 50 per cent of our guests are french and all write first rate reviews about their stay. I worked for many years in France as a Chef in top restaurants and we serve french food of the highest quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We could not have asked to be more well looked after by Sylvia and Roy who are both experienced and fantastic hosts.
The food was excellent, the B&B charming/comfortable and the views quite stunning.
Our hosts were also incredibly helpful and very flexible.
We travelled with 2 young children, which can often be daunting for all concerned, but felt they were very much welcomed rather than tolerated.
We look forward to returning soon and would recommend the accomodation for anyone looking for great, friendly and unpretentious service.
Thankyou.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I recently stayed in L'Olivette for a week to go walking and we were bowled over by Sylvia and Roy's hospitality, the friendly welcome and the very good food and wine that they produced in great humour and without seeming effort. The house's setting, overlooking the Quillan cirque, is most attractive. Sylvia and Roy looked after us so well, solving problems and giving suggestions for walks or outings, and even picked us up by car after a linear-type walk. They made this holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

While recently cycling in the Perpignan area we had the pleasure of staying with Silvia and Roy Golden-Dalby at their home in Quillan (pronounced Key-An), the proverbial home away from home, Silvia and Roy could not have done more to make us feel welcome, relaxed and at ease in our surroundings. Our plan was to stay for two nights we ended up staying for four, the extra nights are another story which I will get to later. We arrived on our first evening hot and tired from our cycle to find a swimming pool which we were not expecting but was very welcomed indeed, so we cooled down in the pool while sipping refreshments served by Silvia and got to meet the other guests who we would be dining with that evening. We had been advised to book dinner with Silvia and Roy as it was meant to be a treat, and treat it was, Roy is a seriously good cook, and Silvia’s desserts are excellent. I would seriously advise anybody intending to stay at L’Olivette, Chambres et Table d’Hôtes www.[--].com to book an evening meal, it is a five course treat which includes local wines. Breakfast the following morning was perfect a great start to the day. This is a great area if you are interested in cycling, walking, hiking, rafting, kayaking, canoeing, driving or just lazing around, it has it all. After our second night we said our goodbyes to Silvia and Roy cycling onto our next destination Estagel some 60k to the east, from there we were off to Port Vendres via Perpignan about 105k, thanks to our hosts in Estagel we were booked into an apartment hotel in Port Vendres, however when we arrived we found that our room had been let and because the town was so busy there was no other rooms to be had anywhere. We were looking at a night under the stars as our rental bikes were not fitted for night cycling. We decided to call Silvia and Roy for any advice they could offer, without hesitation we were told to get something to eat that Roy would collect us and bring us back to Quillan which he did and which we will forever be grateful for. When we arrived back at L’Olivette at 01.20hrs Silvia was there to greet us with the offer of food or something stronger, we stayed for another two nights. This generosity of spirit is not unusual for this couple, there is the story of the two Latvian girls who had booked accommodation on the coast only to find out that there was no public transport on a Sunday to their proposed destination, so Silvia and Roy drove them to their accommodation, or the guy who was cycling to Barcelona but was running out of time so Roy drove him to the top of the Pyrenees so that he could cycle from there down into Barcelona on time. I know I have rambled on a bit with this review and I could go on further, I will finish by saying the we have found our home from home in the South of France I / we will be back again to visit Silvia and Roy, to sit and eat long dinners with them on their terrace overlooking the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

L. Olivette Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. We decided late in the day that we wanted to be included in the four course meal with aperitifs and wine that they offer. It was totally inconsiderate of us to call that late (probably 2:00 pm on the day of arrival); but Silvia graciously said they would include us. She didn’t mention that Roy was a professional cook (which he was) and she could also hold up her end. It was the best meal we had in France; we are still talking about it. We had drinks, ate, and talked for over 3 hours. Our room was lovely with its own entrance from the parking area. The bathroom was also spacious. We had only planned on one night; but this would be an ideal place to use as a base as there are many different types of castles, beautiful scenic roads, and towns to discover in the area. Both Roy and Silvia have extensive knowledge of the area; and are willing to share their ideas of where to go and what to see. Should we ever be lucky enough to get back to this area of France, we will definitely be staying with Silvia and Roy at the L Olivette Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast

Address: Chemin Noir | Route de Foix, Quillan, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Quillan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Quillan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Quillan on an ancient Cathar trail towards Puivert, we offer our guests a peaceful and tranquil setting for their stay with magnificent views from the terrace across the high valley of the Aude and the foothills of the Pyrenees.l'Olivette is a modern 5 year old bungalow set in two acres of natural gardens with over 80 olive trees. All our 4 bedrooms have their own private bathrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.