We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crawford's Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crawford's Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Crawford's Beach Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Crawfords for three nights for our son's wedding which turned out to be a perfect location. Fortunately we had booked a sea facing ground floor room which was stunning, there are so many levels at Crawfords. The staff were helpful and the food excellent. They catered for 70+ covers for the wedding meal with ease. The buffet was superb. They coped very well when there was a pre-planned power cut at Sunday Breakfast. This apparently happens on a regular basis to conserve electricity.
Being two oldies with mobility problems we had to be transported in and out of the resort due to the near vertical driveway.
I never did make it to the beach (60+ steps) but was assured by the yoinger members of the family that it was well worth it - clean and beautiful. The stunning views from our room compensated!
All in all a memorable stay. Wish it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Chesire,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. It really means a lot to us to get this kind of feedback.
We would love to see you back here someday.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited Crawford’s in February 2013 for a family wedding and loved every minute of the trip. Stayed for only 3 nights but would have happily stayed longer and plan on returning in the next 12 months. The room was very big, with comfy beds, TV, our own kitchen area, iron and ironing board and hairdryer. The bathroom was very coolly located through a door fixed into the wardrobe, making the room look very smart. Crawford’s itself is beautifully located just back off the beach into a large hill, meaning beautiful views from pretty much every room. The beach is 100 yards or so down some steps, which were comfortably managed by my elderly grandparents, so no issues there. The beach looks practically untouched too and is quite a sight at any hour, especially sunset. Food was very good and a mix of local tradition and more common foods too. There’s enough of a choice for most dietary requirements from what I could tell anyway. I would highly recommend this place for those wishing to see somewhere other than Cape Town and Johannesburg in South Africa, and also for those looking to get married abroad. It was my Uncle’s big day and the staff made sure everything ran smoothly and all the guests had a great time. Loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room that faces the beach. Not sure how much extra it costs, but you get a wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jmertz,
Thank you for the wonderful review - it means a lot to us. And we are delighted your uncle had a great wedding.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It's difficult to fault - the location is great and the beaches superb. The self service buffet has an excellent choice, and the staff throughout are friendly and helpful. But there are a quite a lot of rooms (maybe 40) and the restaurant seats maybe 100+. There were two corporate events on when we were there so if you want quiet and cosy, this is probably not the place for you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A collection of buildings, set amongst the dune forest above the beach. Reached by a winding narrow brick road, with the last section precipitously steep. Service was good, and the room was comfortable. Decor was a bit disappointing, with the feel more "big city corporate- greys and beige" than seaside beach. Missed some colour. The dinner was a buffet, well done-not dry and tired, with a good variety. We stayed in one of the sea facing rooms- great view, but the rooms above must have an even better view- and, with the wooden floors, they couldn't hear us going to the bathroom at 4a.m.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the sea facing rooms/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

No, nothing wrong with this place, but just not our cup of tea.... The lodge is nicely situated along a beautiful beach, staff is friendly, rooms are well equipped, but something is missing....I don't know, it's just a "white people reserve" I guess, like most of the lodges and resorts along the east coast....we got really sick after the seafood buffet. The staff was very kind and well prepared and provided us with loperamide....makes you think..... Next time I'd rather stay in a smaller, more intimate place ..... We were travelling on AAA vouchers (we payed all accommodation in advance), this was the only place we had to pay an additional (small) amount of money, we thought that was very unfriendly and bad practice.... If AAA doesn't pay enough for the rooms Crawford's should sort it out with them.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Crawford's is situated along a stunning 15km beach. The rooms are simple but elegant, with all comforts provided. The staff are friendly and the pool is a great place for young children to play. The only thing that let us down at Crawford's was the lack of catering to specific dietary requirements. We had one vegan and one vegetarian in our group and had to repeatedly ask for food to meet their requirements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped over at Crawford's on our way between Cape Town and Durban and we liked it so much we did the same on the return trip. Unfortunately it was only a one night stay each way.
The rooms are comfortable and large, the food is quite acceptable and there is a very nice relaxed feel to the whole place. Crawford's doesnt pretend to be five star but they deliver on the promise of a family run, casual, fun destination.
Easy access from the rooms straight onto the beach.
Cintsa beaches are really lovely and within a 5 min walk of the hotel you feel like Robinson Crusoe. Nobody in sight and miles of beautiful sandy beach.
We would love to return and spend a bit longer
Only complaint - service in the resturant was a bit indifferent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely the best and worth the slight premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawford's Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.