We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers to your Saves list
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
| Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the campsite for 4 nights over New Years and we had the most amazing time! The campsite is gorgeous, the pool area is a perfect day-time hangout and the bar by reception looks like a bumpin party (though we never actually made it there, we just drove by and heard good reviews). The New Years Eve party was amazing (although the music selection was questionable). Breakfast at the restaurant is cheap (R30 for a full English) and delicious. The campsite has a fully equipped kitchen and ablution blocks. The semi outdoor showers are super cool (there is hot water but the water pressure varies). It makes for a great camping experience at a very reasonable price. I highly recommend it! My only complaint was ordering food from the pool bar... the staff tries to talk you out of it?! They come up with various reasons why you shouldn't order food... which I found strange. I heard this same complaint from others as well. Otherwise I had an awesome time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
73
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

We had planned for 2 nights here and lasted 3 hours. We booked a cottage which we found with a dirty Kleenex under the bed, some questionable things on the bathroom floor that looked bloody and an intense mildew smell. The room has zero privacy from the adjacent bungalow. You can hear everything and the decks are separated by slats. Service, like most backpackers, is indifferent. The location on the beach is nice but as they face the lagoon rather than ocean, there are no breezes and it was sweltering. Bottom line, we left and found another spot at Cintsa to spend 2 nights and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in December and I wished we had more time to spend here! This place is awesome- from the perfect beach, delicious food, parties that go into the early hours etc!

The backpackers is well run and everything they state on their website is true and you can expect nothing less than a good time!

And to top it of it is incredibly well priced- we stayed in the Safari Tents for R130 per person. No need to pitch your tent! Bedding is included and there is electric points are provided to charge your mobile and camera!

Definitely worth a visit!!! I will be returning very shortly!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

What a great place - I just took a three-day mini-holiday here after working in Durban and struck gold with my choice. Every room was full but still it was peaceful and chilled out. There's a real mix of South Africans passing through, international backpackers and some locals who come by for a drink. Room was lovely, in a shared bungalow, the food was decent and the facilities were great - activities, a pool, bar, right on the beach. Don't expect room cleaning every day, and breakfast is extra (but loads of cooking facilities mean you can stick to your budget - small local shop nearby).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

It was the best place where I've stayed on my trip with the Baz Bus. The stuff is awesome, the dorms were like little apartments (just awesome), the food was delicious and setting is beautiful (with Biltong in the trees) and the offers are great. Awesome place to party or just relax. We've had lots of fun and I really hope to make it back again. It really is worth it to go to this place.

Room Tip: We've stayed in dorm 7(2 rooms with 4 beds each and a bathroom, kitchen and lounge). Was Awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The title pretty much sums up how we felt about Buccaneers. To be fair, we only stayed one night so we didn't have time to really try out all their activities - of which they offer quite a bit, ranging from tours to meet the local village elders to hiking. But, here's what we got from the night:

Great vibe, very friendly, easy to reserve a room over the phone and check in. We shared a 2-bedroom cottage - my husband and I in one room and 2 single guys in the other. It was fine for one night but might have been awkward for longer as the 4 of us were sharing one bathroom and kitchen. The room was pretty old and dingy. The door was hard to open and close without making a total racket. The room just seemed kind of musty and could use updating. Electrical outlet didn't seem to work. But, it's cheap, so what do you expect?

Nice pool as well, though it was too cold to use on our October visit. Nice beach volleyball grounds. Beautiful beach, though wavy and windy – better for surfing than swimming!

There are a lot of free activities, like free canoes to take up the river, free sundowners and free hikes. That's cool. The common area has a nice shop with locally made products - something you don't usually see in hostels.

Breakfast, made by local women, was great. Didn't try any other food.

Overall, a fine stop for one night, but even though this is one of the easier Wild Coast places to reach, we liked other places on the Wild Coast better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

we are from east london and had never visited this jewel
wife and i (+-50 yr old couple) were there at end of sept.2011 what fun we old timers had.
the en-suite accomodation was cheap , clean and set in beautiful surroundings.
the booze cruize was laid back and informitive and shared with many interesting visiting foreigners and their travel stories.
the traditional supper was great tasting and excellent value with a lovely view.
the staff were helpful and friendly as were all the guests who having a ball.
the bar was pumping till late had a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with food on hand to order , pool table the center to congregate around and swap stories.
there are braai facilities nearby if you wanted to be more romantic and on your own.
the wine was free on the free cruise as well as tea/coffee in the lounge.
will be back - soon with some friends , can't keep this to my self

Room Tip: there are rooms to suite all - from en-suites to tents for the adventurous or just to be different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.