We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Put your deposit in NOW-before your timeslot fills up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cardon Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sinaloa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardon Adventure Resort
Save
You added Cardon Adventure Resort to your Saves list
north of Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Sinaloa
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Put your deposit in NOW-before your timeslot fills up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you've been to Cardon before, you should know that it is completely different now. If you have never been to Cardon and you are looking at this review, you are at least considering it, so claim your spot. Today. Just put in your deposit to guarantee that you will be able to have an absolutely AMAZING trip.
When I say it's different, I mean Cardon MOVED up the beach. Remember when you used to have to walk up the beach from camp a few years ago? Now it's right out front. I mean, roll over in your bed-lay in your hammock-sip a cocktail in the pool-sit on your private balcony-eating lunch in the A/C and check out the surf OUT FRONT.
I am not going to mention too much about the surf here. You're thinking about going to Cardon, so you've seen the videos and read about the warm water and how private it is. Plus, if I say too much...It might be even more difficult to claim a spot. You know what I mean...There are only 16 spots available each week. This pretty much ensures that the lineup will be uncrowded and everyone will get plenty of surf. Just dont come down out of shape.
The resort (used to be more like a surf camp, now it's luxurious) is pretty much all alone on the beach. Yes, there's all that Mexican Drug Cartel crap going on...it's in Sinaloa, Mexico. If you're not a drug dealer or a weapons trade kinda person, you'll be fine-especially once you get to Cardon. They will pick you up at the airport and drive you directly to the gated resort. Once you are in-you will have forgotten all about that stuff anyway. It truly is NOT an issue. There is security 24 hours a day. A guard is litterally sitting outside all night, walking the property. I felt very safe.
You have seen everyone else's reviews on the food. Yes, it's delicious. And there are PLENTY of mealtimes, so you will never go hungry. A couple of things to add: they will try to accomodate your strange allergies and cook your food to order, but everyone pretty much has the same meal as each other for lunch and dinnertimes. The food is all included in the price of your stay, so eat up! Dinnertime is enjoyed as a group. Like, everyone (all 10-16 people) staying at the resort eats together at a huge table. Breakfast, snacks and lunch are on your own time, depending on when you want to get out of the water-or roll in. Another thing, it's not as gourmet as some people say, so dont be scared of some exquisite meal. It's really nice, dont get me wrong, but if you're used to drive-thru dining, this is more like a home cooked meal*and not always Mexican food, either. A Variety of Cold Beers and a Full Bar is available to you 24 hours a day too. The cost of your drinks is additional and is kept by an honor system of tally marks. Bring extra money to pay your tab at the end of your stay. You can use a credit card if you are the winner of "Who got the most Tally Marks", but be prepared to pay an extra 6% on top of your international charges when you use a credit card.
You will also have to pay for any fishing trips or massages ($30 for an hour) you get upon the completion of your trip.
You dont really need to bring much else. Obviously, your board(s) and an extra leash and your regular stuff like clothes and you know..other crap. What I mean is, at Cardon they want to make it as easy as possible for you and they have had plenty of people over the years that have made suggestions or asked for enough stuff so it's pretty much stocked. These are some things you dont need to bring because they have it: Shampoo and Conditioner in your room, snacks (except nuts, they dont have nuts) Surf movies, Deck of Cards, Smashball, Books, Pepto, warm water wax (but you should get it just so the guy selling it to you will be jealous), Beach towels, International plugs-not necessary, and soft toilet paper.
Your room is going to be amazing. A Huge step up from the old Cardon. The beds are super comfy and SUPER Clean. The construction of this place has been done very well and they spared no expense for your privacy. What I mean here is that if you are having your massage or even better, having sex...the other guests wont hear a thing from your room. There is a wall mounted flat screen TV in your room with a dvd player. The TV has all the hookups so if you want to watch surfing you (or someone else) recorded on your videocamera, you can hook it up*bring your cables. There are plenty of outlets to charge all your crap. The wi-fi doesnt work so well in your room, but it works perfect (and fast) in the common room. The bathroom is a decent size with a private area for the toilet. All the fixtures and the tile is really nice and the room is decorated beautifully. There is also a small hotel fridge with a coffee maker in your room. The fridge is stocked with beers and sodas and even ICE CREAM BARS! Just be sure to keep those tally marks going. You will be super comfy...No bugs inside and A/C works like a champ.
The service at this place is Crazy Awesome. Everyone that works here wants you to write a good review somewhere and it shows. (Not that they ask for it or even know that you will feel it's necessary right when you get home) They want you to be as comfortably satisfied as possible on a vacation. From the surf to the cleanliness to the detail of your afternoon snack, these people are working for YOU. It's so cool-and they are down to earth and laid back. When you go home, you will have met some awesome people. Not just the staff (that have worked here for years), but the other guests at the property.
By the end of your incredible week at Cardon you would have surfed your brains out-in WARM water, completely relaxed, taken a NAP or two in the middle of a workday, enjoyed delicious food, read a book, played a game or two of ping pong, walked along the beach, got a suntan, had a massage, caught a fish, and made some really interesting new friendships. Oh-and you will have reserved a spot for your next trip to Cardon.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms get to walk out onto the lawn straight for the beach, but upstairs balconies are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leucadia, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Cardon is amazing. I have never written a review before and this trip was so good I felt compelled to share the reasons why it was so good. First of all, I am a woman and traveled to Cardon with another woman. I have to say we were a little nervous going somewhere new in Mexico neither one of us had ever been before. The staff reassured us it was completely safe. Not only did we feel safe while we were there, we never felt like we needed to lock our door or put our valuables in a “safe place”. We were picked up at the airport by the Cardon staff and transported the hour drive to the resort. Once you enter the gates you have arrived and you are literally in PARADISE. There is no need to go anywhere else once you are at Cardon. Staff is on site 24 hours a day seven days a week!! If you need anything they are more than happy to help you.
The week was so relaxing and peaceful. The pool and Jacuzzi area are perfect to kick back and read your favorite book. The beach is really clean. The staff takes such pride in their property that they are out at dawn every morning picking up anything that might have washed up over night. We saw lots of dolphins playing right offshore and even spotted a flock of Pink Flamingos flying over!
Ok, let’s get to the food…. AMAZING. I am what I would consider a “picky eater” and I loved the food. You will not go hungry at Cardon. Even if you miss a meal because you are surfing or napping the chef will happily accommodate you!
The surfing is EPIC. There is something for everyone. If you are a beginner there is an area where it is easier to learn. If you have kids they have boogie boards you can use. If you are an experienced surfer you will love the two point breaks which are absolutely un-crowded long peeling lefts.
You will not be disappointed if you stay at Cardon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a really special place. The surf is great, the food amazing and the service even better. It's very unique, even in the boutique hotel arena. When you are here, you are here. So this is type of place for people who like to go into the city. Here you surf, eat and relax. Walking on the miles of beach is an option for people who don't surf and want some exercise. But this is a place where you can really unwind.

The pool and jacuzzi and clean and beautiful. The rooms and clean and nice. Comfy beds. Flat screen tv's with dvd player in room.

It's unique b/c you eat all meals together with the rest of the 14 guests. Only 16 people are here at a time. If you don't make one of the times the staff is always willing to make you something. And they run this place like it's an extension of you home. Go behind the bar and make yourself a drink if someone isn't there to serve you, which most of the time they are:)
It's so cute b/c you write down on a sheet all the drinks and snacks you have and it's all the honor system. Everything is included. All the fresh water you can drink, juice, milk etc. The honor system is for alcohol and extra goodies if you choose.

We will be back.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms. They are all equally as good. 4 upstairs might have a slightly better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I traveled to a lot of spots over my 45 years of surfing, each one started out uncrowded but as the years go by each of the spots I have traveled to got more and more crowded and I would check them off my list as "no fun any more". I have been to Cardon 8 or 10 times and each time the crowds have not been a factor except Sundays when the locals show up. The last trip at the beginning of August we had 13 guys in the camp and 90% of the time it was just our group in the water. Surfing with just your friends is as good as it gets especially if someone eats it, we all get to rub it in. Great food, service, rooms, pool, and the surf is good. Be ready to paddle the wave is long and if it is big there will be a rip but still fun rideable surf.

Room Tip: Every room has a veiw of the surf
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Been back a week and we're all still buzzing about this place. Location - just sit up in bed and check it, grab your board and paddle out. Surf is fun for all levels. Our American host Jeff was gracious in and out of the water. Ideal for families. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is our second trip to Cardon this year. We obviously love this place. We are greeted by the drivers at the airport and whisked off to the resort. As soon as the van enters the gates to Cardon you get a tranquil feeling of being in paradise. We are greeted by Omar, one of the managing owners and the friendly staff. If you're lucky, you may even get to meet some of the other owners of the property like Jeff and Sergio. The management and staff are very warm and attentive. The property is absolutely stunning. I love the infinity pool and jacuzzi that overlooks the ocean and the beautiful teak furniture that we get to lounge on.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with modern bathroom fixtures, travertine floors that feel cool on your feet and the comfortable beds made up in white linens. They also come with free WiFi. The flatscreen TV's are mainly for watching DVD's. Every room has a colorful hammock hanging outside your balcony or patio waiting for you to fall into it with the sound of the waves in the background.
The food here is outstanding. The daily menu for the week is posted in advance. If you have food allergies or do not like something on the menu, they are more than willing to make changes. You will never go hungry here. There are scheduled meal times where the staff is there to wait on you, but the kitchen is open to you to fix something to eat or to grab drinks and snacks around the clock. Who needs room service!
Here's another nice touch. They let you make free calls to the States to check on the kids or pets, etc. I have never heard of that.....not for free.

Room Tip: I like the upstairs rooms because I like the balcony and the views from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My fiancé and I recently had the opportunity to travel to this amazing hotel one hour north of Mazatlan. To merely say that we'd visit again doesn't truly capture the enthusiasm we felt about every aspect of our experience.

Upon arriving into Mexico, guests are provided transportation to the resort from the airport, which was very convenient. We were greeted with friendly smiles from all of the staff and guests we were meeting for the first time. The accommodations are superb, but the vibe is very laid back. This boutique hotel allows you privacy in your rooms, but also encourages a sense of community with your fellow guests, as you share all of your meals together. Every room has a balcony overlooking the Pacific, so even if you are not a surfer, you can enjoy reading a book in the canopy or watching the surfers in the water.

As a surfer, I was amazed with the wave quality and consistency. As a female surfer, I was even more exited by the uncrowded, friendly lineup. If you surfer girls are sick of crowded breaks teeming with testosterone, this is your place. And if your surfer guys are sick of it too, I can't think of a better place to enjoy great waves, amazing food, and friendly staff. Thanks to Jeff, Omar, and the rest of the crew for making our experience so memorable. Oh, and yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean, so there isn't really a
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardon Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardon Adventure Resort

Address: north of Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Sinaloa
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cardon Adventure Hotel Sinaloa
Cardon Adventure Resort Mexico/Sinaloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardon Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.