We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, peaceful and lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins to your Saves list
Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4273 Chemin des Tulipes, La Conception, Quebec J0T 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, peaceful and lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends as we cycled the Petit Train du Nord trail. We got a little lost trying to find the B&B as we were looking for directions from the path to turn onto another path. However, we ended up following the sign on Station Road to ride on the highway to get there.

The location of the B&B is gorgeous, sitting amongst tall trees on the bank of the Riviere Rouge. Even though it was September, we put on our bathing suits and waded into the sandy bottomed river. The cold water helped our leg muscles.

Dinner was yummy, they have a liquor license if you want to have wine with dinner. Breakfast had a surprising number of hot menu choices. It was wonderful to see deer meandering in the side yard during our dinner, they have a salt block out to attract them and they are frequent visitors, including a doe and fawn, and unafraid to stroll through the yard.

They have a very interesting home, we enjoyed sitting in the living room amongst their lovely furnishings. A lot of thought has gone into the collection of art, furniture and decoration. It was very comfy, especially after our second day of cycling!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn four times so far during the Ironman and Half Ironman events. Its a 10 minute drive from the village and nice and quiet! There is a river running behind the Inn and its great for relaxing. The food is great and the couple running the Inn are very friendly. I will not hesitate to head back there for more visits. Plus, if you love cycling, there are a number of beautiful roads and paths that you can use close to the Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I will start with the positives - the owner of the inn, Claude, is lovely and kind. I had dealt with him on the phone for reservations, and got a very good first impression because of his service. The location and grounds of the inn are beautiful and restful. Again, first impressions were good!

The other owner of the inn, Odelle, is rude and very unpleasant. Although there was only one other couple staying in the inn, we were given the smallest, oldest room. As I was travelling with a girlfriend, a larger room would have served us better, or at least the option of a second room at an additional charge. Nothing else was offered and frankly, our presence seemed like an inconvenience to Odelle.
At dinner time, I was rudely told to put shoes on "as this was a formal dining room", but had been told to remove them upon entering the inn. There was another nice couple that we were conversing with, and were told to "be quiet and eat while the food is hot". We were certainly rendered speechless at this over-the-top rude request. The food was very disappointing and of poor quality. The next morning at breakfast, poached eggs turned out to be microwaved eggs thrown on a plate.
If you have any allergies or chemical sensitivities, you could not stay here. The amount of fabric softener used on sheets and towels was ridiculous and permeated throughout the inn.
We both felt quite sorry for Claude, as his business partner ruins the experience of staying here. Our advice would be for her to work behind the scenes ONLY, hire a chef, and have Claude deal with the guests. Our stay was a complete waste of time and money. How sad, in such a beautiful area of Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's rare to be the guest in an auberge where you and your entire party are treated with complerte contempt and rudeness by the hostess. Over the course of our stay we were constantly scolded and ordered around. It was a highly unpleasant experience and one whch we will definitely not repeat. The crowning glory was on check out when it was made very clear that a service charge was expected for the hospitality. Visit at your own peril.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It started well, with a welcome from Claude and an invitation to treat the house like home. We dutifully removed our shoes (I'd read about the house rules and was happy to comply) and donned the crocks as instructed then listened to the list of "dos and don'ts" from his brittle wife Audille.
We had a swim in the river then ordered a couple of beers and went downstairs to relax before dinner. Big mistake. DO NOT RELAX HERE or let your guard down at any time. I walked a few steps in bare feet and was shouted at : "It is bad hygiene" she said as I hastily stuck my feet back in the crocks worn by countless other visitors.
Then she saw our beer on the table. "Is this yours?" she demanded. When we said yes she picked it up, thrust the cans into our hands and told us we couldn't drink it there.
"But your husband sold it to us," I pointed out.
"Oh well that's alright then. I didn't recognise the brand," she said without apology. "But you're not allowed to bring your own alcohol." As if we'd be cycling 200km with saddlebags full of beer!
By now we were thoroughly uncomfortable in her presence but hoped at least for decent food. The only choice we'd been given was the main course and we'd ordered chicken. The starter turned out to be soup, made of carrot (no choice - I'd never order soup when the temperatures are in the mid 20s). There were MORE carrots with the grey chicken and overcooked green beans. I predicted carrot cake for dessert - clearly they had access to a cheap job lot - but it was a tasteless flan instead. She started busying around setting the tables for breakfast even as we ate dessert so we went to bed early.
The room was small with air con and the bathroom was tiny.
One final tip. On no account should you order the crepes with blueberries for breakfast. I expected fresh blueberries but what I got was a disgusting overheated lump of blueberry jam heaped over some dry crepes. It was inedible. And the strawberry jam in small sachets are so old and solid they were unusable.
We felt sorry for Claude who was always polite but looked seriously henpecked. As other reviewers have said, he really shouldn't let his wife anywhere near the guests. Or the kitchen.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air con so be sure to ask for one if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my third time there and wouldn't go anywhere else. We were greeted by dear the minute we got there and they were all around the auberge while we were there. The quietness was unbelievable. Great hosts once again. Felt like I was visiting family. Claude and Audille were so welcoming....The best meals! Ask for the fish. Unbelievable...Minutes from Mont Tremblant, quaint shops everywhere. On the Red River. Take the time to ask about the auberge. Fascinating building. No matter what season you go, you will not be disappointed and the price was very reasonable. Can't wait to go back again.....

Room Tip: We were in the blue room at the end of the building. Great room, windows all around and the best wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited this lovely Auberge recently.
There are not enough words to describe how lovely it was there...peaceful, beautiful, charming and run by a wonderful couple.
Our hosts were wonderful, charming and generous of their time to make sure that we had a lovely stay and enjoyed every minute of our time there.
The decor is perfect and the rooms are beautifully done.
The property is beautiful and it was so charming to look out our bedroom window and see the deer greet us good morning.
The meals were delicious and beautifully prepared.
It was so quiet and restful we wish we could have stayed much longer.
I would highly recommend this lovely spot...you will not be disappointed.
We can't wait to make a return visit.
Julia

Room Tip: they are all beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins

Address: 4273 Chemin des Tulipes, La Conception, Quebec J0T 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Conception
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Conception
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn was build in 1995-96 to reflect the country house of the 1920.It is a ecological construction on the shore of the Rivière Rouge -in a pin tree forest. - Yes you can swim in the summer time, the river is all in sand. We are WI-FI - (free) We have our liquor board permit and restauration permit upon reservation (only)Full breakfast is include in the price of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge a La Croisee Des Chemins La Conception, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge a la Croisee des Chemins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.