We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France with love á la hongrois” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desszert Szalon

Desszert Szalon
Koztarsasag ut 21, Vac, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Vac
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“France with love á la hongrois”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

When I was working in France I loved being there because of its high gastronomy from the restaurants to the pastries. I loved Jean Luc Pelé...
In this pastry I can recall that feeling. The designer cakes, the macarons are magnificent and very delicious... Every piece is a bite from France with a Hungarian piquancy. That's the reason why we buy cakes in a relative expensive place. (In France these masterpieces are duble more expensives than here). I only can recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious and overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited this place after a friend recommended. It's not very easy to find. The cakes look delicious, really as designer cakes should look. However, considering that we are way out of the tourist path, the prices are higher than on the most tourist trap-y places in Budapest...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy little bits of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our innkeeper, a former chef, recommended this bakery, which is really a patisserie/gelato shop. It's a lovely spot to sit outdoors and relax with a dessert and coffee or gelato as a break from sightseeing. We actually we back 2 times in 2 days!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Worse than it used to be & should be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

After a long while we returned for some desserts to Desszertszalon and bought 5 different kinds of nice-looking cakes at a very high price but were very disappointed as none of them tasted really. I have to tell you this was not the case last year or before. The prices went up and the quality went down in my opinion.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desszert Szalon also viewed

 
Vac, Pest County
 

Been to Desszert Szalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desszert Szalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.