We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunsets and fun dinner theatre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Save Saved
You added Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cow Head
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunsets and fun dinner theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in a cottage, separate from the main hotel. There were four or five units (bedroom and bath) and a shared kitchen/sitting area. We ate at the pub once (pretty ordinary fare), attended the dinner theatre one night (still ordinary fare, but the play was very well done --an enjoyable evening) and one night we cooked dinner in the microwave in the kitchen. Finding ingredients for dinner was challenging since the grocery store in Cow Head has less choice that a city convenience store, but we managed. Sometimes it was hard to find a seat at breakfast (included in our room rate) because of the bus tour groups that stop here. We also appreciated the hotel's laundromat. The best part of our stay here was the walk on the tidal flats and then sitting on the cottage deck watching the colours change in the magnificent sunsets. We stayed three nights here and visited attractions in Gros Morne during the day. Another time, one night would have been enough, to see the dinner theatre and take the Western Brook Pond tour, then I would move down to Norris Point to visit the southern part of the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
While it's true that we live in small community with limited resources, we make every attempt to meet our guests' needs. Our affiliation with the Gros Morne Theatre Festival has been beneficial in that our visitors can experience professional theatre in a cozy setting. Thank you for your review and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ONTARIO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here twice in one week. I didn't expect this place to be so close to the road and situated in a small town with no other restaurants nearby other than their own. The first room we had was a basic, clean, quiet motel room. The second room we had was in a guest house with about 4 rooms total. This was located beside the main building and was very new and modern. It also had a door that opened out onto a balcony that faced a rocky shoreline. You have to go to the main building if you want ice. If you want to use their pool or hot tub you have to sign a key out from the front desk. The staff were very friendly and helpful about tourist information. They have a theatre next door which we didn't attend. There were some tour buses there on our visit so the restaurant can become very busy. The food was good in the restaurant and I would probably stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that our community cannot offer visitors a wide variety of dining experiences and our property does cater to bus groups thus making our dining room quite busy at times, however, Management does make every effort to provide guests with quality food and our best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at Shallow Bay on numerous occasions and my basic comment is that they are getting better, although still over-priced. We stayed in a new Cabin which is not connected to the motel and to be honest I was pleasantly surprised at the quality. I had stayed at the cabins 10 years ago and it was no treat. Our cabin is attached and bordered the main road which meant that on the weekend it was noisy. For the Cabin itself I would give them a 5 but it is the other things. We were promised internet but with a Laptop, iPad and 2 iPhones we were unable to get a decent connection, and no offer of a reduction in price. There was also a levy of about $5 a night that was not explained. We planned to eat at the restaurant at the motel, but did so only once. Burned frozen french fries are not classy anywhere. Also, this has been one of the warmest summers in many years in Newfoundland and there was no a/c in the cottage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your review. At Shallow Bay Motel, we strive to provide guests with a positive experience, thereby creating return guests. In that vein, we have gone through considerable expense to provide guests with Wi-Fi. While it is true that from time to time we experience interuptions in our service, for the most part our internet service is quite good and getting better. For those guests who wish to have air conditioned accomodations, we offer 64 units that are equipped with it. As for the Levy, we must charge a 3% Levy on accomodations as we are located in Gros Morne National Park(It is my understanding that this is common practice in many locales. i.e.St. John's, etc.). Any and all comments are welcome as they give us the opportunity to improve and put guests' minds to rest by answering any concerns they may have. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washago on.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent July 2nd and 3rd at this resort and other than having a good nights sleep the money spent was just not worth it. We definately would bypass this resort if visiting the area again.All the advertising indicated a much better accomadation than was realized. We could not with a clear conscience promote this resort to our friends visiting the Cow Head area in the future.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra to up-grade to an ocean view room (without a free breakfast). It's not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate your review. However, it is difficult to answer your comments without knowing specifically what problems you encountered. At Shallow Bay Motel we strive to make guests' experience a positive one. Please feel free to contact us or leave another review with specifics. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Motel July 23 - 25. We upgraded for only 15 dollars to the ocean view room. We ended up in a room with a great little patio about 15 feet from the ocean. The room was basic and clean with everything we needed, however we spent most of our time on the patio relaxing.

The theater festival is on during the summer, we went to two shows and would have stayed for a third if we did not have to travel on. The actors, costume design and stage sets where all top notch. The shows were funny and rich with culture. I recommend to everyone traveling to Gros Morne to make a point of booking one of the shows, you will not be disappointed.

The restaurant offers a basic selection of comfort foods. Not a five star but keeps true to the Gros Morne restaurant feeling. If you want a different dinner option check out the cafe on main street just by the botanical gardens. She by far served us the best fish and chips on the Island.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the side house was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It pleases us that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The cottages are spacious and clean however they are not on the beach as per the indication on the website, are lined up in a row on pavement with no view and are somewhat expensive. The beach is a few blocks away. There is no breakfast when you pay more $ for the cottages.

We ate dinner at the Shallow Bay motel restaurant. It was, by far, the worst meal we have had on our trip or anywhere. The salad dressing, from a bottle, is served separately from the caesar salad and the bacon bits are fake. The chicken and fish were both made from frozen as were the fries and I did ask if the fish was made in house prior to ordering and the answer was yes - it most definitely was a frozen pre-battered fish. The chicken in the chicken caesar salad (very small portion for a main course) was poor quality flakes of dark meat. The meal was expensive and very disappointing. We went to the cabin and had popcorn.

Room Tip: Stay in Rocky Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. I must say that nowhere on our website is it stated that our cabins face the ocean. Our main building is on the oceanside and our cabins are just across the street, not blocks away. The rate for the cabins is more than for a motel room as you are basically renting a small house with cooking facilities. So sorry that you were not pleased by the meals you had at our restaurant, but the Fish and Chips is certainly made right here on site with our own special batter-not prebattered frozen fish as you seem to think. I would hope that if you weren't satisfied with your meal, you sent it back to the kitchen. Management would wish to know if the food was sub-par. At any rate, we do appreciate your comments. Rest assured that I have made your concerns known to Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for one night in the B&B J&Js which is part of this motel. There were 3 adults and a child who shared a very comfortable room at the very reasonable cost of 129 dollars. Breakfast was included in this price and it was excellent. The diningroom was spacious with lovely views. We ate in the sportsbar in the evening and my husband hadd the best BLT he has had in Canada. We would not hesitate to recommemd this motel - excellent value for money and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.