We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Save Saved
You added Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cow Head
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Motel July 23 - 25. We upgraded for only 15 dollars to the ocean view room. We ended up in a room with a great little patio about 15 feet from the ocean. The room was basic and clean with everything we needed, however we spent most of our time on the patio relaxing.

The theater festival is on during the summer, we went to two shows and would have stayed for a third if we did not have to travel on. The actors, costume design and stage sets where all top notch. The shows were funny and rich with culture. I recommend to everyone traveling to Gros Morne to make a point of booking one of the shows, you will not be disappointed.

The restaurant offers a basic selection of comfort foods. Not a five star but keeps true to the Gros Morne restaurant feeling. If you want a different dinner option check out the cafe on main street just by the botanical gardens. She by far served us the best fish and chips on the Island.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the side house was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It pleases us that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The cottages are spacious and clean however they are not on the beach as per the indication on the website, are lined up in a row on pavement with no view and are somewhat expensive. The beach is a few blocks away. There is no breakfast when you pay more $ for the cottages.

We ate dinner at the Shallow Bay motel restaurant. It was, by far, the worst meal we have had on our trip or anywhere. The salad dressing, from a bottle, is served separately from the caesar salad and the bacon bits are fake. The chicken and fish were both made from frozen as were the fries and I did ask if the fish was made in house prior to ordering and the answer was yes - it most definitely was a frozen pre-battered fish. The chicken in the chicken caesar salad (very small portion for a main course) was poor quality flakes of dark meat. The meal was expensive and very disappointing. We went to the cabin and had popcorn.

Room Tip: Stay in Rocky Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. I must say that nowhere on our website is it stated that our cabins face the ocean. Our main building is on the oceanside and our cabins are just across the street, not blocks away. The rate for the cabins is more than for a motel room as you are basically renting a small house with cooking facilities. So sorry that you were not pleased by the meals you had at our restaurant, but the Fish and Chips is certainly made right here on site with our own special batter-not prebattered frozen fish as you seem to think. I would hope that if you weren't satisfied with your meal, you sent it back to the kitchen. Management would wish to know if the food was sub-par. At any rate, we do appreciate your comments. Rest assured that I have made your concerns known to Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for one night in the B&B J&Js which is part of this motel. There were 3 adults and a child who shared a very comfortable room at the very reasonable cost of 129 dollars. Breakfast was included in this price and it was excellent. The diningroom was spacious with lovely views. We ate in the sportsbar in the evening and my husband hadd the best BLT he has had in Canada. We would not hesitate to recommemd this motel - excellent value for money and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B experience, with a warm and personnal touch, home cooking and personalised decorative touches, this is not what you are buying in to. However, if you are looking for a clean motel room with breakfast included and a great view, the Bay View B&B offers a fair value. Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable, there is a patio overlooking the bay. When we visited there were only 2 patio chairs for the four rooms. There is also a small kitchen area with a fridge and stove that could be used. The breakfast included is a restaurant type, one egg breakfast with choice of meat, toast and beverage. Fruit juice not included. Service was friendly.

Room Tip: if you choose to stay at Shallow Bay, the Bay view b&b rooms offers better value for the money t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! We find that so many people enjoy our B & Bs because they offer great value and are more economical than motel rooms. We strive to provide our guests with a variety of options and pricepoints. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
520 reviews 520 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here twice. First time, in the MOTEL, where the two queen beds were each too close to the wall to exit the bed on the wall side. Second time, we stayed in the B & B, which was CHEAPER, and x 1,000 times better (rooms facing the sea and the spectacular sunsets, plus a large shared kitchen!)

The breakfasts were calorie-laden, but tasty. Very friendly wait-staff. Attentive manager.

Attend the theatre, it's good!

Room Tip: Ask if one of the rooms in the B & B is available. These offer the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I ended up here as my first few choices were all closed for the season. It's a decent motel with nice concierge staff. The room was right on the water, which was lovely. I was told it would normally cost more, but she charged me the non-view rate. I actually expected this - being off-season with only a few guests. Restaurant was oddly formal and the food was not great. I'd recommend trying somewhere else, if you can. The bar, where you could buy bottled water for your room, was dreary - as a solo female, I didn't feel like it would be a warm place to sit and relax. Slept great. Good shower.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were there with a coach tour. The rooms are simple but provide all you need. The beds were good. The food in the dining room is good. The manager came by our table and asked us to let him know if anything about our stay needed to be addressed. All the staff were friendly. The motel building is attached to the local little theatre, so we were able to attend the last night of the season. Very good. This isn't a Hilton, but the Shallow Bay serves the purpose well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We at Shallow Bay Motel strive to meet our customers' needs and we appreciate all comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.