We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bay National Historic Site

Red Bay National Historic Site
Highway 510, Red Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Red Bay
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Red bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great museum of artefacts of the site. Parks Canada staff know everything and are friendly and and made our visit fun.
Great views over the bay

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Township, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Finally, paved roads! The visitor center is informative, and the people are friendly. Be sure to ask about partridge berries, pick and eat some.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality site and lots of stuff to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Plan to spend most of the day here - there is a lot to see and it is worth the drive from the ferry docks. Make sure to eat fish cakes at the cute little restaurant by the gift shop. We took the $2 (what a bargain!) boat ride over to Saddle Island, were given a little map of where the artifacts were found and felt like we were in a Wes Anderson movie. I did not know much of the history about this place before coming, but I learned a lot and the exhibits were excellent and did a good job of telling the story. This is one of the best National Historic sites I have visited.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“So Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Before visiting the Red Bay Historic Site, I'd known nothing about the Basque whalers who'd come to the area centuries ago. It's a fascinating story, and the historic site does a great job of explaining both the whalers' history and archaeologists' ongoing efforts to learn more about that history. In addition, the setting of the historic site is truly stunning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
267 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Fascinating tale of Basque whaling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Before coming here, I knew that the Portuguese came fishing to Newfoundland. I did not know that the Basques, speakers of what is probably the most ancient language in Europe, came hunting whales here! The Bay was Red with whale blood....

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bay National Historic Site also viewed

Been to Red Bay National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bay National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.