We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, but the restaurant!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Roi Arthur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Roi Arthur to your Saves list
Le Roi Arthur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Lac au Duc, 56800 Ploermel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Ouen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but the restaurant!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The setting is great, plenty of parking for the Jersey cars and party that arrived, a warm welcome was received. Our rooms were comfortable with a balcony giving us wonderful views over the golf course and lake and we were pleased of the tea/coffee facilities. Apart from the 19 of us there were maybe 6 other dinner guests, approx a third of the restaurant capacity. Speaking on behalf of 3 of the party, we found the set dinner menu limited, one choice per course, but were offered one alternative which some took. Our duck starter with curry sauce set in between mille feuille sheets was tasty, but the main course of Lotte (monkfish) was awful. It was served cool on cold plates and some of the fish was raw, 4 were sent back from 5 served at our table. The alternative -loin of pork was undercooked and red. Very disappointing as we have stayed at Le Roi Arthur 4 times before so we know that it can serve a much better dining experience. Perhaps the main chef was away and it was a limited staff that looked after us? But congratulations to Jean-Pierre who received the many complaints with a smile on his face. Sadly it will be quite a while before we visit this hotel again. Dawn

Room Tip: If you eat in the restaurant, sit on your serviette as the chairs are plastic and it is can be damp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your trust and your fidelity. We have red your message with interest. We have understood that you were disappointed with your dinner especially because ot wasn't cooked enough. If you red the others reviews our restaurant is very appreciated and recommended. So we are sure that evening was exceptionnal. The Chief was not here but his Second and all the staff are very good and involved in the Cuisine. Please, we hope you will visit you again. You need to give us a second chance. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    58
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
105
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff pretty good and welcoming a strange lounge set up or lack of. Nice walk around the lake Free vend on the pool table, which helps given the Swimming Pool was completely cloudy and full of bacteria as a result needless to say we did not use it or the Spa in fear of the same. And the toilet pan within the room was cracked! which put a mystery twist on using the Thomas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have not stayed at Le Roi Arthur hotel, but we did stop in for a lunch en route to Carnac, thanks to a Red Guide recommendation, and we were very happy we did. A moderately priced three-course menu du jour offered a number of delights, including an extremely well-executed Seven-Hour Lamb dish; a starter of prosciutto and melon, and dessert (a small but superb creme brulee) also were excellent. Service was polished and friendly; a nice touch was that once the servers established that we were passing through the area they asked us what sort of pace we wanted for the meal, and the moderate pacing that resulted worked out very well. The view out onto the golf course and lake were an added bonus. In all, the restaurant at Le Roi Arthur was a very lucky find, and gave us a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam, we are very pleased that you enjoy your Gourmet moment at the Roi Arthur restaurant. Indeed, we are recommended by the Red Guide with 3 forks assuring our client of the finesse the inventiveness of our dishes. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our restaurant…or even in our Spa-hôtel whose view on the lac will surely please you.
Best regards,
Hélène Le Saux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is situated in very nice surroundings. A beautiful golf field and a lake with ducks were fantastic. The parking is not a problem because there is a lot of parking space for the cars. You need to have a car to go around because the hotel is not in the Ploermel city center. The hotel is two floors. We have been there for a business trip with 4 of my colleagues. One of my colleagues stayed at the ground floor room which was small and there was no minibar at the room. On the other hand my room was at the second floor and it was a big room and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean but there was no central heating in the bathroom. There was an electrical heater hanged on top of the bathroom door and you can’t keep the bathroom warm because you can’t keep that electrical heater on for a long time.
The bed was clean and cozy but again there was a problem of heating also inside of the room too. The heater element in the room was small so it was not enough to heat the room easily. I had to put one extra blanket while I sleep. The internet was free and fast enough to complete the necessary tasks. And finally, there was no AC in the room. It was winter so I didn’t need it but in the summer it can be also a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for giving us the possibility to improve our customer experience by sharing your comment on the hotel. The Roi Arthur hotel has a global heating system and 16 Rooms are equipped with their own Air Conditionning system. Moreover the heating in the bathroom are automatic and stop after 7-8 minutes in order to preserve the environment and optimize the temperature in the room.

Hoping to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Hélène Le Saux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, with superior service and knowledgeable, polite staff. The restaurant is smart with a view of the lake and an accomplished menu. The wine list was substantial and the bar was manned at all times with food available on the terrace. The rooms were spacious and quiet even though the hotel was full during our stay. The lake and the golf course added to the overall good impression presented by this modern hotel.

Room Tip: Even the ground floor rooms have good views because of this hotels design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

we stayed in the suite overlooking the lake and golf course and were delighted in every respect.The old adage was shown to be correct you get what you pay for.Ecellent.
The restaraunt food matched the quality of the hotel, wnd we will undoubtedly return

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were in Beignon for 2 nights and just wanted to experience some Brittany restaurants. This hotel about 20km away came recommended for its restaurant, I think Chevelle, or similar, and the hotel is set near the Lake au Duc, the Duke Lake, which is really very nice.

Also there is a golf course but we saw no one on it at 6 p with still 3 hours of day light left in March. We walked for about 20 minutes by the Lake and in was very pleasent.

The restaurant is on the 2nd level overlooking the Lake, and it is one of those buildings that it is better to look out of (with a nice view of the Lake and the setting sun), then look at, since it is a plain modern building with no character compared to the historic looking buildings in the town and villages in the location.

The menu was interesting but I can say the service was lethargic, we waited nearly 20 minutes for our order to be taken, had to ask for some bread as we were getting hungary, and it even longer to get the entree. I had the scallops on special which was nice, and then the beef for the set course cheaper menu which was great. I enjoyed it a lot and the potatoes were good. Not sure what the green vegetable was, it looked unusual and I have never seen it before. However, my colleagues had the beef with the foie gras but the beef was so tough it could not be cut with the knife provided, and the 7 hour cooking lamb which was dry and stringy. The beef was replaced with a much better piece. I did not have a dessert but my colleagues had the cheese plate, with 4 local varieties of cheese, nice but not really spectacular. The bill was about Euro 45 each, with a bottle of wine. Not too bad in my opinion and I though the dishes I had were good. But the service was (to be polite) leisurely and there was not a big crowd. Still I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Roi Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roi Arthur

Address: Le Lac au Duc, 56800 Ploermel, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Ploermel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Roi Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the middle of an 18-hectare ancestral estate, Hôtel Le Roi Arthur is a contemporary-style structure providing an array of panoramic views : sky, golf course and lake. Nestled in the heart of Brittany, the hotel offers comfortable and relaxing accommodations. Extend your relaxation to the well-being center that features a spa with a sauna, hammam, heated indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Enjoy a creative cuisine in the dining room or on the terrace in the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Le Roi Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Roi Arthur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.