We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a fantastic stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saraii Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saraii Village to your Saves list
Saraii Village
Randunu Kale Watta | Weerawila, Tissamaharama 82632, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
1 review
“we had a fantastic stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.we had a fantastic stay here.

Room Tip: Very Nice Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Thank you again!
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    10
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Saraii is a great place for nature lovers and a perfect getaway for the Yala nature park.他名字很特别时代表essence的意思。本店离weerawila junction要做个一个tuktuk大概200斯里兰卡钱帛。到了那边热情的Hassan来接你带你去她美丽的特色tree house,nature是这家店的特点附近可以做车到好几个风景,服务员来欢迎你也送你一个特色饮料。附近的湖可以看点sunset还有好几种鸟,yala里面有wild大象和好多很可爱的动物。,离开了中国大城市到了这种地方会给个人一个特好的感觉,安静,放松。。。。他们自己弄的菜是我在斯里兰卡吃过的最地道,吃的时候经常有小鸟来旁边看看你。我在那边但放松了两天不过我肯定找个机会再过去,。我爱上Saraii Village!!

Room Tip: The tree house experience is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Hans S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Saraii Village!

We are glad your trip to escape the cities of China and the fast pace of life that must go with them to stay at our oasis of calm and relaxation! We are delighted you got what you were expecting and that we surpassed your expectations.

Love is for a lifetime Hans, and we hope to see you again someday!

Many thanks! Love,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is one of the best hotels i've ever been to. Staff at Saraii are the most hospitable i've come across in Sri Lanka. Since its a small resort, they give you more personalized service. The tree house was a dream. My wife and kids were so thrilled. This is literally atleast 25 feet above the ground and the tree sways with the wind. Its very safe with a railing all around and my kids of age 4 and 5 loved it. They were enacting Tarzan and Jane. The food was the best we had in the South. The spread of local vegetables and fresh seafood and meats were simply delicious. You can request them to reduce the spices, if you prefer, but I'd say go with what they prepare as thats spot on. Game ride was organized by Saraii and they use only good drivers and guides who took very good care of us and explained what we were looking at. Saw the leopard and elephants, lots of deer, crocodiles, a cobra! The hotel arranged for a ride immediately when what we had fell through, and gave us a better rate than what we would have paid before. They were so nice, they packed us delicious Chicken sandwiches for the ride for free. Will come back anytime.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Tree houses are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our eco-hotel. Sorry that it has taken us a while to get back to you!

We are thrilled to receive such comments from one of our guests. Personalised service is an important aspect in our offering of a simple, relaxing stay at Saraii Village, so we are delighted to hear that we achieved this with you during your visit. We are also delighted to hear how much your children enjoyed their stay, we are thrilled when younger guests get in to the swing of things at Saraii as we believe experience and education of nature is important from a young age. Well done for spotting a leopard, they can disguise themselves well sometimes, something the elephants haven’t mastered…yet!

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a lovely review, feedback of any kind is important for us to be able to grow and develop and offer a personalised service to our guests. Also, congratulations on being such a cool parent, we would have loved to have been taken to stay in a tree house at that age!

Many thanks,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is very good place for people who were always dreaming about having their own tree house. For sure sleeping there is an adventure. After a great dinner (of course rice and curry) you can relax in kind of lobby and listen to the music of Boney M. When you go to bed you can hear wild sound of nature. The biggest adventure can be visit in a bathroom - it is possible to meet there some frogs or lizards. I kindly recommend it, but it is only the place for people who are not afraid of nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Jakub,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at our eco-resort, we really do appreciate all the feedback and comments that we receive!

Thank you for recognising that being an eco-resort that you can have company during your trip to the bathroom, this is something that not everybody is fond of, we aim to provide an experience that entwines itself with nature and this is an element of such an experience.
Thank you also for praising our food, we think it is great also, our bellies prove it!

Many thanks Jakub,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I visited Saraii with my kids aged 17, 16 and this was the biggest surprise of our visit in Sri Lanka. We booked the Nest tree house and it was so spacious and looked beautiful. It had a rustic feel but very comfortable. It was fun to sleep on the tree house as it would sway with the wind and we woke to the singing of the birds. That was such a treat.

I am surprised by some of the comments on food pricing. In my opinion it was fair as you are paying 15 USD for a meal with about 4 courses. I cant imagine where else you will get so much food for that amount and not to mentioned a large lake shrimp as well. Eco and slow food doesn’t come cheap, and we know that from experiences in our parts of the world, so its unfair for us to expect everything to be so cheap when we come to a country like Sri Lanka.

Saying that, I do feel the cost for transport in Sri Lanka in general seems a bit high, but that’s not Saraii’s fault. Saraii did get us a great deal to our next destination, which was Unavatune.

The game ride organized by Hassan (manager) was excellent. We saw a leopard upclose and some elephants too. We also booked an excursion to Kataragama to see religious rituals and that was an experience. Remember – wear something that covers your body, take a wrap with you at all times. Thankfully we were warned by the manager that we should take a wrap, if not my 17 year old would not have been able to enter with her shorts!

We had so much fun at Saraii and we truly felt at home as the staff only wanted to please us and make sure we had a great holiday. I can truly say that Saraii was well worth the price and I would love to have a tree house like that in our backyard. I will definitely come back as I fell in love with Saraii and Sri Lanka both during this holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Amber,

Sorry it has taken us so long to thank you for such a fantastic review!

You have a great understanding of our services and what we are trying to achieve. All of our food is sourced sustainably and comes at a price in Sri Lanka, particularly for the lake prawns. We are now offering excursions that help our guests understand the efforts that people go through to provide such food, this includes a trip out on to Weerawila lake where we catch our lake prawns.

We are proud that our staff made you feel truly at home, relaxation in the calm and simple surrounding of Saraii Village is something we want all our guests to achieve! Thanks for pointing out the dress codes expected in Kataragama (and elsewhere in places of religious worship in Sri Lanka), we will make sure to mention this to guests more often and will put something up on our website so nobody is left feeling disappointed.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a great review, all feedback that we receive is very important to us! We hope you had a great time in Sri Lanka and took many happy memories home with you. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Many thanks,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good experience, but 1800 roepees per person for dinner was way too much. I'm ok with paying a little bit more for food but then I also expect a little bit more from the food that I'm getting. Also we found out that if you have dinner at Saraii, then the following breakfast was great, but if you have your dinner somewhere else than breakfast the next morning would be very minimal.. The manager said that his prices were higher because he is in the middle of the jungle (saraii is 10minutes away by tuktuk from Tissa..)
But the safari we booked through Saraii was great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Su198,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Saraii. Reviews on tripadvisor.com inform us what our customers think about our eco-hotel and let us know ways in which we can improve, which is something that we are constantly striving to achieve.

We are sorry that you thought the food price was too expensive for what you received. Although Tissamaharama may be 12km away from Saraii we are picky about who we buy our food from so it is of a high quality. Additionally you may also have noticed that we currently do not have a large vehicle at Saraii, we listen to customers requests and often select ingredients depending on what they want to eat that day, the items are then picked up using a motorbike. We like to offer a personalised service, we apologise if you feel that was poorly communicated to you, but for 1800 rupees per person that is more than what you would receive from other establishments.

In regards to breakfast, we are currently developing a new breakfast menu, there should have been no reason why the breakfast was minimal, we do not like our guests leaving Saraii on an empty stomach. The breakfast menu will help us to achieve this.

Thank you very much for choosing Saraii Village for your stay, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience and particularly the safari. Thank you for your comments regarding our food, we will look at more effective ways to communicate our food choices with customers.

Many thanks,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Saraii is not for everyone. If you prefer air conditioning and chain hotels, you’re probably better off staying somewhere else. That said, if you love nature and want a unique experience of Sri Lanka, don’t miss this place!

We spent one night in a tree house and one night in a mud chalet. The two-story tree house was great fun. We were rocked to sleep by the wind and woken up by the birds. The mud chalets are less of an adventure, but they are spacious and feel more private. The bathrooms have a beautiful open air layout.

The Sri Lankan food at Saraii was the best we’ve had at a Sri Lankan hotel. If you’re able to order in advance, definitely try the freshwater prawns. The owners are involved in the Slow Food movement, and it shows.

The manager Hasan is a gem. He was helpful and accommodating without hovering. You can tell he genuinely cares about the place. We watched him set up oil lamps out in the garden to surprise another guest on her birthday. Very thoughtful. The staff organized outings to Kirinda beach and Sithulpawwa. Highly recommended!

Saraii would be hard for guests with mobility issues, but it’s a great adventure for young active couples and families. We’ll definitely be recommending it to others.

Room Tip: The tree houses are great for the experience, but the mud chalets are more comfortable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraiiVillage, Manager at Saraii Village, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay at our eco-resort.

We are delighted that you encapsulated the essence of Saraii Village in just two nights stay! We aim to provide an alternative to the hustle and bustle of your everyday hotel where guests can truly relax, unwind and enjoy the surrounding nature.

It is an honor to have you tell us that we provided you with the best food you had at a Sri Lankan hotel. Our ethos on food is an essential element of the Saraii Village experience, this is one of the reasons we provide home style cooking so our guests receive a true taste of the wonderful cuisine Sri Lanka has to offer!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Saraii Village!

Many thanks,
The Saraii Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saraii Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraii Village

Address: Randunu Kale Watta | Weerawila, Tissamaharama 82632, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saraii Village is a truely unique location that provides guests an eco - agro tourism experience. Located in an agro-forestry land in Wirawila, Hambantota District, in the Sourthern Province of Sri Lanka, Saraii offers you natural Mud Chalets and Tree Houses. You can make a reservation at Saraii and secure a mud chalet along with an amazing natural tree house and your own bathroom... You can also book individual units as well. Guests can enjoy different types of food and even pick your own fruits and vegetables from the Organically Certified agro land. WI-FI enabled. Restaurant and hang out area for you and your friends. The mud chalets are great for two people and can also be transformed to accommodate 5 people (as we can add single mattress to create extra beds). The tree houses also can be transformed to accommodate either a couple or a group. The larger tree house which we call Nest can accommodate 6 people, and the small tree house Crib can accommodate 4.This is a great place for a romantic getaway too as the mud huts have a large double bed and a private bathroom and the tree house can be prepared to give a special, romantic feel.Saraii Village is close to many interesting sites, such as the Yala Nature Reserve, Bundala Bird Santuray & Nature Reserve, Lunugamwehera Nature Reserve, Wirawila Tank, Kirinda Beach, great for surfing, diving, dolphine & whale watching. Famous religious site, Kataragama is located 30 - 45 mins away, with many more attractions available for you.We can arrange for responsible tours within the nature reserves and visits to places of interest around this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Saraii Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saraii Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.