We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Wind Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Wind Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Wind Hotel
Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“No Frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lake Wiind is a bit non-descript. There's was nothing to really complain about, but nothing excelled. It had a view of the Lake. So what? It was just water, nothing special about it. But it was scenic enough - from the window. If you stepped out onto the terrace, there was a lot going on on the ground that wasn't very eye-pleasing. And the buildings on either side gave the appearance of being in the middle of a bad US neighborhood.

I'm not sure why people think it's a good drop off point for Yala; surely there are closer hotels.

The room was large and moderately clean. (Seems that SL is not the place to find "spotless") Again, the lights were so dim that you couldn't really see too much. Bed was OK and got a comfortable night's sleep, but my peace of mind would've been relaxed with a mosquito net!

It was comfortable enough and quiet enough. So, one could probably do worse. But one could probably do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here on my way to Kataragama, rooms are clean, uncluttered with cable TV and A/C.
Rooms had a great view of the lake, which had over 15 species of birds in and around it.
Breakfast was good yet the dinner was alright, and could use more variety. It does not offer many leisure activities, however this was not necessary since we had so many places to visit in Kataragama and were knackered when we returned.
Staff was polite and very helpful. This hotel is a nice place for a brief stay when you want to go on a safari or to visit the places of worship nearby.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room with a view of the lake, preferably on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Terrible in every possible way!
We were booked into this hotel by our guide, never again will I go upon someone else's recommendation before checking it out beforehand.
Whole hotel is filthy, infested with bugs and all kinds of creepy crawlies! From the reception, to the restaurant to the rooms.
Hotel has a view of the lake and is in prime location to be beaten by the gale force winds in the monsoon seasons. The view simply isn't that amazing to warrant living like an animal.
Rooms (if actually finished) are small, poorly furnished with terrible finish and smelt of damp.
The French windows to the balcony did not close properly, had no lock and let in huge amounts of rain water from the thunderstorm storm that evening and throughout the night. We kept towels on the floor all night to try to soak up the flood.
Bathroom was ok- shower was good and warm (very welcomed to warm us up as the rain had soaked us through with on the jeep safari).
Staff were friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was basic and not particularly nice, we ate a minimal amount in case we contracted food poisoning as we were not completely satisfied that the santitation and cleanliness was to any standard judging by the rest of the hotel.
No safe in the room to lock away valuables. Front door didn't lock properly. Bathroom window didn't close properly so it let in all sorts of creepy crawlies.
No phone in the room, no wifi access in the room (could manage to get wifi sporadically in reception but forget it if there is a storm or rain!).
Walls of the room were very thin, we could hear every word of the people next door, if we could understand Japanese it would have been as loud as sitting next to them.
TV didn't work. Lights would go off and on throughout the night.
Had several flies in the room which we couldn't get rid of, we got back to our room in the evening to find room service had left the French windows open which had allowed even more bugs to find shelter for the night!!! I hid under the covers all night to avoid the constant buzzing around me.
The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to Yala park and we had somewhere to rest our heads for the evening, albeit on a damp, musty bed.
There are other hotels near to Yala which are ten times better.
Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for a night in a deluxe room. Comfortable, nice view. But for breakfast we ordered egg curry(for my two kids) with string hoppers and etc. No body will believe those 2 eggs were in the freezer. And when I was trying to feed my kids still it was like stones. We told them. They have no word to say. I'm writing this because this kind of thing would not be happened to another kid. The owner of the Lake Wind, please be responsible about this insidant.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting Yala and Bundala national parks for which the hotel arranged excellent guides. The standard rooms were dark, doors felt flimsy and walls were very thin. We upgraded to a deluxe room upstairs which was much nicer so would recommend doing this if you stay there, the views from upstairs were beautiful as well.
We were, however, let down when we asked them to sort us a taxi on to Arugam Bay as they waited until the very last minute (despite our asking several times over the previous 2 days for them to sort it for us) and tried to charge a very high rate for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good view of Tissamaharama Lake from the rooms .
Average place if you are planning to go to Yala .

Cost:
Rooms would be worth if you go with a meal plan .
Full board is around LKR 7500 for 3 ppl
or half board LKR 6500 for 3 ppl

Overall service quality was good except for a one annoying person.

Telephone: (+94) 47 223 96 87

Room Tip: Rooms would be worth if you go with a meal plan , Full board or half board
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

There is very little info re this hotel. It seems a strange mix of old & new & there is building of a 2nd storey going on ( has no real impact on us) . Our room is fine with air con, fan, shower with a framed screen, big comfortable bed, flat screen tv (unused), & an outdoor seating area. The pillows are ordinary but our request for 2 extras is met without fuss. Great area directly fronting the lake (tank) with lots of birdlfe going on. We have lunch of a club sandwich & a devilled chicken-both very good. Dinner on the 1st night is tomato & onion salad, chicken soup, chicken & veggies & then ice cream- all excellent & it is obvious there is an effort being made re service standards. Our feedback from lunchtime has been taken onboard & the beers are much colder. We have a post dinner drink under cover outside our room.
Breakfast is very good with an added bonus of a honey and coconut based “crepe” on morning one & a beaut coconut/pineapple concoction on the 2nd. The curry on the 2nd night along with the salad, soup & ice cream has us thinking this has been our best overall food.
Apparently ownership & management have extensive Sri Lankan hotel experience and along with the great direct lakeside that enables you to sit outside and view the sunset it should prove to be a success.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wind Hotel

Address: Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lake Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Wind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.