We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear! Fawlty towers in Sri Lanka” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taprospa Tissa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taprospa Tissa to your Saves list
Taprospa Tissa
15 Tissawewa Road, Tissamaharama 82600 , Sri Lanka (Formerly Water Front Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oh dear! Fawlty towers in Sri Lanka”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 1 night when visiting Yala ( which is great) . This place used to be called the waterfront and got dreadful reviews and I'm sorry to say things have not got much better. We got one of the refurbished rooms ( 1,2 and 3). The setting is lovely overlooking a lake and with a super almost infinity pool although the grounds are a bit grubby and rather unkempt. The room was a bit of a joke. I walked in to the bathroom and the tap came away in my hand. The bedside lamp , clock and safe didn't work, the fridge had no shelves or anything in it and the food was a grim set menu of chicken or fish with chips. The staff tried but the new manager stood around doing very little when a brief walk around would have picked up these problems. This place could be so good with some decent management and a bit of investment in effort and better catering.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 /2/3 are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great view of the Tissa Lake from the hotel. You can just spend hours in the pool staring at the distant horizon over the lake and gazing at an ancient sthupa. Food is buffet style but ok. Rooms need a little more teething but other than that good. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We must have been lucky to have got one of the newest rooms, so the floors as well as furniture and bathroom were freshly renewed and even smelled new. The food was absolutely good for a European, and the drinks were cold. All of the rooms have a wonderful view of the lake, so do not forget to take pictures in the evening - amazing sunset is guaranteed. We took a safari trip which is quite a short way from the hotel, and this was one of the best impressions throughout the whole trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have something to spread on your skin against mosquitoes, they were quite wild and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

A beautiful small hotel, with great views over the Tissa lake - quiet, peaceful, and homely. On the night we stayed, we were the only guests in this 15 room property, which is under new management, and were warmly greeted by the manager. We were rather later than expected at the hotel, explaining to the manager that we had a delayed start to our day because we had some business to attend to in the morning, and didn't have our own computer with us. The manager immediately offered us a laptop that we could use, and furnised us with the Wifi password. It seemed no request was too much for the very willing and helpful staff.

The rooms are lovely, and very well fitted with modern showers. Outside there is a nice verandah with a couple of chairs overlooking the infinity pool and lake - very serene.
We also had dinner there, and although the menu wasn't great in terms of choices, the staff went out of their way to help. We wanted some fried cashew nuts to nibble on, and although they did not have it, someone ran down the road, and procured it for us.

Now that is what's called hospitality. All the food that was brought to the table was also well prepared and very tasty.

There are a few minor operational improvements that could be made. For example, the swimming pool shower tap is a bit temperamental, but again this was attended to by the pool attendant. It made no difference to our enjoyment of the place however.

The view from the pool is fantastic. It was a great choice. I had initially contacted the Jayasinghe Holiday Resort, which is

located off the main road a little further towards Kataragama, whose prices seemed over-inflated compared with Taprospa. Taprospa however, is located near the old Rest House on Courts road with the Tissa Tank (lake) as its backdrop.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I just found their web site when I was searching online on 13th April. As all the other hotels were booked on 14th I had left with no option. When I called them said will call me back in 5 minutes and they did. Impressed, because it was new year day evening in Sri Lanka. but I had doubt until I reach their , because this is the first time I booked a hotel blindly. not enough reviews were available on trip advisory by that they. but now see some good reviews which I agree with. they have 03 new rooms and it is fabulous. beds, AC, Mini bar, LED TV with SAT , table with two chairs, wooden floor, tea and coffee making facilities and spacious bathroom nicely done. small hotel but maintained well. facing lake with good swimming pool. small garden. nice staff and good food. really worth for the price. remember to ask for one of those 03 upgraded rooms.

Room Tip: remember to ask for one of those 03 upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Jeez it's a long drive to get here from Colombo but such a nice restful place when you finally arrive.
We lucked out on one of the few refurbished and upgraded rooms/chalets (room 2).
Fabulous views out over the lake with the infinity pool in front. Rooms are cosy with good a/c and facilities. Bathroom is snug but well appointed shower only affair. Bring your own toiletries as the provided stuff aint great.
Meals are only provided as a buffet set up which was fine by me. Requested Sri lankan cuisine for our second dinner; otherwise it is a western mash up. Seems hotels in Sri Lanka think westerners only like what they are accustomed to.
The staff were absolute stars seeing to our every request with grace and smiles. The hotel group is owned by Mackwood Tea Estates so the fantastic tea we drank on a frequent basis was provided gratis! Nice touch.
Not much to do outside the hotel other than Yala National Park but why else would you be here?
Unquestionably I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Refurbishment continues but try to get an upgraded room- so worth it. Rooms 1 to 3 are the chalet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed for one week in January. Wonderful idyllic setting overlooking the Tissa Wewa lake. Our room and bathroom was spacious and clean with TV mini fridge and AC. The grounds and swimming pool were always kept clean.The staff really made this hotel special nothing was too much trouble. would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taprospa Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taprospa Tissa

Address: 15 Tissawewa Road, Tissamaharama 82600 , Sri Lanka (Formerly Water Front Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taprospa Tissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taprospa Tissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.