We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Gourmet Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brindillas Restaurant

Brindillas Restaurant
Guardia Vieja 2898, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza 5509, Argentina
54 (261) 4963650
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open to Tuesday from Saturday at night.Abrimos de Martes a Sabados por la noche.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious Gourmet Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went there by recomendation of the hotel (Entre Cielos) and it was a great experience! They offer two options of tasting menu and we've chosen the smaler of which was excellent! The food is very good, the place is nice and has a good wine list. The service was very attentiveness. A good choice if you want something beyond parrilla!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent - definitely do go here when in/around Mendoza !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A truly wonderful gastronomic experience !
Lovely service and attention to detail.

As previous reviews already pointed out, the interior of this place is very minimalistic -to put it mildly- and definitely not what you would call cozy, or a warm atmosphere. However, the lovely ladies welcoming and serving you in the Restaurant change this immediately and from the moment you're being seated you feel at the right place.

We already had a very extensive tasting lunch that day, so we decided not to go for the tasting menu (as recommended by so many previous reviews) but to order a la carte.

We received excellent advise and recommendations regarding the food and the wine and throughout our wonderful dinner our glasses where never empty and we felt it was perfect service through and through, while not feeling overly intrusive at all.

How nice to receive several -outstanding- amuse gueules even though we had decided against the tasting menu.
And when asking for the bill, we received yet another lovely plate of beautiful little pastries...

The value for money is amazing: our bill for two people, three courses and a bottle of very good wine came to only 50 $ (!)

In my opinion, this is not only THE place to eat in Mendoza, but one of the best places on the earth I ever had the honor of dining at.

We wish the chef and owners all the very best for their promising future!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Have to say when we arrived and we were the only table occupied and the Decor very plain, I thought i wasn't going to love this place that cavas wine lodge recommended so highly. Despite the lacking decor, this was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was of 3 Michelin star quality and the man and woman who run it extremely sweet and unassuming. We both had the autumn tasting menu which was fabulous and they adapted it for me as I am vegetarian. The best surprise was when we got the bill - 35 usd each including alcohol. Can not imagine a better value for money meal, I only hope they aren't charging too little to stay in business with the excellent quality of food they serve!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Easily 5 star place in any city in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

What an amazing restaurant! Our dinner there was arranged by the hotel (Cavas) and we knew the chef had trained in 2 and 3 Michelin-starred restaurants but weren't expecting a miracle. After all, we have previously eaten in some of the top restaurants in the US (NYC, Chicago, Vegas) as well as Europe and Japan. With their current menu and impeccable food presentation, Mariano Gallego (Chef) and his wife Florencia have created a memorable dining experienc that stands up against some of the top places.
First off, understand that the dining room decor is VERY minimal. This might reflect putting all their resources into the food but no matter...the star of the show is the food and the accessories are the guests. Please do not expect lavish place setting, floral arrangements, or great art on the wall. Additionally, it is out in the middle of the countryside near Lujon. You definitely need a private car to reach it.
We strongly recommend the tasting menu. For 125Ar pesos (or 95Ar pesos for the lighter summer tasting), you get an amazing multi course meal. (These prices work out to be less than $30US and the meal is comparable to a 200$ meal in the states).
My review of the price reflects the real price we paid, not the actual value. For that, it would rate $$$$
We started with homemade spiced potato chips in bamboo paper, progressed to 3 regional tapas, appetizer, the best meat I had in all of Argentina (a perfectly cooked tenderloin I was able to cut with a regular table knife), dessert and 2 wonderful palate-cleansing sorbets.
Service was quiet and impeccable. There is a small but well chosen wine list.
All of us decided this was--hands down--the best meal we had in Argentina in nearly 2 weeks of travel. We had dined in some excellent restaurants in B.A. and this beat them all. If you visit Mendoza, please do not miss the chance to dine at this great hidden gem!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I had no idea what to expect going to Brindillas, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our trip there was on recommendation of the staff at Cavas wine lodge, included in our experience package and we're so glad as our original restaurant choice was over-booked.. This has to be our favourite meal of the entire 2 week trip to Argentina and Chile. The menu was a fusion of Argentine/Spanish/Italian/French nouvelle cuisine. The restaurant was modern, minimalist in decor, but the servers were very hospitable and inviting. If there is one criticism, it is that the restaurant got a little warm, I am not sure if the air conditioning was working that evening. After we ordered we were served bread very promptly, and then we were brought two cones of "chips" marvelous little frittes...then a delectable little amuse bouche and then an assortment of mouthwatering tapas, all before our main order arrived. I loved the presentation of my bufola mozzarella inside a plumb tomato! My pasta and my husband's veal were excellent, as was the three tasting desserts. The chef came out to greet us on conclusion of the meal. He is so young, mid-20's perhaps? and so accomplished! His Michelin experience is very evident. I am sure we will hear from him as one of the great chefs of the world in the future. He is undeniably amazing in the kitchen with his creativity, and only using the freshest of ingredients, our dinner was as much a joy for the eyes as it was for our stomachs. On a scale of 1-10 if we could give it an 11 we would. At the time of our visit the restaurant had been open only 6 months, we wish them continued success.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brindillas Restaurant also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Brindillas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brindillas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.