We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 days in Ireland...nicest B&B hands down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shearwater Country House B&B

Shearwater Country House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shearwater Country House B&B to your Saves list
Shearwater Country House B&B
Keelbeg | Union Hall, Glandore, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Glandore B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“11 days in Ireland...nicest B&B hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in 4 different B&Bs in Ireland and this place was the only 5 star quality. Don't tell them though because they might raise their price from $35 a person! Sterile, spotless clean. Appeared to be recently renovated very tastefully. Lots of little extras like tea and cookies upon arrival and shampoo and soap. Wifi was strong. The balcony view was worthy of a magazine. Breakfast was
typical fare, properly prepared. Walking distance to 3 pubs, fishing pier and shops. I felt guilty paying so little and left a nice tip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This has got to be the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in and we have travelled to many places in the world The accomadation is spotless and beautifully decorated throughout. Our room was overlooking the sea with every attention to detail.
Breakfast was wonderful with an excellent variety of dishes and loads to eat
Adella the owner has decorated Shearwater beautifully and has expensive taste. She is a wonderful person who made our stay so memorable. Adella hs got to be one of the kindest and most hard working people we have met in a long time, tea and biscuits are waitng for you when you arrive, the hospitality makes you as a guest feel very special
DONT bother staying anywhere else, this is a hiden gem we are so glad we have found.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I have beeb visiting union hall for the last 20 years I cant believe we have only now descovered Shearwater what a delight! We loved all the extra touches from the pot of tea on arrival to the lovely friendly dog.The view is 5 star and the house is spotless.
Nice relaxed athmosphere and nice choices on the breakfast menu to suit everyone.

Anne and Fergal

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

super house,great views,warm family,excellent rooms good shower..super breakfast fresh fruit good quality food..new tv in room..wi fi with good speed..even heating on much needed in an Irish Summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I had first stayed at Shearwater 13 years ago and found the whole experience amazing, from the fantastic views to the smoked salmon and scrambled breakfast. 13 years on and now with a family, we recently revisited Shearwater and were not disappointed. The views are still fantastic, and the breakfast offers a nice "Full Irish" as well as pancakes with Maple Syrup and the old favourite Smoked salmon with scrambled egg. All the rooms are very spacious and now come with full en-suites. This is a 4 star B&B and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 4 was where the British Ambassador stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Lovely two night stay, Adela is helpful and friendly with a lovely manner. Very comfie and liked the extra touches like water in the bedroom, strawberries in the fruit bowl and extra strong coffee. I fell for a book and was given it for my ten year old which was lovely and we are enjoying it Adela. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Myself and my friend stayed here when attending the Cork South West Music festival in Skibeereen. The reason we chose Union Hall was because my friend had passed through there before and was keen to go back. Having now stayed I know why - beautiful spot, fantastic views and Shearwater Guest House has the best of all. Our stay was brief one night - but everyone was very nice. Room was spotless with complimentary bottled water which was very welcome after the excesses of the night before. Deadly breakfast but the most impressive part of all was the lift into skibereen which was offered at the drop of a hat. Couldn't ask for more from this excellent guesthouse - well and beyond the call of Duty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shearwater Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Country House B&B

Address: Keelbeg | Union Hall, Glandore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glandore
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glandore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shearwater Bed & Breakfast is situated overlooking Glandore Harbour on the waterfront in the picturesque fishing village of Union Hall on the Southwest coast of Ireland. 1hr drive from Cork Airport and 1hr.15min drive from the Ferry port at Ringaskiddy, Cork. Experience the real Ireland, sit on the patio and watch the fishing boats land their catch in the evening, watch out for the seals following the boats into harbour. Walk 5mins down the road for your evening meal in the local bars. Go out on a fishing trip or whale watching, its a wonderful location offering 4 star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shearwater Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearwater Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.