We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carmel Road, Carmel, Holywell CH8 8QP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carmel B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just finished our third stay at Celyn Villa and we will certainly stay again. The accommodation is charming, the food is superb and the hosts, Paulene and Les are most welcoming. They are warm, humorous and go out of their way to make sure that you have a really good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you again for you lovely review, it was great to see you both again and we always welcome such positive feedback. Look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
51
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay! Paulene and Les are so friendly and accommodating. We have stayed 3 times now and will continue to stay at Celyn villa whenever we visit our elderly relative, who lives in a care home nearby. They are great with my toddler who first visited as a baby and he adores them! Its lovely to be able to put him to bed then relax in the living room downstairs, knowing he is safe - It's like being at home. Breakfast (and dinner on request) is delicious - you must try the blueberry muffins! My little boy also loves his little portions of "scrambly egg!" Each of the bedrooms we have stayed in are so comfortable and have everything we need - We always sleep so well and views from the bedrooms are stunning! This is a very special b&b and we will definitely return many more times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Its always a pleasure having such lovely guests return to stay with us, its part of the reason we love running a B&B. Guests become friends and friends are always welcome. Hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently & would like to compliment Paulene & Les (the owners) on their attention to detail and their friendly approach to their guests. The room was clean, bright & comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had, the homemade bread was to die for & the eggs were so tasty! Paulene & Les are perfect hosts and very informative, my 7 year old & myself particularly enjoyed the fasinating conversation with Paulene about the history of their lovely house. We shall return, if only so my son can do some more ghost hunting !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Wow, this is our 100th review and we are so grateful for the kind words. It is such a bonus for us to know that you enjoyed staying with us in our home, and our pleasure to welcome you. I will get some more ghost stories ready for next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Four of us stayed for two nights. Pauline and Les who run it are very nice couple. The rooms were very nice and very clean. The food was fantastic and the location is good for walks. We stayed as friends live close by and had been to wedding near Rhyl. If you want to stay in the area there can be no better. £60 a night bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are always so grateful to receive reviews from our guests and get such wonderful feed back. Thank you for your very kind words. Just one thing is that we have had a small price increase, now from £63 if you stay for two or more nights. As you booked so early in the year we in fact honoured our previous rate for your booking. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a delightful stay here recently - grounds have nice view overlooking bay - rooms very comfortable - breakfasts were locally sourced and tailored to our wishes. What takes this accommodation over the top are the congenial hosts who are a font of information and also accomplished chefs in their own right - we had several home cooked dinners that provided a convenient and very tasty evening option. Finally, their abilities / talents as hosts make for a convivial atmosphere - and lots of interesting conversation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our second visit which was even better than the first. Both Paulene and Les are very friendly, helpful and informative. This time we had an evening meal which was delicious and shared at the big table with other guests, making it a friendly evening. The en suite room had a large bed which was comfortable and well equipped with all you need.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two of the three rooms and both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely to visit again. This time we enjoyed Paulene's evening meals - delicious! So good to go out for the day, follow Paulene's recommendations to local attractions, return to a lovely dinner, then relax in the lounge. Les set up the DVD for us to complete the perfect day! If you are in North Wales, you must visit Celyn Villa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast

Address: Carmel Road, Carmel, Holywell CH8 8QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celyn Villa is a large Welsh cottage built around 1855 located in the quiet village of Carmel, Holywell with sea and country views from all the comfortable bedrooms. A warm welcome, a first class breakfast, home cooked evening meals are offered in our 4 star bed and breakfast. Only 5 minutes from A55 and well placed for all North Wales sites as well as Chester and Liverpool and the Welsh Coastal Path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.