We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon
14 Union Square, West Calder EH55 8EY, Scotland
44 01506 872 300
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon offers a wide selection of the latest treatments.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Got Shellac on finger nails which bubbled straight away then cracked after about 5 days. Was a mess. First time I'd got it so didn't know any better.

That was until I went back to get it removed after 3 weeks when I got back from holiday. Explained what happened and girl admitted that shouldn't have happened then she confirmed it hadn't been applied correctly in the first place.
She then charged me £10 for removing it!

Needless to say won't be there again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam H, Owner at The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi

I am sorry you feel you had a poor experience with us, however we have no record of any formal complaint being made.

It is very important that our Clients receive excellent customer service each and every time they visit The Retreat. We take any negative feedback incredibly seriously and would always ensure this is dealt in an appropriate manner. As we have not received a formal complaint in relation to this we have been unable to follow our usual company procedures.

I would be grateful if you would provide me with your name and telephone number to info@retreatscotand.com so that we may investigate your complaint.

Kind regards,


Sam Hastings
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I had only been here a handful of times, but since its come onto Facebook publicising ALL the fantastic offers it has and the brilliant idea of the VIP scheme I have been using the salon much more often, having treatment I would never thought of trying ! but now I cant get enough and every day I check into facebook to see what the up and coming offers are. IM ADDICTED.. ; )

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Spa Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Im regular visitor to this spa for the past few years. Such a lovely and welcoming atmosphere. Ladies here are simply the best beauticians ever. Let it be a facial, manicure or a massage they always nail it. Shellac designs they do are quiet nice and draws in a lot of complements. If you are not driving its only an half an hour journey by train.

Even after moving to Edinburgh city centre, I still keep going back there as its well worth the trip. They are also open late on few weekdays which is quiet good. Their FB page is well managed, I dont think I ever rang them :)

Offers are always a bonus and they always have a few you could choose from.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem in West Calder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Came across this salon on facebook and as its not far from where I live decided to try out their treatments. I have since become a fan and visit regularly. Girls make you feel very welcome, always a smile and very accomodating. Recently have ESPA available and the girls are now ESPA trained which really pleased me as I am big fan of ESPA. My shellac nails are the best I have ever had. Massage was out of this world. They have a VIP list which regularly offers discounts and more recently added a Late List via email, which allows you to book for the next day at a discounted price when spaces available. Worth trying you wont be disappointed!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon also viewed

West Calder, West Lothian
West Calder, West Lothian
 
West Calder, West Lothian

Been to The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat Health and Beauty Salon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.